We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mystic River Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windy Hill Resort(San Ignacio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarissa Falls Resort(San Jose Succotz)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
685
49
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
49
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben cruzpalapa baratm cavemayan ruinshorseback ridingevery morningyoga deckgoat cheesezip liningdaily specialson siteour honeymoonpacked lunchowners and staffthe open air restaurantsan pedrowonderful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

we stayed 3 nights and wished we had booked more. tom and nadege and their entire staff were fantastic. everything was fantastic. the tours they set up for us were great.. everything about the place seemed to run like the finest clockwork.

Room Tip: all rooms are great and overlook the beautiful jungle and river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hello Larry and Connie,
"Wish we had stayed longer" should become our motto! We get so many guests commenting that their stay with us just was not long enough.....I am so glad to read that you feel the same way and look forward to have you come stay with us again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Take care and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Mystic River during New Years week. What a wonderful resort. The photos on their website don't do it justice. Everything is top notch, from the Cabana suite decor to the restaurant, the location on the river, it's all magical.

Once you take a closer look, you will notice that this place is the perfect example of a self-sufficient eco-resort. They do everything from growing their own veggies to the chickens, goats, cows and the Papaya orchard. They even make their own cheese! They generate their own electricity and if you are interested enough you will learn the extreme efforts they have gone to deliver the internet to their guests in this remote spot.

Is there a rough road you need to travel to get to the resort. Yes! But if you travel around Belize a bit, you'll know that rough roads are the norm, not the exception. You're there for an adventure, relax and enjoy!

There are many excursions available; all the usual ones but some exclusive treks (Blancanaeux Cave) that aren't crowded by tour groups, which are really remarkable.

Is it cheap? No. But if you look around....there are only 8 suites, and see what the owners and staff (all very friendly and really knowledgeable) have put into this resort you will appreciate that they have created a really unique experience for you to visit and enjoy.

It's really amazing what they have created out of this beautiful spot on the river.

We really enjoyed our stay......I want to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeblaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello Mike,
We are so happy to read that you had such a great time with us at Mystic River Resort. It is such a heart warming feeling to have guests really appreciate what we try to do here and understand that sometimes, it is not so easy! Thank you for those kind words Mike, and we sure hope to see you again in the future. Take care and have a great day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Mystic River Resort exceeded our expectations on all fronts! It is sometimes challenging traveling to such places with small kids, but Nadege and her staff welcomed the children and engaged them on all fronts. We loved everything about the resort - the beautiful setting, the incredibly comfortable and welcoming cabins, the friendly staff and the amazing food. The personalized services were incredible and probably my favorite part of the stay. While at dinner the security staff would go to our room and build a fire that was such a lovely way to return to a warm cabin and enjoy a nice evening. In the morning we awoke to hot coffee and fresh juice right at our door. That kind of detail sets Mystic River apart. We also loved the farm with the chickens, horses and goats. My kids favorite part of the stay was helping to milk the goats one morning and seeing the newly born baby goat. Nadege and her staff make you feel right at home and provide the opportunity for pure relaxation. This was definitely in my top 5 places to stay anywhere in the world. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblanchford73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello Elizabeth,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It truly was a pleasure to have you and your family here with us and your children were quite a treat! We love what we do here and being able to share it with other people is what we want to do. We are all so glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. Thank you again. Take care and have a great day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just got home from three nights at Mystic River. We thoroughly enjoyed being there and wish we had planned to stay longer. On the way home, we were looking at our calendar to find dates to return for a longer stay. Nadege, Tom and all the staff we encountered could not have been warmer, friendly or more professional. The entire atmosphere of the resort is welcoming and presents a wonderful combination of opportunities for activities or relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello Bruce,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We can't wait to have you come again for sure and we will make sure to have a room for you! Take care and have a wonderful day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a fantastic place to stay in the jungle. Stunning location, beautiful rooms, excellent activities and kind, caring people. We stayed here for 3 nights and we were just so well looked after by the owners and all of the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We were spoilt for choice with activities and did a trip to the ATM cave - a fantastic adventure and Ben was an excellent guide getting us there nice and early to miss the crowds. I would absolutely recommend this wonderful place and would love to go back.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank 666Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello Rachel,
If there is a sentence that our guests say most often this is it! "Wish we could have stayed longer". I am actually planning on having a T-Shirt done that will say just that! In any event, I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us Rachel. Take care and have a wonderful day.
Nadege

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews