We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
14
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
14
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote location hot springs amazing location local community thousands shala lakes accommodation huts lodge jan silence nature ethiopia scenery viewpoint spirit
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

After travelling around northern Ethiopia we booked this place to chill out for a couple of days. I nearly didn't book it because I read some negative reviews online. Don't let that put you off. We had the most incredible time here. Yes it's rustic, it's not a 5* hotel so if that's what you're after then maybe it's not for you. We had the whole place to ourselves and the staff were so kind and accommodating. The food was AMAZING. The freshly baked breads each morning were some of the best of I've had! The booze was cheap, the setting is out of this world. The view, OMG that view. The huts are so beautifully decorated and it's just such a unique place.

The staff will walk down to the lake with you if you like, which was really helpful if you want to get close to photograph the flamingos. The first time we went by ourselves and the flamingos flew away the minute we got near them!

Top tip - instead of a private car we chose to get public transport from Shashemene. One of the staff met us and took us via local bus and motorbike to get to the lodge. It was one of the funniest and most memorable days of the trip! The lodge is super remote but that's what makes it all the more special.

We got engaged there so maybe I'm biased but I just love this place, don't miss it!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Nicely tucked away behind twin lake of SHALA & ABIJATA - Lake Chitu- were 10000 FLAMINGO resort nestled in on the hilltop near the carter Lake Chitu. Its beautiful place to stay and watch Flamingo colony. It a remote place having no access to plyable road & that is the real beauty of the place. Once you reach to resort, it takes you to new world of secluded nature & calmness from the hustle & bustle of city life.
The service at the resort is good, looking to the remoteness of the place & in general lack of service culture any were in Ethiopia. Food is also average. Rooms are prepared in a fashion, that one can have good overview of the Lake. However lake facing front of room has only glass wall in order to have seamless view of the lake, but finishing of glass wall is not perfect, so late in night one feels the winds blows in room & even produce howling sounds which gives unique identity to the room. One will have musical night sleep. Main USP of the resort is that it has employed locals as there staff to serve the guest & give inside knowledge of the surrounding nature & society.
Tips:-
1. Resort has no potable water supply or electricity, in fact no running water or electricity supply even to surrounding villages either. However resort management has made efforts to bring water supply by Water tankers. Electricity is generated by solar panel. So water is bit scare at the resort, so is the electricity.
2. One need a nice binocular & good camera having nice zoom lense in order to click pic of Flamingo.
3. Due to lack of road, one has to visit the resort only by offroaders vehicles.
4. Night time driving is bit dangerous.
5. Hot water spring at the nearby lake SHALA, is a humbug, yes they have small watering holes from were hot water oozes out, but we cannot term as hot water spring to water holes.
6. To visit so called hot watering holes one need to visit shores of Lake Shala & it fall under the ABIJATA & SHALA NATIONAL PARK. It has entry tickets, but no were in vicinity of resort or Lake Shala one will find park office. But some one will approach you and claim that they are official scout appointed by parks authority & will ask you produce to him the ticket or go 60 km, fetch the ticket and come back again. This ridiculous situation.

Room Tip: All the 8 rooms has lake view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SERENESIGHTSEER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the 10000 Flamingo lodge. It is a very nice lodge on a beautiful and breathtaking spot. Food was good as well as the service provided by the guide. We also went for a walk to the lake to visit and swim in the hot springs in between the flamingos. Very nice and special, even for our daughter of 3 years old who enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildeenmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Just stayed a night here and I had the experience of a lifetime. First, the lodge is nested in stunning natural beauty – especially rare in this densely populated region to see almost only wilderness. And what a view! perhaps hundreds of kilometers in 360degrees, with tons of flamingos and other miracles. Waking up in this silence where you only hear and see flamingos from your bed… (the rooms are so nicely designed that you have all of this at your foot from your bed…). Second, Mohamed, the caretaker is a very special man. He took us to see his family’s farm and homes, and this was a very unique experience you cannot get at any price as a tourist (you can pay but it will never be the same). A different universe from where we live, but still immensely beautiful and charming. he also guided us around to the flamingos and hot springs, so we learned a lot.
The lodge is the ultimate nature and Ethiopian experience. It takes a bit of effort to get to – but it pays back hundred times – this is how you get to this really quiet place so much in the middle of the Ethiopian wilderness. The rooms (little huts) are so beautifully appointed, so is the restaurant, fits perfectly into the scenery, and with lots of glass walls, you feel you are outside. I enjoyed the food a lot, too, I found it very tasty. The pictures really do not do justice to what a jewel this place is.
You need to be aware that this is is the wilderness so there is no cabled electricity or piped water. But all of these are solved as much as possible, and you can still have your cold beer, hot pasta and warm shower. But still, you will feel that these are all at a great effort so you will conserve them. Bringing a flashlight is useful (e.g. for getting around on the premises in the evening).

No mosquitos or anything, so very safe. Very nice service - Mohamed is very supportive and helpful; just s special person!! The rooms are very clean.

Although takes a bit of a drive, this lodge is the perfect weekend escape from the hustle and bustle of Addis. Sitting in that lookout with a mouthwatering meal and enjoying the views and the sounds of flamingos... how much better could it get?

I would only recommend one thing: the price should be lower. Not because it is not worth it - it is worth every penny; but for this price few people will make the effort to get there (because they do not know what they miss) and accept the lack of internet. If it were a third lower I think it would always be full and the price would be more fair for the location. I would rather prefer to give more to the locals who run the place (this is the nice thing that you are really helping the villagers and not a big chain with your dollars; 100 birr from each room goes to the local community).

Room Tip: all rooms are a dream
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsebibabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We spent one night at 10 000 flamingos, the views are amazing and I would highly recommend the walk into the crater with Muhamond, he was an excellent guide. We didn't have hot water and felt for the price the linen should have been nicer. If the price was lower we may have spent another night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathycalder67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews