We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,084)
Filter reviews
1,084 results
Traveller rating
959
107
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
107
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests macal river night hike on site bird watching family style vaca falls horseback riding rope swing guided hike communal dining deluxe cabin remote location canoe trip across the river atm cave dirt road
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,084 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Have you loved a place so much that you don't even know where to begin? That is Black Rock Lodge (BRL). From start to finish BRL was an amazing experience. You are literally in the middle of the jungle along a river and get to enjoy the sights and sounds at every moment. Our room, a deluxe King, was extremely spacious including a large walk-in shower. There are so many great excursions to go on (rainforest hike with pool and Tikal trip are highly recommended!) We had the same guide (Carlos) the entire time, which made the trip even more cohesive. Petra is a true gem; she is so dedicated to how eco-friendly the lodge is (all wind and solar energy? yes please) and the stories of the rainforest and Mayan culture. Most of the action of the lodge is in the main area, where the group dinners were lively and full of laughter and libation.

Things you should know, most of which should be expected when in the jungle: bugs are not a major issue in rooms but may be somewhat unavoidable at times (c'mon, you're in the jungle). wifi only available in the central area and signal strength is weak, though you can still get on social media and make photo posts. most importantly: immerse yourself!! BRL is what you make of it.

FYI we went during late June and it barely rained at all despite being the rainy season.

Overall, I absolutely loved BRL from start to finish. Fun, respectful, clean, immersive, cultural, beautiful. It has it all! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thatsnowmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Just back from an amazing holiday to Belize which began with a 4 night stay at the fantastic Black Rock Lodge. This is an amazing resort hidden in the rainforest and our riverside suite was beautiful, the food was delicious and we enjoyed meeting other people at the mixed table arrangements. We booked the zip lining, cave tubing, river kayaking and crystal cave trips all of which were fantastic. All of the staff were brilliant but special mention to Diego our amazing guide for all of the trips. Our party was 2 adults and 2 kids (13 and 17) and we had initially booked a 3 night stay but extended it by a night during our stay as we were enjoying it so much. During our stay we also enjoyed swimming in the river (entering via the rope swing!), hiking to the summit of a nearby hill (the view is worth it), river tubing and early morning birding. Chilled out by sitting at their beautiful bar which has a spectacular rainforest view and watching the toucans. One, not unexpected, warning...take mossie repellant.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulbyrn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

A beautiful mountain hide away.

Great activities in the lodge, tubing on the river with a fast rapid at the end.

Great river swimming, paddle board and rope swing too.

We did ATM from here - bit of a trek but well worth it

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

If you've made it this far, stop what you're doing and go book your room. You've heard enough, just go experience it. I won't even bother trying to put into coherent words how magnificent this place is so I'll just ramble the first ten adjectives that come to mind: quiet, serene, adventurous, beautiful, isolated, five-star, fun-filled, family oriented, social. This place is RIGHT in the middle of the bush, so if you're a nature person this is a MUST STAY for you. If not, come prepared with everything you could possibly think would make you comfortable in the middle of the jungle. Pick any cabin your heart desires, they're all great. I paid for one of our four nights in a "Deluxe" fancy cabin for my partner's birthday, but our original classic was so great we didn't even bother moving. Lastly, the staff here are some of the best folk I've ever had the pleasure of lodging with. They make sure you have a great experience from start to finish. True hospitality with not a single hiccup. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBeforeYoureOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Blackrock for four nights in May... it was the highlight of our two weeks in Belize

The accommodation is so comfortable, and although we were anxious about the heat, the rooms were very pleasant to sleep in

The staff and guides are amazing and go out of their way to simplify and travel plans or tour organising during your stay. Giovanni is so good at organising your trips and our guide Isaias was so knowledgeable on our tours to the sites

The food is absolutely delicious and we loved the nighttime meal with other guests

Overall this was one of the most exciting and unique places we've stayed in!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank matthewsills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews