We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
122
19
8
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
19
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmopan riverbullet treehand carvedsan ignaciotiki torcheswelcome cocktailthe general managerdaily toursget away from it allgreat carespecial placetour companiescave tourmayan ruinsair conditioningdirt roadcolonial suite
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had the most delightful and unexpected stay at Mahogany Hall! I had actually booked another room nearby in Bullet tree that did not work out, and as we drove off into darkening night, to drive into San Ignatio(3 miles) for dinner, I remembered Mahogany Hall kept popping up on Trip Advisor and Booking.com. So we stopped in after dark and was met by the fabulous Marsha, who showed us the most beautifully well appointed suite! My children could hardly believe it when Marsha and I worked out the details of our stay. The boutique Hotel an absolute vision. Built in a southern mansion style with a tropical resort twist. As and interior designer, I was not disappointed. An the rich hand carved mahogany furniture, doors, rails etc was dramatic with the deep rich jewel tones of each room and space.
BUT THE BEST PART - the people who run MH! Even though we were the only family staying at the resort, the service was A+. Marsha and Jose are professional and friendly and we really enjoyed getting to know them personally. The low bank river behind the hotel is perfect for a refreshing swim and my children enjoyed hours of tubing with the local kids \(and Marsha's own children) on a hot Saturday afternoon while I sat on the beautiful lawn with a drink and new friends. There is a full service bar which Jose attends to all afternoon and evening. And in the evening and morning you can hear the jungle come to life as you fall asleep in a bed that rivals any Westin.

Room Tip: The suites offer 2 balconies and a spa, but one must climb 3 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Mahogany Hall is situated right on top of a river bank, giving it a beautiful, scenic location. Upon arriving, Jose greeted us with drinks and the key to our room. The room itself wasn't very big but was quite comfortable and had a delightful, bed-and-breakfast feel to it.

The location of Mahogany Hall made it a great base-camp for tours such as Xunantunich, ATM caves and Cahal Pech. Additionally, you can rent inner tubes for free from the front desk and float down the river (which we did multiple times). Floating the river allowed us to see gorgeous birds (kingfishers, swallows, and more) as well as see local children playing in the water.

Jose, the hotel attendant, will ask you if you want to participate in the daily dinner that is prepared there at the hotel. DO IT. We had lobster, conch ceviche, and more and it was all excellent. They even set up our table overlooking the river with rose petals on the table cloth. I'm not much of a romantic but it was a pretty great setup. For the duration of our stay, Jose was very attentive and provided great service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Mahagony Hall is magical. Our room was pretty, comfortable, and charming. The staff -- Marsha, Jose and chef Joseph made us feel like VIPs. We were in the area to explore Mayan ruins (ATM tour & Tikal), which meant early breakfasts - which were served with a smile. Dinners were terrific, and every night our dining table on the deck was decorated with flower petals arranged to spell out sweet nothings. So sweet. The rush of the river lulled us to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonMot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

There is not a lot in San Ignacio, but it's a good stepping off point to Mayan temples and caves. This jungle resort is quiet - only 8 rooms/suites. Food is good, people are accommodating. Great place to sit and watch the river in the jungle and do a whole lot of nothing. They booked our trip to Tikal for us and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms and 5 suites. It's the jungle, not a lot going on beside rain and the rushing river water. No traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214gregn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The service was great, the property is beautiful, On the river bank.
The General manager was very attentive to all needs and information.
I could go back anytime, and looking forward to it.
Really beautiful old decor with grand attention to details.

Room Tip: You want to be on river side upper floor with balcony. Its great and very romantic...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahogany H, Front Office Manager at Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

We acknowledge your review of the great service you received and look forward to your return. The management and staff strive for excellence and your review is encouragement to keep on the service. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews