We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lalibela Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$992
US$905
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$815
US$755
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
462
77
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
77
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame reservemark's campmarks camplentaba lodgewonderful experiencesafari experienceother guestssouth africawild animalsthree nightsgreat foodhis knowledgecape townspent nightselectric blanketsgarden routegreat fun
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed two nights at Marks Camp, and loved every second of it. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and the shower was much better than i imagined, although dark and with some insects around.

The staff and the food were amazing (make sure to try hot cocoa with Amarula after a night drive), and the game drives were very exciting and informative, thanks to the incredibly knowledgeable rangers. I'm so impressed just thinking about how much they know about all the different species, and how they have such a heart for the animals.

I couldn't get enough of the game drives, and after my time there have picked up a love for birds, wild animals, and animal conservation that i never had before. This was largely due to the unfortunate incident of the rhino poaching that happened at Lalibela only a week or so after my visit.

My love for Africa has been awakened after experiencing Lalibela, and my life will never be the same.

Visited in Sep 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mark's Camp during which 2 of our party had birthdays. Brian & Julie put on a magnificent celebratory evening for us, with Xhosa dancers as we sat around the 'boma' fire followed by a wonderful feast and birthday cakes for the two birthday individuals. This was our 2nd stay at Mark's Camp and the hospitality is incredible, the accommodation very comfortable and the game drives fascinating with knowledgeable game rangers who found a huge variety of animals, insects and plants which they told us about in great detail.
If you haven't stayed at Lalibela you have a great experience in store for you when you do go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in Tree Top's Safari Lodge for three nights. Rooms were clean, spacious and equipped with all necessary amenities. It was still chilly outside in the morning and at night time but the rooms were well heated and warm electronic blanket induced a good quality of sleep. Foods were delicious and nice wines/alcohols were served during the meal and at the bar corner. Safari driving were really fun and we were able to see many kinds of animals. But what impressed us most was staff's hospitality. Every staff were very friendly and offered us "high standard service", which made our stay in the Lalibela unforgettable. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobuo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I flew in for a long weekend break away and it was everything I had hoped for. We stayed at Marks Camp for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful starting right from the main reception desk. The accommodation was great, the food excellent and the game rangers kept the drives entertaining.
I would highly recommend a stay at Lalibela and will most certainly be returning here.

Philip & Jeanette Pitout

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a great time in South Africa and Lalibela was a highlight. From start to finish we were well looked after by an excellent team, entertained, wined and dined. The game drives were exciting and Craig was knowledgeable and engaging. The setting and room were perfect, we have no hesitation in recommending Lalibela and intend to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quinnsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews