We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lalibela Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
466
78
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
78
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame reservemark's campmarks camplentaba lodgewonderful experiencesafari experienceother guestssouth africawild animalsgreat foodthree nightshis knowledgecape towngarden routespent nightsattention to detailelectric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have travelled to many game reserves and I know a lot of the good and bad of them. I had limited time on a family vacation and wanted to get some exposure for my adult "children" to a safari park. To go out to a real game reserve was out of our time budget. At Lalibela we were able to see lion, cheetah, rhino, hippo but not buffalo or leopard in the space of three days. To see more animals in that amount of time we might have visited a zoo.
For an African this is not like a real game reserve but I knew that.
Our guide did well and the trucks coordinated so there were no multiple vehicles at the same time.
We had some tremendous views of lions and cheetahs including the cheetah family at a kill - awesome.
The accommodations at Marks camp were excellent and the food was great including the local fare.
For the location, convenience viewing and cost I regard it as excellent.
The longer term issue for Lalibela is that a significant part of the property is covered with wattle trees which are not native and an invasive species. To really become a great safari park the owners need to invest in removing the wattle and increasing the game herds. Was disappointed not to see the buffalo but with all the wattle it is easy for them to hide.
To continue to improve this safari park will need continuing investment and hard work. If it is done it could become really "top notch"
With friends who own a safari park I understand the business and this is not an easy business to be in especially with the very aggressive rhino poachers.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MLHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! What an absolute gem! The staff were amazing, the food delicious and last but definitely not least the wildlife left us speechless! A perfect week-end escape!Special mention to the awesome staff who made our stay so awesome Jason, Anri, Mnedi (spelling) + Corlia you guys rock!
We will be singing your praises for many moons to come!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cherbet6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic visit. Treetops camp was idyllic. Could not fault the staff. Courtney the Ranger knew his stuff, not only on game but all aspects of the area. Well worth a visit. Not as big as most well known reserves, th I s gives more chance of sightings of all types.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay in Lalibela was lovely and full of surprises! The staff at the camp and for the game drive (thanks Jason!) was perfect and very friendly. The rangers know the reserve and the animals very well. We had the chance to see a lot in a very short time. The food at the camp was always freshly cooked. A great experience that we will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thib_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lalibela Game Reserve is not a place - it is an experience. I had never been to a Game Reserve - nor seen any of the wild animals in the wild and honestly I was also a bit hesitant to the idea - but this stay was completely mind blowing.
Right from the arrival to the farewell hugs I was amazed at the friendliness and the service level at the Tree Top Lodge. There are only 5 room/tents and a big 'house'. The tent/room is very nice and spacious, and it was great to have a heater in the bed as the nights were rather chilly and the tent does get cold. The bathroom section worked incredibly well also. The little porch is charming and in the room you can boil water for coffee or tea. The food is plenty and wholesome. The staff does their outmost to assist, serve and do what they can to add to the cozy camp feeling. Coming to the lodge you will be greeted with refreshments and a wet towel - also after the evening drive when it is very dark. The bush tv will then be on - and drinks are readily available - no need to ask, your glass will just be filled up. Meals are served in the dining room and everybody sits around the table. A great opportunity to get to know the other guests and of course our guide and talk about today's adventures. And they are many.
Our driver Juan was incredibly enthusiastic - clearly he loves his job as a guide in the great book of nature. He knows a lot and constantly amazed us for seeing animals among the trees, suddenly braking the big jeep - hang on as well as you can - reversing and pointing it out to us. And we could hardly see it! We heard so much about all the animals, the plants and the stars in the sky. He did all he could to find the animals for us and in such high spirit - and also speed when we had to rush to a place to see two lionesses hunting the impalas or the brown hyaena at night. He is just incredible!
Other features at the lodge are: thee are only 5 rooms/tents so not that many people - and also a good chance to get to talk to the other guests - there is a small area with a pool and sunbeds! there's as small water hole and even if we didn't see them it was visited by the elephants. A group of kudu antelopes stay among the tents - so quiet and so graceful. Do remember to tip the staff and the guide - they really deserve that you show your gratitude. They are all so dedicated to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: You have to climb quite a few stairs to each room/tent so maybe the tree top lodge is not that great if you find it hard to walk.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews