We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
HillBillion Estate(Shelly Beach)
US$126
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Margate Sands(Margate)
US$240
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$135
Cancelon
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oribi Gorge Hotel(Port Shepstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
475
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailbreathtaking viewsout of this worldmy husband and ioutdoor showersouth coastexcellent servicewedding anniversaryprivate game lodgehis teamtreated like royaltyhidden gemzip liningblown awaycoming backpersonal touchmade us feel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We try to sneak away to the Gorge as much as possible; it's our favorite getaway near Durban. The views are extraordinary and the boutique-sized lodge ensures that you get one on one attention, whether that be breakfast or dinner in your room or a spa appointment that suits your schedule. The staff is clearly well looked after because you always see the same smiling faces upon return. Normally, we just lounge and enjoy the room but for this last trip, we hiked an hour down the gorge and swam in the river. It was just phenomenal! The lodge also organized a sun-downer drive to a cliffside where we were able to see the birds of prey circling and feeding which was extraordinary even for a non-birder.

Room Tip: Each room has to die for rooms. The views are all so similar. We've stayed in every room and have loved them all
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scantrell619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Owner at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate you writing a review for The Gorge, thank you also for the kind words and compliments.

Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Incredible service and warmth from staff who genuinely love their establishment. Food served with a flair - gorgeous surrounds, delicious menu serving tasty food. The vegetarian chic pea dinner goes down as one of my favorite meal experiences. Very romantic setting with exceptional views, beautifully appointed rooms and a spa with a view that is exceptional! A very special place x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Owner at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review, was a priviledge to have you stay with us!

Warm Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and i had an excellent getaway weekend at the Gorge.the hospitality shown by the staff from the time of arrival,during stay and the time of departure was out of this world.
The food was prepared to perfection.Rooms are are like heaven on earth.
My wife and i are looking forward to Gorge once the another part, being currently constructed,is finished.

In conclusion..we had a timeless expirience.

Mr&Mrs Simelane.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Owner at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the review - much appreciated.

Warm Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Gorge and from the time we got to the entrance gate (where the lady greeted us by name), to the time we left (with a surprise car wash and mats next to each door so we would not mess the inside of our car)....it was just an incredibly amazing experience. The hospitality was second to none, the food was divine, the spa was ideally located with the some of the nicest therapists we have ever encountered, and the staff - they were so eager to help and nothing was too much to ask for (thank you Siyete, Ramy, Philip).

The room, I don't have words to describe it - its even more exquisite then the photos on the website, it was probably the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in. The outside shower was very special. Having dinner served on our balcony, the first night, was so indulgent. On Saturday evening, it got a bit cold, so we were brought snuggly hot water bottles to keep us toasty. How lovely!

The location - perfect, the room - perfect, the food - perfect, the ambience - perfect, the service - perfect. We were very sad to leave and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikkiSewpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Owner at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to the next one!

Warm regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Impeccable service, stunning views and absolutely scrumptious food. We are treated with the utmost hospitality and were welcomed back as if family. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and incredibly comfortable. This is the perfect getaway for a couple who are wanting to relax and make use of the amazing spa, or for a group of ten people who want to book out the facility. This asset definitely offers an amazing experience and we would recommend it to anyone. With zip lining, hiking, king swing and many outdoor sports in the area, it serves as the perfect base for an amazing adventure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetPiment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C, Owner at The Gorge Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the review, nice to see you again and glad to hear you enjoyed it again!

Thank you for the return visit!!

Warm Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews