We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columba House Hotel(Kingussie)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Star Hotel(Kingussie)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
341
88
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
88
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteloutstanding foodscallopsfantastic hotelreal firecomfortable rooma wonderful stayshort breakthree nightsloch alviefiresstevenaviemoreloungedogscotlandkincraig
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to see the Cairngorms, Loch Ness, and more of the National Park. The location is great- close to Aviemore but on a quiet road just outside of town. We ate breakfast and some dinners at their restaurant which we really enjoyed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room, #12, as well as the sitting rooms on the ground floor were very comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in the Aviemore area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

On the 3rd July 2013 my husband celebrated his 80th Birthday, the Rowan Tree County Hotel made this event extra special.
For 2 nights we stayed at the Rowan Tree County Hotel, what a lovely place. The staff couldn't do enough for you, without imposing. And the food was to die for, including the breakfast, which had the choice of a 5 star hotel at no extra cost.
Clean and well maintained rooms added to the atmosphere. Wish we could stay there every year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejackson333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for one night and had dinner in the restaurant.

The location, between Kincraig and Aviemore is on a very quiet road and there is nothing within walking distance, so it's lovely and quiet and has beautiful views. We were in room 9 on the second floor which is a loft conversion with sloping walls. Despite this, there's plenty of space, a big, comfortable "sleigh type" bed and a compact but nicely done toilet and shower room. There's a big flat screen TV with a good picture (not a given in this part of the world) and tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits provided. Very clean and comfortable.

On a Friday night, the restaurant was buzzing with many non residents dining. The staff were rushing, but just about keeping up and we were in no hurry. The food was amongst the best we've had in this area (including at least one place representing itself as a restaurant with rooms). We had a lovely tender confit of duck and a delicious, light cheese soufflé, followed for both of us by the trio of pork (roast, homemade sausage and fillet) which was very nicely presented and very tasty. Finished off with a berry meringue roulade and a whisky panna cotta with ice cream. Yum yum.

Breakfast was excellent too with quality choices (fresh fruit, cereal, nuts, juices) on the buffet and a full range of traditional breakfast fare cooked to order.

Maybe not for those on tight budgets at £173 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two, but a real bargain for those who want high standards and appreciate good food.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. I didn't hear a single car on the road outside our window and I think one train went past mid evening. Pick by bed type required.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island_timers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and have already booked in advance for our next visit. The hospitality, service and food are second to none. We have stayed in various bedrooms and they are all spacious, extremely clean and very comfy beds. The atmosphere in the lounge bar is lovely and friendly. The decor is costy and welcoming. A wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. I would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The age of this Hotel is apparent from the old tartan carpet to the creaky floorboards but there is no denying that this old lady has charm and ambience by the bucket load. A grand staircase leads up to the rooms. Ours was charming and comfortable with enough floor space to spread out our luggage and still move around comfortably. As the hotel is not walking distance to Aviemore (at least not for our elderly father) we booked a table at the hotel restaurant for dinner. This was an experience to remember. All dinner guests are directed to the lounge/bar area where a menu is presented to peruse while enjoying your pre dinner drinks. Only when your entrée is ready to be served, are you are escorted to your table. The experience aside, one of the best meals I have eaten-ever. The breakfast selection was huge – I wanted everything but settled for the Full Scottish –it was delicious! A pity we didn’t have more time as I would happily spend a week here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews