We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Vacation”
other traveller has booked this property
What a View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a View!
Unbeatable Views Welcome to 'Sun Cloud'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
What a View!
Unbeatable Views
Welcome to 'Sun Cloud'
Lounge in Luxury
Private Pool Area
Gorgeous Ocean Facing Living Room
Relax after a Long Day in the Sun
The Kitchen comes fully equipped with everything you need!
Sip Coffee at the Breakfast Table
Enjoy Family Meals at the Dining Table
This room is perfect for the kids!
Ocean Views from the Bedroom
The master bedroom.
The master ensuite bathroom.
Relax in this jetted tub.
Prime Location on the Edge of the Ocean
Blue Paradise!
Rum Point Beach, one of the best beaches in Grand Caymen is close by.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pmps2014
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our extended family recently returned from a fabulous vacation at Sun Cloud in Grand Cayman. To say that we were enchanted with the villa and the island is an understatement. We were 10 people aged 27-77 plus two babies and everyone agreed that it was the best vacation ever. Sun Cloud Villa is beautifully furnished with a location and views that are unsurpassed-photographs just do not do it justice. The house seamlessly flows from inside to outside so that even when you are in the house you are connected to the outside. We loved the pool, hot tub and access to the beach and beautiful clear water. We were all snapping many photos trying to capture what we saw but photos cannot capture the overall feeling of the place. There was a light breeze most of the time which kept us comfortable outdoors even in the hot, sunny weather. I realized the benefit of the breeze after visiting Seven Mile Beach-which is just gorgeous-but was extremely hot without a breeze. The villa itself worked very well for us-with 3 bedrooms upstairs and 2 downstairs-all with ensuite baths-and open living spaces; the house accommodated our large group with ease and comfort. The location on the North Side was ideal for us; we were looking for the feeling of the laid back, easy island life-we knew that we would not be near the big, modern, fully stocked supermarkets or the majority of restaurants. Since we were arriving on a Saturday afternoon and supermarkets are generally closed on Sunday we worked with Kirk's supermarket before we left home to have the house provisioned upon our arrival, and Jaques Scott delivered wine to the house so were set to go as soon as we arrived. We had rented three cars among us so smaller groups of people could come and go as they pleased-people went to the Botanical Garden, visited the Turtle Farm, Stingray City, Seven Mile Beach, Georgetown, or went stand-up paddle boarding. Rum Point and Kaibo were very nearby which were perfect for casual lunch or a drink or dinner, and in the case of Kaibo Upstairs, a delicious, elegant, dinner for our group. Over the Edge which is also nearby was also a good spot for a casual dinner and we had personal chef Lloyd Brown come to the house to cook for all of us one night- our favorite evening that week. One evening four of us also went to dinner at Eric Ripert's Blue at the Ritz Carlton which we can highly recommended.

We can also say that the villa manager Karen was very easy to work with and was there when needed. Complaints mentioned in an internet review by a prior renter were not evident - the hot tub was indeed hot, the infinity edge feature of the pool was operational, and the pool light worked. We loved that the pool light was on a timer so we did not even need to think about it. I will admit that the refrigerator was not as cold as we are used to at home in the US. The one problem that did develop was handled efficiently and professionally by the villa manager. One evening about 5:30pm towards the end of our stay someone in our family turned on a faucet and there was no water. We called Karen, she was at the house in what seemed like minutes (with a large container of bottled water for drinking until the problem was solved) and a plumber appeared shortly thereafter. He fixed a broken pump and we were ready to go. We could not have asked for better service.
A wonderful stay all around!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, tired house”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the Sun Cloud, our first stay on the North Side, after 8 equally lengthy stays on SMB. Our party of nine enjoyed our stay on Grand Cayman. Here are the pros and cons of this particular stay:

Pros - The property is huge, private and has superb 180 degree views of the ocean from a bluff. There is a great breeze coming off the ocean because of the elevation and you do not see nor hear any neighbors, or hear noise from the road. This house is secluded and very large with 5 bedrooms and 5 baths on 2 floors. There are beautiful views from all the windows and lots of light. The house is well decorated and furnished. There is a private pool and hot tub overlooking the ocean from a nice patio with plenty of chairs/chaises. There is easy (walking) access to Rum Point and Kaibo, which are great locations. Very easy to book and do the Bio Luminescent kayak tour, which we did. The night time view of the stars is superb - we saw lots of shooting stars. There are some very good restaurants on the North Side and East End. In addition to having private chefs at the house for three nights, we ate at the beach bar at the Kaibo Club, the Wreck Bar at Rum Point, the Italian Kitchen, Tukka, and Over the Edge, all nice places to dine. There is a very small grocery and small liquor store located about a 15 minute drive from the house where you can get basic stuff.

Cons - You are a bit isolated at this location which has it's positives as previously noted, but also has it's downsides. Trips to the Fosters grocery stores (East End and Savannah) are a hike at 40 minutes and 60 minutes round trip. You pay for the peace and quiet with the inconvenient proximity to restaurants, grocery and liquor stores. As stated in the title, the house is tired, not what it appears in the photos - the outside clearly due for a cleaning and painting. While well decorated and furnished, the appliances and mechanicals, including the hot tub and pool, did not meet the expectations of a luxury house at this price. On the exterior, the hot tub was warm at best and the horizon pool (overflow) was not operating at all during our stay. There were several burned out bulbs, including a main pool light. On the interior, things like plumbing fixtures and cabinets have seen better days. The refrigerator doesn't stay cool enough and the freezer could not keep ice cream frozen. The TV in the living room was an older tube model and the picture quality reflected that. There were no screens on any of the doors or windows, so you need to run the air conditioning constantly and can't open the windows at night when it cools off.

The biggest con was the $50 a day cleaning service which was completely worthless. In 8 prior one week vacation stays at rental properties on Cayman, we've experienced excellent housekeeping services. For starters, my invoice listed a 7 day $50 per day cleaning service, despite the fact that the cleaning ladies do not even work on Sunday and did not show up on Friday. Based on our past experiences, we expected to have to launder some towels, take out garbage, and do dishes etc. between cleanings. On the 5 days that someone actually showed up, all they did was spend less than an hour making the beds and sweeping the floor here and there. I would highly recommend avoiding the $350 charge for cleaning, there's no value in it at all.

In summary, great place if you like privacy, peace and quiet, and a large space with beautiful views and great weather, and don't mind the inconvenience of the more remote location. Not so good if you are used to the attentiveness and generally higher quality of SMB properties - functionality of the electronics, pool and appliances, and quality of the cleaning services.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The land and the views
Liked least: The fridge and hot tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2014
Thank you for the feedback!

Unfortunately we did not get word of any of these issues while you were in-residence. Had we been informed we would have been able to address these issues during your stay. We apologize for the lights out and issues with the hot tub.

Our cleaning crew could not make it on New Year's Day and we thus refunded $50 for the missed day of service.

Cheers!
Evolve Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshallM...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning Cayman Experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Staying at Sun Cloud was the perfect way to spend our Christmas in Cayman. The house is palatial, and sits right on the water, overlooking Grand Cayman's famous north wall. But you can read all of those details elsewhere. Here are a few points that we wanted to know more about when we booked:

Bedrooms
Sun Cloud has 5 bedrooms. 3 are on the upper floor, and two are on the ground floor. All of the bedrooms have their own en quite bathroom The master is huge, with massive bathroom (which has a shower and tub), ante room and walk in closet. Bedroom number two, also on the second floor, is a large queen room. Bedroom three, on the second floor, is a medium sized room with two twin beds. Bedroom four, on the ground floor, is a large queen. And bedroom five is a smaller room with a double bed. If you have anyone in your party who has trouble with steps, the ground floor rooms are brilliant. But regardless, the house will easily sleep ten people.

Kitchen
It's well outfitted with equipment easily capable of turning out dinner for ten. There is a small grill on the front deck, and the stove top and oven are both virtually new. If you are planning to cook keep your menus simple. Virtually all of the island's produce has to be shipped in, so selection in the stores is predictably limited.

Swimming / Snorkelling from the House
There are stairs from the pool area down to the water, but the entry is rocky and will require reef shoes or scuba boots. There is a shallow area about 125 yards wide between the water line and the reef -- which is Grand Cayman's famous north wall. If you come in the winter, as we did, the prevailing wind is from the north, which means large breakers and rough waters in the shallow area. An East wind brings a strong rip current in the shallow area. However, when the wind abates (and at other times of the year when the prevailing wind is from the south), the snorkelling the shallow area is excellent. Great fish and other interesting critters can be found in abundance in shallow grassy areas and small rock formations. The water temp, even in December, was 83F/28C. We read elsewhere that you can shore dive straight from the house's entry point, but the conditions didn't allow it during our visit. We'll have to come back at another time of the year and give it a try.

Food and Drink Shopping
The grocery stores -- and nearly everything else -- really are closed on Sunday, so if you arrive on Saturday (like we did), make sure to visit the Foster's grocery store near the airport on your way to the house. You'll have to buy beer and other drinks from the liquor store next door to Fosters, but if you don't, you'll have none for Sunday. The gas station convenience stores (which are open on Sunday), don't sell beer. The closest grocery large grocery store to the house, also a Foster's, is a good 30 mins away by car, so make sure to stock up when you arrive.

Bottom line, Sun Cloud was fantastic. We strongly recommend it, and we hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thanks for the great feedback!

Cheers!
Evolve Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaU43
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow..What a great home you have David! We shared the house with another family and it was wonderful. Perfect for 2 families to share.The location, can't get any better, super close to Rum Point, views along the point are breathtaking. It is so unique because you bet to see both sides of the coast.

House was well maintained, very clean and beautifully decorated. Friends of ours stayed at other homes in the area and nothing compared to Sun Cloud! There was so much space inside and out. Our kids loved to walk around the grounds outside, spent tons of time in the pool and hot tub. I was a little worried that I didn't see many reviews online but don't be!! It's amazing :)

Karen, the house manager was readily available any time we needed her.

Thank you for letting us stay at Sun Cloud. It was one of our best vacations!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The openness to the ocean and the decor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for sharing review of your stay. We're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience, and we hope that some day you'll come back to enjoy Sun Cloud again! Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in December 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2012
Thanks for the lovely review! We are so thrilled to hear that you has such an enjoyable stay for your honeymoon, and we would absolutely love to have you back anytime. Just let us know when you're ready for a great anniversary trip! :) Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful villa! We love having guests as wonderful as you and your family! We appreciate your recommendations, and of course we would love to have you back anytime. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing