We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay on Cayman! Book it NOW!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Beach
Screened Lanai View of beach and pool from lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Pool and Beach
Screened Lanai
View of beach and pool from lanai
Dining table and living area
Couch and TV area
Kitchen
Master bedroom with Queen size bed & ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom with access to Lanai
Master ensuite bathroom
2 bedroom with 2 twin size beds
2nd Bathroom
Washer and Dryer
Main building view at you drive in
Store room with bikes and a double kayak, a BBQ and a few beach chairs for our guests to use
Beach out front of our condo
Pool and Beach view from our lounge chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rum Point, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
HEYERIN
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Cayman! Book it NOW!”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just got back home from our weeklong stay at MoonLight Kai in Grand Cayman! Our family of four LOVED the condo... not sure how we would have managed without the two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, screened dining patio, and washer & dryer! This place really felt like our home on the island and made the trip very comfortable for us. Christine (the owner) was very accommodating and answered our questions thoroughly before we arrived.

Things to know:
This condo is up on the second floor, so you will be going up and down stairs often. If you have mobility issues, this may not work well for you. Other than dragging our luggage up and down, we were fine. And the view from the second floor is stunning!

The condo development has a pool and jacuzzi, which our kids loved. You can view the pool from the screened-in patio, too.

The washer and dryer were lifesavers for us; we washed/dried a load of towels and swimsuits every night. Bring your own dryer sheets and detergent pods. We didn't even have any dirty clothes to bring home!

The wifi was a godsend, too. It was great to log into social media in the morning and at night to upload photos and check in on email here and there.

If you need some basic groceries, stop at Chisholm's (green building, open on Sundays). The cashier/owner is so nice and he even gave our girls free ice cream cones!

The Kaibo Restaurant next door (main level) is great for casual lunch and dinner with the family. Tuesday nights they host a BBQ buffet with live music, so make sure to RSVP online to get your table! Try the chocolate croissants (baked fresh every morning) at the Kaibo coffee cafe/hut. Yum!!

We booked an early morning 7:00 AM tour to Stingray City through White Sands Water Sports - they will dock at the marina next door. Our boat was the first and only one there that early in the morning, so you have the stingrays all to yourself!

Other favorite restaurants: Over the Edge Cafe, Kurt's Korner (tucked behind "Water Boyz" liquor store), The Lighthouse for a sunset dinner, Tukka on the East End, and the indoor restaurant at Rum Point

If you have dolphin lovers in your family, go for the full package at Dolphin Cove (north of Seven Mile Beach). It's pricey, but you also receive complimentary full access to the Cayman Turtle Centre across the street (worth $45 per person), so that helps. This dolphin experience was great - lots of interaction with TWO dolphins, lasting about 40 minutes.

We LOVED our day at the Cayman Turtle Centre! You can swim/snorkel with actual sea turtles and tropical fish in their Turtle Lagoon (which closes early at 2:30) and their Breaker's Lagoon pool is fun, too! Go through the turtle touch tanks to pick up sea turtles! Not crowded at all for us.

Rum Point was a great beach for us. Very calm, shallow water, great for beginner snorkelers and younger kids. Food and drink options are great, clean restrooms, and water sports rentals. Lots of shaded areas on the beach, too, if you need to avoid direct sun.

Walk/bike/drive westward down the road from the condo to check out Starfish Point during sunset. We saw five starfish and our photos turned out amazing with the warm light.

Overall, activities weren't too crowded for us. We avoided Georgetown on days with multiple cruise ships, so that helped. Also, traffic leaving Georgetown is congested from 4:30-5:30 on weekdays, so avoid those times.

The weather was great for us! We did not pack enough sunscreen, so we had to pay sky high prices ($25/bottle) to avoid sunburn! If you need to find some shade for a couple of hours, check out Caymana Bay in Georgetown. Lots of nice shops and we visited Gelato & Co. a couple of times for ice cream! Fun fountains and a mini island to keep the kids happy. Was not overcrowded with cruise tourists when we were there, which was nice.

We really enjoyed our stay and have fond memories and pictures to last forever! This island is a great destination for families... lots of fun things to do. Islanders are kind and the area is very safe. The condo is in a calm and quieter side of the island, which is exactly what we were looking for. Our rental car got us around the island just fine.

Our ONLY recommendations for the owners: Have more beach towels on hand so we can switch out to clean, dry towels midday, and ask the condo management company to get some hammocks up under the palm trees... I see hammocks in some of the property photos, but there were not there during our trip. :(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Hi Erin, thanks very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am glad you had a great time. I will be in touch with the Strata company about putting in some new hammocks. I know we are getting some new cushions for the pool lounge chairs so hopefully we can have hammocks soon too. I will have more towels for guests on request in the future. Thank you for the feedback.
Look forward to having you back at our condo in the future.
Kind Regards,
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cayman newbies”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first trip to the Cayman Islands and we were not disappointed.

The condo is roomy, clean and has all the mod cons you could want from kitchen gadgets to wifi. We booked through an online portal but conversed with the owner on a number of occasions via email and she was always very helpful and quick to reply.

Kaibo is on the un-busy side of the island which is why we liked it. The complex was never crowded and on some mornings, we had the beach, hot tub and pool to ourselves.

On that, the beach is good for waters sports but if you want clearer, blue water for better swimming and snorkellng then you'll need to nip up to Rum Point which is a couple of minutes away by car.

Kaibo Beach Bar and Grill is next door and great for a relaxed, sand in your toes,easy meal (and a G & T at 6 bucks). Their posh restaurant called Upstairs is open Thurs - Sun although we didn't feel the need to try it. Further afield we ate at Over The Edge and Kurt's Korner - both were good and well priced.

Lastly, you will need to stock up with food and provisions at a supermarket, the larger ones being in or just outside Georgetown. Closer to Kaibo is Chisholms which is your basic corner shop type affair. Oh, and you can only buy beer, wine and spirits from a liquor store. We used Blackbeards which is next to Hurley's supermarket about 10 mins from the airport.

All in all, the whole family was very happy here. We'd certainly return.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Dear Andy, thank you so much for your great review. I wish you all the best and looking forward to having you back to Cayman in a couple of years - if you can wait that long :) Sincerely Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ro R
Westchester County, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Vacation To Remember”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We just returned from our fantastic trip to Grand Cayman and had lovely accommodations at Moonlight Kai. We much preferred the quieter location despite the initial longer drive from the airport. We loved being right on the water, next door to food and drink at Kaibo Beach House and within walking and kayaking distance to Starfish Point and amazing Rum Point. The condo was equipped with everything we needed -- Christine literally thought of everything -- from a fully stocked kitchen to a garage full of play items (two person kayak, beach chairs, snorkeling gear, coolers, bikes) as well as a detailed booklet that answered any questions you may have about internet service, tv, management contact info, etc.

Our favorite aspects were the lanai, the never-crowded pool on the beach and the kayak. As for activities, the Sting Ray City departure (through WhiteSand Sports) from the marina just a few steps away was super convenient. And the all-you-can-eat BBQ on the beach next door on Tuesday night was so fun.Christine advised us well to stop at the grocery store on the way to the condo as grocery stores are not nearby. We did find basic necessities/fill-in items at Chisoholm's Market (about 10 minutes away). Our best meal was definitely at Tukka on the East End but also loved two local hidden gems - Grapetree Cafe and Kurt's Korner. We did venture to SMB and the Turtle Farm in West Bay for one day, but it was so built up, it made us appreciate the less touched, natural beauty of the Cayman Kai area. We were glad we ventured to the other side, though. It is definitely worth seeing.

I would highly recommend this unit to anyone that is considering!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. I am so pleased that we could make your family vacation one with memories to remember forever.
Hope to have you guys back again one day!
Cheers, Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis S
Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just book it, don't think twice”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our stay in Grand Cayman. Wow, what a beautiful place!...and our first time online condo rental could not have been better. Christine maintained great communication leading up to and during the stay as needed. The area and complex are wonderful, in a quiet area just off of the rum point area, next to Kaibo Yacht club. Its essentially a private little secluded bay with as great beach, that is just yards away from your building. The Yacht club next door was great for a drink or meal when needed. Very freindly staff there.
Now, the condo....PERFECT! very clean and roomy, and stocked with everything you could imagine....blender for smoothies, a BBQ, even bikes if you wanted to ride. We mostly enjoyed the included little kayak on the calm waters of the bay. The beds were comfortable, and ample storage for our luggage supplies. There was literally nothing we needed for....better than home! And when the weather got a bit rainy, they even have a DVD player, Apple TV, WiFi and some board games there to pass the moments of none sun...as I said, I could not think of anything I would improve upon....and will not hesitate to book again when we come back to Cayman. My suggestion would be to book early, as I see the calendar fills quickly. Don;t miss out...if going to Cayman, and want to have something quieter than 7 mile tourist area, this IS the area and this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, roomy, very well stocked with supplies, owner that cares
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Hi Curtis, thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. As a returning guest you will receive a 10% discount when you book with us again. We hope to have you back to stay at Moonlight Kai in the future.
Kind Regards,
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toffeegir...
CT
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After visiting Grand Cayman too many times to count, and although the Northside is my favorite part of the island, I have never considered staying at Kaibo before mainly because there's no reef directly offshore.
This condo looked too good to pass up though and I am so glad I decided to give it a try. It was just perfect and so close to Rum Point and Starfish Beach.

The kitchen is extremely well stocked and there's even a small grill in the storage area., (Make sure you purchase paper towels and toilet paper when you're buying your groceries)
The beds were super comfy, and I can't remember the last time I said that about a rental property on the island! One tip though, if you are planning to sleep in the second bedroom take a sleep mask with you as the light in the hallway outside the apartment shines directly into the bedroom all night making it difficult to sleep if you need complete darkness. (as I do).

The bar/restaurant next door were great for the times when we didn't want to drive somewhere for dinner and make sure to attend the barefoot bbq held there every Tuesday night! There is also a coffee shop that's open every day till 4pm for those who need their caffeine fix!

It was such a wonderful week, I'll definitely be back at Moonlight Kai next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to Rum Point & Starfish Beach
Liked least: That the second bedroom had light streaming in all night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad you had an amazing time at our condo. My husband and I are going to stay at our condo at the end of April and will be looking at our options for getting some new blinds for the second bedroom so the light will not shine through at night. Great feedback.
Look forward to having you stay at our condo in the future.
Regards, Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations and family fun”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place. Grand cayman is amazing. Very safe and the condo unit was fantastic. Pool is great and proximity to Kaibo restaurant is great. Rum point is so close and you can get yourself to bioluminescent bay on your own using the units kayak-saved a family of 4 tour cost for 15 mins of tour.


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Js2014
Essex, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved staying at Moonlight Kai!”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first family trip to the beautiful island of Grand Cayman. We decided to stay at the peaceful & relaxing area of Water Cay. The condo, Moonlight Kai, was well appointed with comfortable furniture and beds. It overlooks the beach and pool with spectacular views of the harbor and ocean. We kayaked to Starfish Point in mornings and enjoyed spirits & food at Kaibo next door. Thank you for making our vacation truly memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & Relaxing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Thank you for this review. So glad you had a fantastic holiday. Hope to see you back for your future holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing