We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I came here a couple of weekends ago with some friends for drinks and the bar staff were very friendly and cocktails tasted amazing. After mentioning what a lovely place it was to my boyfriend he then decided to take me out for dinner here last week and the food was delicious (highly recommend the fish platter to share for starter) the only comment that i would make is we felt as though we had been shoved in the corner to make way for all the larger tables which was unsettling at first but the staff were very friendly so soon forgotten about. Over all a great experience and will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralillyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night last June, after a truly beautiful and stunning day at The Gatsby just down the road. They don't offer accommodation so we booked into the Character Suite at The Kings Arms. We arrived at 00.30 and went straight to our room. The room itself is beautiful with a four posted bed, character features and a lovely big bathroom. Unfortunately there is no warning and I feel there should be, that this room is right over the bar, so you can hear all of the noise and actually feel like you are part of the party going on downstairs. By the time the party goers had drifted off (around 1.30am) we finally relaxed. UNTIL 6.30am/7am when someone arrived downstairs, I can only assume a chef (?) to start to prepare, and turned on the loudest blaring music, it was utterly ridiculous. We phoned down and asked them to turn it off, which they did - but this was the first morning after our wedding.....not really the wake up call we asked for. Breakfast was good, ok service and nice service, but the whole experience was totally ruined by the late bar and the early wake up call from the music. Don't get me wrong, I understand that B&B's have noise from the bar, but I think there should be a warning if you are booking into the Character Suite which is the most expensive room they offer. And the blaring music at 7am.....that really needs to stop!

Room Tip: Late night noise and early morning loud music from the bar - avoid booking if you want to avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoetravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went to The Kings Arms a couple of weeks ago, ordered 2 coffees... 20 minutes or so later we were still waiting for them!!! We asked where they were and eventually they appeared, we could see the bar staff were way too busy having a good old chat to be doing too much else! Then went for dinner a week later, hopeful it would be better...again slow service, staff chatting and the bar was full of 'extremely' young people...are you absolutely sure they are all drinking age????? Don't think so!!! Witnessed this at one of their public functions, halloween... adults till about 11pm and then hoards of spotty teens, whats going on??? friends of ours went to the new years party and said exactly the same thing....lets face it, they arn't really the ones with spending power are they?!! Really think the Kings Arms needs to re-address a few issues, but most people we know are heading back to The Gatsby and Raymond Blanc, better service, better food and no teens!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superboo698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Hi there, firstly, thank you for your comments, your feedback is useful to us. Sorry to hear that you have had a recent disappointment at the Kings Arms. We have taken your comments on board and our Operations team is looking into this. We can, however, assure you that we have a rigorous age verification process with private security on the doors, and therefore underage drinking is in no way tolerated in our establishment. We would like to restore your faith in the Kings Arms, so please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we will get in touch. Many thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Service ok. But food was shockingly bad. My little chef breakfast was far far better.

-Poached eggs were very over done, not in the least bit runny.
-Hollandaise sauce cold
-Porridge very dry and unpleasant
-Banana and maple syrup pancakes had only 3 slices of banana and was badly cooked.
-Scrambled eggs were grey and rubbery.
-Toast was cold.

All in all a very poor experience and substandard to many other venues in Berkhamsted.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Hi Charlie, thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as getting things right is extremely important to us. We are looking into your breakfast experience with our Operations Manager and Quality & Standards Manager, as this is certainly a deviation from our usually excellent feedback about our breakfasts. We would like to restore your faith in the Kings Arms, so please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we will get in touch. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Not wanting to go to Costa etc I walked into the Kings Arms to get a 'quick' coffee. Having asked if I could sit anywhere in the bar area as all I wanted was a coffee I took a seat. Bearing in mind that I had already informed them that all I was here for was coffee it then took just over 20minutes for anyone to acknowledge I was sat down!! Despite there being the general manager, two or three other 'managers' and two waiting staff with an empty restaurant this does seem a bit bizarre?! Coffee was eventually served but the staff here really don't care about service and are far more interested in chatting about anything other than work! The KA is normally very good, as are the rest of The Oakman Inns sites but the level of staff they employ really let's them down. Sort it out!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank JRobertDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Hi James and Lucy, thank you for your feedback. In response to your comments our Coffee Development Manager is currently deployed at the Kings Arms for some additional coffee training and service standards, so thank you for highlighting this. We would like to apologise for your disappointment and reassure you that we are working on refining our coffee offering and service quality, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Kings Arms Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in their best room... Unfortunately above their pub. I get logistics and the fact it's just unfortunate that the best historic room is situated directly above the pub but perhaps the bouncers could have told drinkers to quiten at 2am. This noise is barable but at 7am after 5 hours sleep the breakfast is being served with trendy music blaring from a speaker below ur head with unnecessary base! I also get ambiance but I think the sleeping guest is more important. A beautiful place being a tad spoilt.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simontjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have eaten lunch here on a few occasions. Food has always been good and the portions generous. Wine list good - drinks mark up not too greedy. Service has always been efficient and friendly. Reasonable prices and for the quality of the food represents good value. A good atmosphere prevails - overall highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grahamstubbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.2 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
127 reviews
4 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
2 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
926 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range: £72 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing