We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Very noisy at night with internal doors banging and then again early morning. Window didn't close properly so very draughty. Double room for two, but only one armchair, one bedside lamp, and one set of towels: had to ask twice for more towels. Very poor breakfast - badly cooked (cold cardboard pretending to be bacon, and toast was cold and chewy). Only one plate of food allowed in the B&B tariff (£120 per night!!!) - no fruit juice, or fruit, or cereal: had to request butter for the toast, and only one drink. Cleanliness of china was suspect - had to ask for replacement cups. Slow service - and had to wait at least 10 minutes at check in and check out for the manager to be found to serve us. And no on-site car parking - had to park behind Tesco. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    49
    45
    35
    29
See reviews for
47
65
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for a 40th birthday and at first glace I was very impressed. However when paying £120 a night I was a little bit suprised by some things. To get to rooms 4-6 you have to via the back door past the kitchen bins, which not surprisingly were quite smelly and would be worse in the summer. The entrance was quite dirty. The room itself at first glance looked lovely and it was only the small things that let it down. The bathroom tap was loose and you are unable to open the shower door as the sink is in the way. This means to turn the shower on you have stand underneath it! In the bedroom whoever painted the walls has also painted part of the light switch and there also splatters of paint on the windowsill. I have a friend who is a painter and decorator and he thought it just basically shoddy. Little things I know but it's the little things that make the difference. On the plus side, it's a lovely bar and the private room was excellent. The room had 70 people and one girl behind the bar!! Decent prices for alcohol
Food is excellent, if a little pricey but breakfast was lovely. Last but certainly the worst was we brought a bowl with sugar sachets in it, when I opened the sugar it felt a bit damp so I picked up all the sachets to find they were sitting in and inch of brown water!
Not worth £120

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have been to the Kings Arms a number of times and have enjoyed the atmosphere and food. Most recently I had an issue with a meal and decided to deal with it by calling the manager and not posting on Tripadvisor before getting a response. I am glad I did. She, the manager, dealt with the issue very professionally and suffice it to say I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I came here a couple of weekends ago with some friends for drinks and the bar staff were very friendly and cocktails tasted amazing. After mentioning what a lovely place it was to my boyfriend he then decided to take me out for dinner here last week and the food was delicious (highly recommend the fish platter to share for starter) the only comment that i would make is we felt as though we had been shoved in the corner to make way for all the larger tables which was unsettling at first but the staff were very friendly so soon forgotten about. Over all a great experience and will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralillyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night last June, after a truly beautiful and stunning day at The Gatsby just down the road. They don't offer accommodation so we booked into the Character Suite at The Kings Arms. We arrived at 00.30 and went straight to our room. The room itself is beautiful with a four posted bed, character features and a lovely big bathroom. Unfortunately there is no warning and I feel there should be, that this room is right over the bar, so you can hear all of the noise and actually feel like you are part of the party going on downstairs. By the time the party goers had drifted off (around 1.30am) we finally relaxed. UNTIL 6.30am/7am when someone arrived downstairs, I can only assume a chef (?) to start to prepare, and turned on the loudest blaring music, it was utterly ridiculous. We phoned down and asked them to turn it off, which they did - but this was the first morning after our wedding.....not really the wake up call we asked for. Breakfast was good, ok service and nice service, but the whole experience was totally ruined by the late bar and the early wake up call from the music. Don't get me wrong, I understand that B&B's have noise from the bar, but I think there should be a warning if you are booking into the Character Suite which is the most expensive room they offer. And the blaring music at 7am.....that really needs to stop!

Room Tip: Late night noise and early morning loud music from the bar - avoid booking if you want to avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoetravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkhamsted hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went to The Kings Arms a couple of weeks ago, ordered 2 coffees... 20 minutes or so later we were still waiting for them!!! We asked where they were and eventually they appeared, we could see the bar staff were way too busy having a good old chat to be doing too much else! Then went for dinner a week later, hopeful it would be better...again slow service, staff chatting and the bar was full of 'extremely' young people...are you absolutely sure they are all drinking age????? Don't think so!!! Witnessed this at one of their public functions, halloween... adults till about 11pm and then hoards of spotty teens, whats going on??? friends of ours went to the new years party and said exactly the same thing....lets face it, they arn't really the ones with spending power are they?!! Really think the Kings Arms needs to re-address a few issues, but most people we know are heading back to The Gatsby and Raymond Blanc, better service, better food and no teens!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superboo698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hi there, firstly, thank you for your comments, your feedback is useful to us. Sorry to hear that you have had a recent disappointment at the Kings Arms. We have taken your comments on board and our Operations team is looking into this. We can, however, assure you that we have a rigorous age verification process with private security on the doors, and therefore underage drinking is in no way tolerated in our establishment. We would like to restore your faith in the Kings Arms, so please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we will get in touch. Many thanks and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Service ok. But food was shockingly bad. My little chef breakfast was far far better.

-Poached eggs were very over done, not in the least bit runny.
-Hollandaise sauce cold
-Porridge very dry and unpleasant
-Banana and maple syrup pancakes had only 3 slices of banana and was badly cooked.
-Scrambled eggs were grey and rubbery.
-Toast was cold.

All in all a very poor experience and substandard to many other venues in Berkhamsted.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hi Charlie, thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as getting things right is extremely important to us. We are looking into your breakfast experience with our Operations Manager and Quality & Standards Manager, as this is certainly a deviation from our usually excellent feedback about our breakfasts. We would like to restore your faith in the Kings Arms, so please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk and we will get in touch. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing