We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food, poor customer service”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I visited the Kings Arms for dinner last year and had a very nice meal and good service. So, I decided to take some friend there last night. It was a hot and busy evening, but there were plenty of staff on duty so I don't think that was an issue. When the waiter took our order he practically barked at me for my order. One of my guests found a hair in her starter. We mentioned to our waiter when they came to clear but he didn't apologise or offer an alternative. Another member of staff came over - one of the hostesses I believe - to confirm we had found a hair and offered an alternative. My guest chose not to, understandably. The main course came and was very average also, but luckily no hairs this time. The waiter hadn't pointed out that fries came with one of the meals, so we ordered more which turned out to be unnecessary. Dessert was underwhelming too. Bill came. No apology and nothing deducted from the bill as a gesture. Clearly no one really cared. Personally, I will not be going back and do not recommend it. Real shame, as it is a really nice building and has a good atmosphere. Could do much, much better.

Room Tip: I'm referring to the restaurant in my review - haven't stayed in the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jaffacakes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Jaffacakes66,

We’re very sorry to hear that your meal at the Kings Arms did not live up to our usually high standard. It is incredibly disappointing to hear that a previously satisfied customer has had an unpleasant experience second time around.

Whilst we are incredibly apologetic that you were unhappy, we would like to point out that on the night in question the front of house staff were incredibly apologetic, and in fact the meal in question was removed from your bill immediately.

As you mentioned in your review, your first time with us was much more enjoyable, and we’d love the opportunity to demonstrate that your most recent experience is incredibly out of character.

Please do come by again soon, we’d love to hear your feedback.
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a nice lunch in the outdoor seating area. I'm not going to rave about it but it was nice, and good value. The service was a little flaky and the waiter did knock my beer over when he arrived with my food but he did replace it quickly and was very apologetic! Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank magicmark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Mark,

We’re pleased you had a nice lunch, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Unfortunately accidents do happen occasionally, our staff are human too! So thanks for being understanding about your beer!

It’s great to hear you’re planning on coming back, do let us know what you think!
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I have been to the kings arms a few times over the last few months but on every visit there has been an issue. We went for Sunday lunch at 6 as the second food service opened to be told they had no Sunday roast dinners left. We then went again as a big group on a Friday night and had to wait for almost 45 mins just to get drinks to the table. On my last visit the waitress told us as we sat down that they had run out of a few things on the menu. As the menu is quite small this left us with only a few choices.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi James,

We’re sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your time at the Kings Arms. In order to make sure all of our produce is fresh, we don’t bulk buy and then store ingredients for a long period of time, this means that occasionally we run out of dishes... however it also means that you can guarantee that all of your food is fresh and delicious!

The weekend can be incredibly busy at the bar and so it sometimes takes a little longer for drinks to reach the table, but 45 minutes is far longer than we aim for and we’re so sorry about that wait. We’ve recently installed a new app system called Orderella which should hopefully cut down the bar wait significantly, thus freeing up staff for more restaurant drinks!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback!
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Booked a table for four for a Wednesday lunchtime. Place was empty so no need to book. Drinks orders placed reasonably quickly followed by food order. 45 Minutes later, food arrived. Excellent food, hot and very tasty. However....the waiter had a very surly attitude and didn't crack a smile at all. Puddings were ordered and to be fair, one pudding was served incorrectly but the offer to put it right was declined as we had waited so long. Coffees that were ordered were on the cool side. We would eat here again as food very good but service with a smile needs attention!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Wendy,

Whilst we’re delighted to hear that you had a great meal with lots of tasty food, we’re very sad to hear that the service did not live up to the high standard we have come to expect. We will definitely be looking into this for you!

Do come again soon, and let us know what you think!

Thank you for your review,
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We live locally so can't comment on the accommodation, but this is a great pub to come to for a drink (hot or cold). My husband and I often pop in at the weekend for a latte (very reasonably priced £1,50 and delicious). The service is always good.
We've eaten here a few times too and the food has been good.
Good place to come at the weekend for a few drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandmrslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Mrandmrslord,

It’s so lovely to hear from our more regular customers, thanks so much for leaving your feedback.

We’re really pleased to hear that you enjoy your time at the Kings Arms and we’re looking forward to seeing you again soon,
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Attended a function here therefore stayed overnight.The staff are really friendly and food was
good. However I did feel the rooms were overpriced. I did read some of the reviews before my
stay and will agree that it can be very noisy when you are trying to get some sleep!
Other than that it does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Anne,

Thanks so much for leaving your feedback, it’s incredibly helpful and allows us to make the appropriate changes where necessary!

We’re sorry you found your stay a little noisy at night time, the bar downstairs can be very busy in the evenings and slightly intoxicated guests aren’t easily controlled!

However, if you’re looking for a more peaceful stay, we have a sister hotel down the road called the Penny Farthing.

We’d love for you to let us know what you think!
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not terrible and the staff did try, but our party of 8 was a bit disappointed by our brunch on New Year's Day. The coffee took too long and was luke warm when served. Food was nice but eggs cold. I got the feeling some of the dishes had been sitting for a while before being served. The biggest problem for me was the dining area filling with smoke from the kitchen. I would have expected better ventilation. When we raised concern we were simply told not to worry about it we weren't in danger!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi AndyAnywhere,

We’re really sorry to hear that your time with us at the Kings Arms wasn’t up to our usually high standard. New Years Day brunch gets very busy, but this does not excuse that your food wasn’t piping hot on its arrival. If this happens again, please do not hesitate to talk to a member of staff and we will be happy to rectify the situation.

It’s incredibly unusual that the dining room was getting smoky on your stay, we have several ventilation systems in place to accommodate for the open plan kitchen. This is something we will endeavour to investigate further!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback,
The Kings Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
412 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
802 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
418 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range: £123 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a fine dining restaurant, boutique hotel and bar. Recently refurbished this historical building has been modernised offering quality in all departments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing