We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious cocktails ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gatsby

The Gatsby
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place to visit if you're looking for a good cocktail. I love the interior and also the heated terrace outside. A bit on the expensive side to go too often though.

Helpful?
Thank Berkhamstedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    103
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch & Jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited ‘The Gatsby’ on Sunday 27th July for the first time with my husband and a friend. I had the duck, my husband had the salmon and my friend had the pork roast and we were not disappointed. For dessert, I had 2 flavours of sorbet and 1 flavour of ice cream and my husband had the 3 flavours of ice cream – we thought these were delicious. The 3 piece band were excellent and as well as playing a selection of jazz they also played blues. The service was also excellent. Our drinks order was taken soon after we sat down and the waitress asked if we were ready to order our food when she brought the drinks to the table. We asked for a little longer, and the waitress returned about 5 minutes later and we then gave our food order.

An excellent afternoon was had by the 3 of us.

Anne
Ruislip, Middlesex

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anne9999076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After being recommended to The Gatsby I booked my 50th birthday celebration here. The food was totally amazing and the service superb. Staff were very pleasant and the pianist made the evening very special. I would definitely recommend and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We went here again with family and mother in law, for a special dining experience and we were not disappointed.

The food was excellent and service attentive, but not intrusive as you would expect for a higher end restaurant
Would definitely come again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Easterholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely meal at The Gatsby last week. It must be the oldest restaurant in Berkhamsted now and by far still the best. Good mixed menu with attentive service to match. Lovely atmosphere in the art deco dining area. Well worth visiting

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gatsby also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Gatsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing