We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Wetherspoon's”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #30 of 70 Restaurants in Berkhamsted
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Pub History: This Wetherspoon pub was first recorded as The Crown in 1743. The building probably dates from the 16th century and has been a pub ever since. By 1790, The Crown became The Chaffcutters. By 1850, it had become the Crown again. In recent years, the building has had several different names, but it is has now reverted to The Crown
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just another Wetherspoon's”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you’ve been in one Weatherspoon’s then you’ve really been in them all.

It’s your normal chain pub offering you your normal chain menu, The Crown is a large venue with plenty of seats and a long bar to make your orders.

I’m not complaining the full English breakfast was nice and I even added pancakes with syrup and they both arrived hot to our table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    38
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad if you want cheap beer”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was not my kind of pub but on a whole the place itself seemed to serve a purpose. The food is typical pub fried food, staff were polite but I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It has to be said, considering the prices are half that of any other establishment in Berkhamsted, the wine is equally as drinkable, the beer is good beer and the food isnt bad at all considering it is probably cheaper to eat here than have a naff ready meal from the supermarket! So if you just dont fancy cooking - its brilliant.... sunday roasts are pretty good too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get what you expect from a Wetherspoon.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Do great beer and a burger for a £5, that's the only reason why I go. The cheapest pub in Berko and its for a reason, don't expect sophisticated and high standard as you usually would get in Berko.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BiancaC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Barmaid didn't listen”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We are regulars at The Crown but the service this evening was the worst that I have experienced there.

The Barmaid didn't listen to my order and failed to follow my directions regarding my tea. I have given these directions in MANY other Wetherspoons pubs and this is the FIRST occasion when the member of staff serving me failed to do as I requested.

The food was fine but the whole evening was spoiled by this girl's thoughtless and disinterested attitude.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_JB_Ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing