We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minus 5!!! Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pottery Project

The Pottery Project
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Berkhamsted
Attraction details
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Minus 5!!! Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is another amazing concept but the staff ruin this whole experience - the main lady is rude and off-hand and un-helpful. The items themselves are expensive so for little ones it is probably just too match cash really.
It's a shame because the friend I went with had planned to have a party for 10 here later In The year and because of the attitude of the staff that's a definite no!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimatebarbiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great little place to be creative with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

All ages will enjoy being creative in this little treasure trove. Can be expensive if you get carried away - but these costs can be managed if you visit in a group & share kiln time.
Great for children & adults alike, though I didn't dare take my kids there until they were a little older - about 5-6 & could really enjoy decorating something to fire.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“kids love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

attentive staff who help out the children when they are doing their designs to make sure they come out ok.

good for parties and a decent cuppa if you are sat there keeping the kids company.

great for arty and creative kids

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lenfantterrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun for all the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A great place to be creative for not just kids, but adults as well. With a great range of pottery to paint, I can never decide on what to choose. Unfortunately,only a few members of staff helped us and actually looked like the wanted to be there. However, the other staff members looked bored and unwilling. The food and snacks are reasonably priced and fuel your creativity. The pottery is quite pricey so it is best to only go on a special occasion

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for children but..........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We visited the pottery project and I have very mixed feelings. We all had fun painting our pottery pieces and one member of staff was helpful with showing us what to do, where the pieces of equipment are etc etc BUT the other staff were rather grumpy. The toilets had not been cleaned recently and the nappy bins were full, the smell pervaded the whole room!!! Not pleasant! I feel that the experience is rather over priced (both the food and the pottery) I spent just under £50 on 2 x hot chocolates, 1 x coffee, 1 x packet of sweet and 2 x biscuits, and 3 items of painted pottery (a tiny mug and 2 small plates). I don't think this is very good value for money at all sadly

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pottery Project also viewed

Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Pottery Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing