We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We chose The Pennyfarthing as ideally situated for a function in the town. The receptionist, a friendly a helpful woman, showed us to our room which was on a strange corridor on the street, off the courtyard. The smell of damp on entering the room couldn't be masked by the plug in air freshener. The patch on the ceiling may have been the culprit. On entering any hotel room I do enjoy plonking myself down on the bed to start any possible relaxation, however I had to strip off the grubbily stained counterpaine to do so. Apart from some splattered tea like stains down the inside of the bathroom door and grubby bathroom skirting, everything else was very clean. The air con and dark dingy room were welcome on the hottest day of the year. The complementary shower gel etc is probably the cheapest of the cheap, combined with the thinnest toilet paper, screamed out we're cutting cost but will still charge you £90 a night for the displeasure. The full English in the odd canteen was very good though. On leaving, a different receptionist didn't bother to ask us about our stay or provide the exit code for the car park or a smile. There is nothing welcoming at all about The Pennyfarthing. Not a picture or a flower in sight. It's fine for one night if just needing somewhere to rest your weary head, but most definately over priced. We were glad to finally get that exit code and go home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaia405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Nice rooms, well screened from the High Street, comfortable beds, but oh dear very noisy plumbing from all adjacent rooms. For a new building this is unacceptable - noise insulation badly needed.
Pity, as the service was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Marie & Betty were very nice & sweet. Great Breakfast....Lovely place. I recommended. Love Maggie&

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbonet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had a good stay at the Penyfarthing, my room was nicely decorated, clean and well equipped. I ate at the restaurant next door which offers a 20% discount when the hotel book a table for you, the food was really nice!

The staff were very pleasant, I had a slight problem with the shower in the morning and they came to fix it straight away.

Good hotel in a good location, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Perfect for business, comfortable bed, good breakfast and friendly staff. For long term users you can request your favourite room. Lots of places to go and eat out in Berkhamstead, works well for business use and long weekends in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine but sometimes the stairs can be a bit tricky with a suitcase so I prefer the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Very weird reception service - i was declared 'suspicious' for having booked a double bed for two, when it transpired it was only me. Hotel rooms are a series of doors off the alleyway between the high street and main car park, thus many pissed noisy passer bys walking past at 0130hrs. 4.5 foot double bed with hard mattress. Lastly, £90 per night is robbery - £65/70 would be fair.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My cousin and I booked a room for one Saturday night as we were attending a function nearby. The receptionist was very friendly, directing us to the free car park (for which you have to drive round the back of the hotel by Waitrose) and booking us a taxi. We had a drink in Cafe Rouge next door before we left and we had understood from the hotel's description that we would also have breakfast there. However, after a good night's sleep in a quiet and comfortable room, we were disappointed to find we had to sit in a 'breakfast room', which was more like a canteen. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I have never seen anything like it. Also there was no continental breakfast as stated, only cereals and/or cooked breakfast, which we did not sample so cannot comment on the food. In view of where you have to go for breakfast, this is an over-priced hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
425 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
748 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: 296-298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range: £88 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing stylish, comfortable rooms perfect for a business or leisure stay. Our sister hotel just down the road, the Kings Arms, is available for fantastic food and drink during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyfarthing Hotel Berkhamsted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing