We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conveniently on the high street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
newark on trent
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“conveniently on the high street”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A small friendly hotel right in the centre of Berkhamsted. Recently refurbished. Modern style and berhind Café Rouge so you will never be hungry .Good private parking at the back. The rooms are all Quiet.

Room Tip: Only bed and breakfast but a few steps from the café. Nice breakfast room and food cooked to order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Ann,

Thank you for this great little review! We’re so pleased you had a nice stay with us. If you ever fancy a change from Café Rouge, our sister hotel the Kings Arms is just down the road and you’re entitled to 20% off your bill as a hotel guest!

If you do check it out, we’d love to hear what you think!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    45
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
43
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent short stay at this hotel. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. Very convenient location handy for everything. We had dinner at the sister hotel 'the Kings Arms' in the evening and food was great with 20% discount as a hotel guest

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Chris,

We’re so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us, thanks for leaving your review! It’s also great to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Kings Arms down the road!

We hope to see you soon!
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This Hotel is in the village of Berkhamsted, England, Breakfast is included with hot and cold selections. The chef is accomodating. It's located behind a small restaurant with a joining courtyard, so the hotel is not seen from the street. The staff is friendly and helpful. Several rooms were being renovated while we were there. We stayed 2 nights and will return.

Room Tip: Room #30 is the largest, with windows to the front and courtyard. We requested the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiO-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi KathiO-10,

It’s so great to hear you had a lovely time with us and that you’ll be returning. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, it’s so nice to get feedback!

The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but was delighted! Rooms were spotless. Had great facilities. Was surprisingly quiet considering we backed onto the car park. Breakfast was lovely. Very friendly and helpful chef making cooked breakfasts. Very pleased and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJamRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Because of its location and design I would agree with previous reviews that the hotel lacks charm and soul. However, we just needed a bed for the night. This I thought was good and the room clean with decent toiletries. The shower was nice and hot and the room even had an air con unit which was a god send on a very rare hot English summer night.

Breakfast was a disgrace; cold beans, blackened sausages and tepid coffee. In a nut shell a Danish pastry from waitrose around the corner would have been a better bet.

Overall ok if you just want a bed for the night.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magicb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night as we were young to a party. The room was fine and bathroom There were tea and coffe and biscuits. View over car park but we had a good nights sleep. Went to breakfast at 930 and it was chaos. Only one waiter for 12 tables all full or littered with dishes. Orders were mixed up. We waited to order. We cleared a table and asked for a cloth to wipe it. No mugs. Asked for some. Ordered breakfast It was ok but cold plate and some things lukewarm eg beans and mushrooms cold. I would stay again but they need to sort out Sunday mOrning breakfast. Apparently the staff have told the management but nothing has happened. We would do a 5 out of 5 otherwise

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Womble422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel really does need a full and thorough refurbishment. The rooms are not particularly clean and most certainly their hoover needs repairing. The bathroom smelt of wet floorboards and both the sink and the bath had previous guests hairs. The beds really are old and poor quality and the mattresses are very cheap and nasty. When you sit on them you literally sink to the floor. I skipped breakfast because if the room wasn't clean then what would the kitchen be like??? Expensive for what you get. May be when the building next door is no longer a building site with a JCB next to my room then it may improve the ambience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
766 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
413 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Farthing Hotel

Property: The Penny Farthing Hotel
Address: 296-298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing stylish, comfortable rooms perfect for a business or leisure stay. Our sister hotel just down the road, the Kings Arms, is available for fantastic food and drink during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyfarthing Hotel Berkhamsted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing