We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Well located off the High Street, and with very welcoming and friendly staff, this is a very comfortable and convenient hotel. Could be a little quieter as the rooms are off the main thoroughfare between Cafe Rouge and the Car Park, but generally after 11:00 it's OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnysailorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Johnnysailorboy,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we’re delighted to hear you’re a fan of our little hotel.

We’d love to have you back again soon,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    40
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
40
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Was here before a couple of times and was never impressed.

But...things have clearly changed with the new owner :
1. rooms : remodelled/renovated with very good taste
2. extremely well equipped rooms
3. very friendly staff
4. yummie breakfast

I will be back !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Belgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi No_Belgian,

We’re so pleased that you like what we’ve done with the place! It’s always great to hear positive feedback about the renovations from a regular!

See you soon!
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark on trent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A small friendly hotel right in the centre of Berkhamsted. Recently refurbished. Modern style and berhind Café Rouge so you will never be hungry .Good private parking at the back. The rooms are all Quiet.

Room Tip: Only bed and breakfast but a few steps from the café. Nice breakfast room and food cooked to order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Ann,

Thank you for this great little review! We’re so pleased you had a nice stay with us. If you ever fancy a change from Café Rouge, our sister hotel the Kings Arms is just down the road and you’re entitled to 20% off your bill as a hotel guest!

If you do check it out, we’d love to hear what you think!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent short stay at this hotel. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. Very convenient location handy for everything. We had dinner at the sister hotel 'the Kings Arms' in the evening and food was great with 20% discount as a hotel guest

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Chris,

We’re so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us, thanks for leaving your review! It’s also great to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Kings Arms down the road!

We hope to see you soon!
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This Hotel is in the village of Berkhamsted, England, Breakfast is included with hot and cold selections. The chef is accomodating. It's located behind a small restaurant with a joining courtyard, so the hotel is not seen from the street. The staff is friendly and helpful. Several rooms were being renovated while we were there. We stayed 2 nights and will return.

Room Tip: Room #30 is the largest, with windows to the front and courtyard. We requested the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiO-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Pennyfarthing Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi KathiO-10,

It’s so great to hear you had a lovely time with us and that you’ll be returning. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, it’s so nice to get feedback!

The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but was delighted! Rooms were spotless. Had great facilities. Was surprisingly quiet considering we backed onto the car park. Breakfast was lovely. Very friendly and helpful chef making cooked breakfasts. Very pleased and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJamRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Because of its location and design I would agree with previous reviews that the hotel lacks charm and soul. However, we just needed a bed for the night. This I thought was good and the room clean with decent toiletries. The shower was nice and hot and the room even had an air con unit which was a god send on a very rare hot English summer night.

Breakfast was a disgrace; cold beans, blackened sausages and tepid coffee. In a nut shell a Danish pastry from waitrose around the corner would have been a better bet.

Overall ok if you just want a bed for the night.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magicb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennyfarthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennyfarthing Hotel

Property: The Pennyfarthing Hotel
Address: 296-298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennyfarthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing stylish, comfortable rooms perfect for a business or leisure stay. Our sister hotel just down the road, the Kings Arms, is available for fantastic food and drink during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pennyfarthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyfarthing Hotel Berkhamsted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing