We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hotel but excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penny Farthing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Little hotel but excellent service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for our friend's 40th party. They kindly put a gift and message in our room for our friend and continued to be lovely for the whole stay. The ladies on reception were incredibly helpful when we went out and very sweet.
Comfy room and parking. (We struggled to find the place at first, it's behind the Cafe Rouge).
The Bloke on reception the next day was lovely too.
We left some clothes behind and they were so supportive when we called back, even posted them back to us when we realised we wouldn't be nearby for a long time.
Hoorah to the Penny Farthing. Good people.

Room Tip: Look for the Cafe Rouge when trying to find it. It's just behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omegacds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Omegacds,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we’re so pleased that you had such a great stay with us. It’s so lovely to hear that all these little touches had such a wonderful impact on your time with us, and I’ll definitely make sure to pass on all your kind words to the whole team.

We’re pleased to hear that all your clothes reached you! There’s nothing more frustrating than realising you’ve left something behind and we were more than happy to help.

We hope you’ll be back to visit us again soon,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    41
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
40
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights recently and found the hotel. Staff. Breakfast etc excellent. Would Definately recommend it to other guests
We ate in the kings arms restaurant both nights and enjoyed the food very much. Although there are lots of choices on restaurants near the hotel as it's pretty centrally located

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trisha1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Trisha,

We’re delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review.

We’re really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals at the Kings Arms too, and if you’re ever back in the area again and fancy a change then might we recommend our sister restaurant The Red Lion which is also situated nearby. The Red Lion offers a slightly different menu, with a large selection of pizzas made in our special pizza oven.

We hope to see you back soon!
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here to be near to a wedding to which we had been invited.

The room was ok but nothing special. It was a small room lacking any decoration with a bathroom which was impractical (for example a difficult higned glass panel to the bath).

The view was pathetic in that the two windows to the room looked onto the side of a roof. The gutter from the roof was at the same level as the window and held a couple of used cotton buds and cigarette end. It was unpleasant and due to the small size of the room added to the sense of paucity.

The breakfast was slightly above average but not enough to make up for the no frills hotel not being value for money and acting in many ways like a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi David,

We’re really sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to our usually high standard.

Unfortunately, as the building dates back to the 16th Century where it was originally used as accommodation for religious guests passing through Berkhamsted or on to Ashridge Monastery, the rooms can vary in size. For example, the rooms in the lower floors tend to be larger than those nearer the top. If you stay with us again, I would recommend calling in advance and requesting one of the larger rooms.

I’m concerned to hear that you felt the room was impractical and we will we definitely take your comment about the glass panel in the bathroom into consideration.

I’m pleased, however, to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole Dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed last night for one night only.The usual accessories expected in an hotel of this price, bottled water, shower gel and tissues,for example, were missing. Breakfast was a shambles, served in the most basic of rooms.We ordered our cooked breakfasts and waited an hour to receive close to what we'd ordered after 3 total incorrect attempts! Our orders were taken with no attempt link the order with the table. Conseqently as the breakfasts were ready they went to whoever the waitress thought had ordered them. If only the order was linked to a table number the chaos could have been avoided. We weren't alone in our experience. This hotel has along way to go before it will be worth anything like £120.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseykPooleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi CaseykPooleDorset,

I am incredibly shocked and concerned by this review. I can only apologise for the fact that your room was not equipped with these basic necessities. This is most definitely a mistake on our part; we have just employed a whole new team who were put in charge of dressing the rooms on the night of your stay. As a result of your comment, they have subsequently been retrained so thank you for highlighting to us these issues.

Similarly, I’m so sorry to hear that your breakfast experience did not live up to our usually high standard. We do operate a table number service and so there is no excuse as to why there was this mix up.

Once again, we can do nothing but apologise for the sub-standard experience you had whilst staying with us. We really hope you’ll give us another chance to show that this is not typical of the Penny Farthing at all.

Kind regards,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just spent a weekend at the Penny Farthing Hotel and I have to say it was a very pleasant experience we stayed in a first floor room which was very comfortable and spotless reception staff very helpful breakfast cooked to order delicious! very generous portions. We will certainly stay again when next visiting the New Forest

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Margaret,

We’re so delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback.

We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked some family members into the Pennyfarthing for a weekend, a total of 13 nights over one weekend. My initial impression wasn't good but I pressed on as it was the most convenient hotel to our house, where we were holding the party. I was very disappointed that they would not offer any discount for this number of "room nights" and they came across as being very "full of themselves" with their "we don't see the need to offer discount!" I made the booking anyway but on calling back to confirm I was informed that three of my guests would have to relocate to the sister hotel, the Kings Arms, as the Pennyfarthing was closed for essential maintenance on the Sunday, I hadn't been told that at the time of booking. It got worse though. One couple were allocated a room with aircon that didn't work, they were moved to a room which had aircon that was dripping water onto towels on the floor! They were moved again.

After our party the lady of one couple visited the bathroom only to find the lock broke and she was trapped in the bathroom with no means of escape, thankfully her partner was in the room and he summoned assistance from reception, had she been alone I'm not sure what would have happened as there was no way of calling for help. The night reception staff couldn't help, the Fire Service was called the lady was eventually released at 3:00am!!!

The guests that were relocated to the Kings Arms also found that the lock on their room was dodgy but thankfully they were trapped!

A very pompous approach to guests from a hotel that fell seriously short of acceptable service - I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't Book!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi HarryC,

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay at the Penny Farthing. Unfortunately, we do not offer a discount service for number of rooms booked. This is because during the summer months we tend to be fully booked.

I’m so sorry that you weren’t warned about the essential maintenance work when you booked, this was a mistake on our part and you should definitely have been informed. It is very disappointing that the service you received was below par, and did not match the high level of service that we have come to expect from our staff. It is unacceptable that the impression delivered was that we are ‘full of ourselves’ when, in fact, we are anything but. I will make sure that this does not happen again.

Finally, the situation with the locks was incredibly unfortunate and we are very apologetic about the whole situation.

If you were to book with us again I would like to reassure you that it would be an entirely different experience,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had rooms downstairs and all you could hear was the people in the room above walking around and flushing the toilet . Ask for a room on the first floor rather than the ground floor. Quality of the rooms was excellent all with individual air con units. Breakfast was cooked to order although they did get a few things wrong and some of my party found it could have been hotter. A great selection on offer from cereal to various eggs and bacon combos. Clean and smart with friendly staff.

Would I stay again, yes, most definitely.

Room Tip: do not choose ground floor 25-21
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossythesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyFarthing296, General Manager at The Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Flossythesheep,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it’s essential for us to keep growing and developing and making the necessary changes! We’re really pleased you had a lovely stay with us, and will definitely take into consideration your issue of noise from the upstairs rooms!

I’m sorry to hear that some of your guests felt their breakfast could have been hotter, in future please feel free to let a member of staff know and they will rectify this for you!

We hope to see you again soon,
The Penny Farthing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkhamsted
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Berkhamsted
222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
406 reviews
5.7 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
711 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penny Farthing Hotel

Property: The Penny Farthing Hotel
Address: 296-298 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing stylish, comfortable rooms perfect for a business or leisure stay. Our sister hotel just down the road, the Kings Arms, is available for fantastic food and drink during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyfarthing Hotel Berkhamsted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing