We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Le Vieux Relais!”
Review of Le Vieux Relais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pepieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Vieux Relais
Ranked #1 of 2 Pepieux B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at Le Vieux Relais!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at Le Vieux Relais with Val and Mike twice, 2012 and 2013 both in June. Both were wonderful visits for a number of reasons. The first being the very welcoming atmosphere, Val and Mike were excellent hosts that were very helpful on both occasions, I did not have much knowledge of the area and Val and Mike let us know the attractions, sites and restaurants and how to get to them.

The meals served were amazing and great value for money (could not get enough of Mike's peas)! It also offered us a more relaxed environment than a restaurant where we took the opportunity to get to know Val and Mike and the other guests staying. I have to say the B&B itself was very pretty and clean. Many features of the building are unique and original which is lovely to see.

Overall we would throughly recommend a stay at Le Vieux Relais, as we've been twice! Great location, food, place and hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicWalker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A warm welcome, fabulous food cooked by Mike,comfortable rooms and all the local knowledge you could need supplied by Val- an ideal location for discovering the Languedoc region, particularly recommend Mike's butterfly lamb and mint peas, not forgetting Val's amazing home made cakes (not somewhere stay if watching your waistline!!!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyMFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a drive from Toulouse we arrived in the small village/town of Pepieux. Our home, Le Vieux Relais, for three nights was situated in the centre and ideally situated for exploring the Languedoc region with its canal and hillside villages and not far from the coast.. Very nice comfortable accommodation with friendly hosts and the most wonderful home cooked meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Le Vieux Relais is a very comfortable chambre d'hotes with helpful and most welcoming hosts.Val and Mike were friendly and happy to pass the time of day chatting with their guests. They both have excellent local knowledge which they are keen to pass on. There is lots to see and do in the local area. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed three excellent evening meals, very good value - Mike's butterfly lamb was delicious. The whole house was spotlessly clean and well appointed. Not having a key to the front door did not inconvenience us at all, however we were concerned that if we returned late, we would trouble mike and Val.
We would definitely recommend Le Vieux Relais either for a short or longer stay and hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the attic rooms which was light, airy and most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lychpit, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Both rooms were clean and spacious and the location of the hotel was pretty. Some what disappointed with the pool opening hours as they are limited. Also was disappointed that we had to leave the premises whilst the owners went out for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersPepieux, Owner at Le Vieux Relais, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We were very disappointed to receive this review, particularly as we opened the pool for much longer than our normal hours as the children were having such a good time. We are a small, family run chambres d'hotes, not a hotel, and as we do not serve lunch to our guests we take the opportunity to clean and test the pool during that time, while guests are themselves at lunch. On this particular day we also needed to attend a medical appointment so the pool and house were closed for an hour or so, however everything was open again at 2.30 p.m. and the guests had assured us that none of this was a problem. Had they indicated a wish to stay in the house then we would have happily ensured that someone was in the house to provide for their needs. We do our very best to provide the best possible service to our guests and the benefits of a family run chambres d'hotes such as ours are very much appreciated by our many happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable.However, we didn't like its ground floor position as other guests had to pass the door to go out into the garden or upstairs.The windows in the room overlooked the garden and pool area directly and so it never felt entirely private, especially as we didn't have a key to lock the door.This light airy room would have made a lovely guest lounge.We enjoy meeting other guests and would have loved to socialise with them in a lounge later in the evening but such a lounge was not pointed out to us. One of the other guests told us of a lounge off the dining room which we would share with our hosts.We were not given a key to the front door and had to ring a bell to gain entry.As the hosts were always around to answer the door this wasn't a problem, just unusual in our experience. They were very attentive appearing as soon as you entered the entrance area. It was no trouble to them to make tea or provide a glass of wine upon request. As with most things,we got the impression that things were available if we asked.These little details, if provided as a matter of fact, would have made all the difference and I would have been able to rate this b and b more highly,For instance , only hand wash in the bathroom, bottled water by the bedsides with a disposable plastic cup and one pillow each on the bed. The small pool was covered up and we were told to ask if we wanted it uncovered. Whilst the poolside loungers were comfortable the benches in the garden were not conducive to an afternoon's comfortable read.
Val is a good cook and we really enjoyed the meal she provided for us one night.It represented good value for money.
Breakfast was basic and rather disappointing with no real choice.Fruit for e.g melon balls in bowl and a pot of natural yogurt followed by croissants(one each) and french bread with jam.It would be so easy to take this up a notch by providing some lovely French ham and cheese with a choice of fresh fruit or even some cereal.
Both Mike and Val have a good local knowledge and will recommend some good places to eat.
Pepieux itself has a small Spa and a pizzeria but the bar is not to be recommended.
In short this b and b could be so much better with more attention to detail. It is best used as a base for discovering the area rather than lounging by the pool during the day and then going out for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room and make sure you take shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersPepieux, Owner at Le Vieux Relais, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are pleased that these guests consider that our chambres d'hotes, or B&B, offers good value for money and is well located to discover the delights of this region. They certainly seemed happy with the food and the service and seemed to have enjoyed themselves when they were with us, leaving a very nice comment in our visitors book. It therefore came a something of a shock to us to read all the negatives in this review as none of these were mentioned during their stay giving us no opportunity to do anything about any of their issues while they were with us.
They booked with us at short notice and we gave them the only room we had available, our St Chinian ground floor suite. They made no mention of the fact that they did not like the room which is particularly unfortunate as they could have been moved after their second night. This suite is very popular with our guests and this is the first time we have received an adverse comment about it. Keys are available for all our rooms should guests require them, although most don't seem to bother with them.
Like all guests they were given a personal tour of the house, garden and pool area when they arrived to help them familiarise themselves with the layout so we cannot understand the comment about the sitting room. At that stage of our welcome we also introduce guests to the hospitality area where cold drinks are available, hot drinks are available on request from us as we prefer to offer a nicely presented tray for tea, coffee and glasses of wine, usually with a slice of homemade cake to accompany the hot drinks! We also advise guests that if there is anything they need during their stay then please ask and if we have it we will provide it, most people are very happy with this approach.
We (and our other guests) were made very aware that these guests had stayed previously in a very much more expensive boutique hotel in the area (a very beautiful place but closed since the start of 2012) and we felt that we were constantly being compared to a fully staffed hotel in terms of the services we offer. We offer far more in the way of amenities and service than do many chambres d'hotes in our price range. When we travel we always appreciate shower gel, decent hand soap, a good hair dryer, tissues and a bottle of water in the room and these are what we provide. We do not provide shampoo as this is personal to each guest, however we are always happy to provide some if the guests have forgotten to bring their own.
Turning to the garden and pool, we have never before had a complaint about the comfort the benches in the garden, our other guests have always found them perfectly comfortable. The pool was covered at times during their stay as we had had some bad weather which adversely affects the temperature of the water so we did keep the cover on a little longer than normal in the mornings to keep the heat in as far as possible. We told all our guests what we were doing and we did say if you would like to use the pool and it is covered then let us know and we'll uncover it straightaway (it takes 2 minutes at most to uncover), no other guests had an issue with this.
We are proud to be a good value B&B which offers far more than is usual in the way of comfort and service for the price we charge, this is much appreciated by our may happy and often returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Val & Mike are the most exceptional hosts you could ever have the pleasure to meet and stay with. Their appeal is not just to Brits but to an International clientele, including French visitors who come I'm sure for the superb cooking! We stayed 4 nights in one of the two converted, very spacious attic rooms. Their home is spotless, yet welcoming and comfortable. When you came in from a day out it was like 'coming home' to good friends. The aperitif at 7p.m. and dinner (by arrangement) at 7.30 was the perfect end to the day - a time to unwind, laugh, relax and be served great steak and crème brulee, and to chat with other guests. I especially loved the small pool (4 strokes) which was great to dip in & out of to cool off; I chose to stay here partly because of the small pool - ideal as it's sheltered and a little sun trap - not overlooked, and for a town house it's a bonus. Val & Mike are very knowledgeable about the area, give great directions and recommendations, and will book restaurants for you. I would LOVE to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor room if stairs are a problem for you. The Church bell next door stops ringing at 10p.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pepieux
2.5 mi away
La Residence du Chateau de Jouarres
2.4 mi away
Port Minervois
Port Minervois
#1 of 2 in Homps
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Siran
Chateau de Siran
#1 of 1 in Siran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sainte-Helene Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Relais

Property: Le Vieux Relais
Address: 1 rue de l Etang | Aude, 11700 Pepieux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Pepieux
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pepieux
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Relais as seen from the village square. In the 18th century Le Vieux Relais was a coaching station situated on the corner of the village square. Today it is a well situated relaxing oasis that affords a unique insight into French village life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing