We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a view, location and everything !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bow Street Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raglan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bow Street Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
217 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“what a view, location and everything !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed over New Years Holiday for 2 nights.
Soooooo close to all the great food Raglan has to offer, looks out over the inner harbour and front row seats for the NYE fireworks.
Everything you need, inc bbq in shared area, management were attentive and weather was great. Top Marks.

Room Tip: rooms 5 &6 have good views. eat Cambodian
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonnePapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Wonderful accommodation for a few days. The place was spacious and well appointed with great views to the water. Adored the old leather sofa in the lounge and would have loved to take it away with me. Nice to have a selection of books and DVDs available as well. On the Main Street but right at the end meant a quiet retreat but only one minute to local cafes and shops.
One thing that does need improving though is the bathroom. Whilst it looked great, the shower leaked badly (studio 4) and I was forced to use a towel to mop up the lake that formed. I was under the impression ( given the cost of the accommodation) that my room would be serviced daily and this wouldn't be a huge problem. Unfortunately, this was not the case and I found myself having to find staff (owners were away) to get fresh towels. It also meant I didn't go home to a nice clean room with rubbish emptied and bed made (which I was expecting so was sort of disappointed about). They also seem to only have a shared hit water system so morning showers were problematic in that the temperature of the water fluctuated quite a bit (from very hot to very cold) making for short showers spent mainly out of the stream of water.
I did enjoy the fact that there was a shared BBQ that was available as the patio was a gorgeous place to sit with family for an impromptu BBQ lunch. Might be time to get a new BBQ though.

Room Tip: Go for an end studio as there is a bit of noise through the shared walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here for one night on 25 November, the studio was spacious, clean and interestingly furnished. The upstairs bedroom was huge and had great windows which opened right out to reveal a beautiful view of the harbour. The host was very helpful when we arrived and told us which apartment had the best view, and he was right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norwester65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We chose this place for a romantic night away. We loved having a glass of wine outside in the private patio at sunset. The bedroom upstairs was really spacious and nicely furnished.
Great sea views and the famous Raglan bridge from the big bifold window.
The bed was comfortable and the sheets crispy white.
Bathroom was clean and functional with a shower and modern fittings.
We didn't really use the lounge because we didn't stay for long enough to enjoy it...but it's pleasing to the eye and the perfect setting opening up onto the patio.
Kitchen is "studio" appropriate and we only needed a couple of glasses and mugs anyway..
The only thing i would change is their coffee....may we suggest a plunger and a couple of sachets?
We will certainly be back and we will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland nz
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 only getting to writing review now. Duplex accommodation, clean, spacious and luxurious. Stayed at many places but nothing quite beats this place. Friendly reception and the view we had was striking. Definitely would recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgerqueen700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I cannot praise this place enough. Strachan and family were wonderful hosts. Strachan helped my husband find the waves and was always ready to help. The sunset view from our upstairs bedroom was breathtaking, so the kids could watch the last rays at bed-time. We hope to return to Bow Street one day!

Room Tip: All rooms are adjacent with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMan4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Fabulous generous accommodation with quality fittings.
The nicest young host.
Great outdoor private setting.
Brilliantly situated in the heart of Raglan.

We would not now stay anywhere else. Truly fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raglan
22.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
22.0 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solscape
Solscape
#6 of 11 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Street Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Street Studios

Property: Bow Street Studios
Address: 1 Bow Street, Raglan 3225, New Zealand (Formerly Bow Street Waterfront Accommodation)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Raglan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, Waterfront, Motel Apartments More than studios, Bow Street Studios waterfront location offers seven beautiful self-contained, two-story apartments. Each Apartment has a grandstand view of our famous Raglan sunsets. No Payment required to secure your booking How big are the Studios? Bigger than an Auckland apartment! Guests are often surprised at the size, enjoy the homely feel and love being right in the heart of Raglan. Need more space? Choose our Cottage. Moved to Raglan by barge in 1874 it is one of Raglan's original homes. The cottage sleeps up to five, has a full kitchen and living area. It is Raglan's oldest bookable bach! Bow Street Studios welcomes you to enjoy your stay, in one of New Zealand's most unique destinations. Whether it's a romantic weekend away, a reunion, an epic road-trip, or an action-packed adventure you're after, Raglan is the place to visit and Bow Street is the place to stay when you need Raglan accommodation. Cafe's and restaurants are outside your front door. Within 20 minutes you could be paddling out to one of the world's best left-hand surf breaks, climbing the majestic Mt Karioi, or strolling with the kids to nearby Bridal Veil Falls. Our team are happy to help you arrange your itinerary! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing