We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Solscape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solscape
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at Solscape, as their website suggests it is a retreat. Unfortunately it is a backpackers place with a shared communal kitchen that does not even have cupboards and a minimum standard of cleanliness . All the dishes and utensils are out in the open, and mostly unusable. On our first night we were "guests" against our will at a party of 20something year old backpackers. All good and fine for these guys to party - but please do not sell it to people as a "retreat".
We have meanwhile been in many other campgrounds in New Zealand, and even campgrounds for 18 NZD per night have better (and cleaner!) communal facilities.
The reception area with the integrated cafe is very nice with a beautiful view. The food at the cafe is good as well.

Overall, the double caboose accommodation is way overpriced, and the feeling of a retreat is completely missing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolscapeEcoRetreat, General Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Solscape is both a retreat with up-market private accommodation as well as a budget backpackers, and we are sorry to learn that you would have been better placed in one of our more secluded cabins. We are delighted to say that the communal kitchen is now getting a major redesign and have rostered on extra cleaners to ensure our high standards of cleanliness at all times.

Also, we have a policy of quiet by 10pm and absolute quiet by 11pm. This is normally well respected by guests and managed by night managers. We are sorry that this was not the case during your stay. This is important as our core business is a good nights sleep and we are taking measures to ensure we consistently deliver on our eco-retreat atmosphere that we are world famous for.

Thanks for helping us improve our facilities and service. We are glad you enjoyed the café food and view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    62
    29
    20
    10
See reviews for
22
80
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have no words to express how I loved Solscape. Everything about there exceed my expectations. I felt that I belonged to that place, specially because I am vegan and they share the same ideals :) I stayed with my husband in the Belle Tent, in the Tipi Retreat Area. It is about 7 minutes walking from the main area, but it is a unique experience, in the middle of the forest. So peaceful! The shower in the Tipi area is by solar energy and really cold :) So, if you (like me) need a hotter water, there are toilets in the main area. All the staff was wonderful, very friendly and kind. In the New Years Eve we had an amazing dinner with vegan curry from Sri Lanka and it was delicious! My dream is to come back as soon as possible to NZ and stay there for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila_Mel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location has an amazing view and the staff are friendly. The resort caters more to backpackers and alternative travelers. The price is fantastic but don't expect much from the cabooses. They seem hot during the day but do cool down at night. You'll likely want a car as the town would be a bit of a trek. Most of the accommodations have communal bathrooms but overall, it was a good experience and a great way to enjoy some fantastic views of Raglan. The Wifi is not free but very reasonably priced. The town of Ranglan has some neat shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe green covered cabin. The cabooses are nice but the beds aren't that comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My best advice to anyone in a camper van would be: don't bother. (we were in a little one, heaven help anyone in something bigger). The whole, beautiful, eco site is fabulous. Turn up in a van, though and you can , effectively, sleep in the car park. Pretty frosty (cool?)reception at reception, walked around to get a feeling for the place, to be met by scowls from the "regulars". We had booked, we knew what to expect from reviews on here, but if you want paying guests they have to be able to reach you - and for most of us on a holiday that is for a limited time- that means a vehicle. We were drifting around the North Island and stayed at another, low impact eco site - that really ringed the changes - the difference between eco tourist friendly and hippie haven. (I grew up in one in the seventies , which is where Solscape is stuck). Sorry , Solscape. Not good enough.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laloue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolscapeEcoRetreat, General Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Camper van spaces are currently being redesigned to increase the size of each site. We are also upgrading our communal facilities and are ensuring more thorough training for part-time staff so that they reflect the care and professionalism of our super team of permanent staff. .

Thank you for your helpful comments as we continue to evolve and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in th earthdome, beautifully clean, upstairs bed a mattress on floor not very comfortable but fine for a kid. Downstairs bed comfy and linen great quality. Close to shared facilities. Peaceful sounds of bird life. Amazing views at front of property with picnic tables set up on grass for everyone to enjoy. Seemed to be 4 toilets/showers from what we saw, would imagine this would be struggling when at full capacity, lucky for us they were pretty quiet. Great out door area with woodfired pizza oven.

This place offers a great variety of accommodation styles from Eco cabins, which look very modern and comfortable to tipis set 10 mins into bush to dorm style railway carriages, this is a fabulous place to stay and very exciting for kiddies!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and would stay here again. Big thanks to the very helpful and friendly front desk team, notably DOM - especially helpful with board rentals and all round no-nonsense service.
Good socialising space and funky design too, good vibes all round and great value wifi set up with cafe purchase (everyone's a winner). Only downer was that felt overshadowed by the presence of a bigger 'organic' group which had overtaken the fridge, booked out the yoga classes and forced me to go into town (6km!) to use the laundry. Solscape should be wary of promoting peace and goodwill yet allowing big groups to book other individuals out of classes and utilities.
Otherwise good stuff. Would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolscapeEcoRetreat, General Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
So stoked that you loved Solscape, and thanks for your helpful comments.

We are looking at ways to meet the needs of all our guests when larger groups are also here, and there are some fantastic improvements to our facilities now on the drawing board. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a lotus belle family tipi (or glamp tent) 2 kids 2 adults. When I unzipped the door there was a lovely (proper wooden bed base off the ground) double bed made up with a fluffy duvet and crisp white sheets. This made me very happy. There were also two single beds made up on either side of the big bed, these beds also double a couch during the day with a little folding and snapping into place. There is nothing else in the tipi so theres plenty of room for your bags and floor space to play games if it rains.
The outdoor kitchen has pretty much everything you need except a fridge so take a chilli bin to keep your food cold. Use the pizza oven!We had a beautiful pizza from it, really cool.
Its a good 10 minute walk up and down from carpark so be prepared for a mission carting your stuff up to the campsite!
We also stayed one night in a caboose, my two sons loved it! It was right across from the kitchen and common area where all the tourists hang out I thought this might be a problem at night but all was quiet and we slept really well.
Great place for anyone with options for all kinds of holiday makers. Next time we will stay in one of the modern baches with stunning views and they are completely self contained.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
1.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solscape

Property: Solscape
Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Solscape 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing