We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valleylodge Farm Hostel
Ranked #2 of 7 Claremorris B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I'm only getting around to reviewing valley lodge again.I booked the same room we had stayed in the year prior and nothing had changed.It was already taken by Mary and her husband changed things around to accommodate us at very short notice. A lovely welcome and again my nieces were happy as larry spending time with the animals, again they'd no wish for toys or TV. It was certainly more noisy due to Gaelic football team of young lads from England staying but its a hostel afterall and they did tone it down when asked. After 2 trips to Knock I'm happy to always take the risk of a bit of extra noise to stay in such a lovely area, close enough to Knock but far enough to be away from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: The room we use is in the hostel section of Valley lodge but is theb only wheelchair accessible room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khadiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Myself and a bunch of mates stayed here in August. We arrived down early for the weekend to climb Croagh Patrick.
The B&B also has a hostel side and is one of the cleanest and best laid out I've ever stayed in anywhere - I've stayed in Hostels all over Europe, NZ and Asia.
The common area feels like your sitting room at home. It has boardgames, a TV and books as well as several tables to play them at or eat your meal.... and the kitchen is clean with everything you need to cook, and sports a very large, clean and spacious fridge.

We stayed together in one large room with bunks (there were 6 of us) even though we had the place to ourselves.
The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. There were also double rooms available.
Th Bathrooms were immaculate and the showers were very welcome after we cam back down off the mountain because we were pretty stiff!
You'll definitely need a car to get here but you'll need one to explore Mayo.
It's about 5 mins to Claremorris by car (sorry that's a very irish thing to write but I don't how many Km it is) and it's about 40mins to Westport and Croagh Patrick which are both well worth checking out.
What makes Valley lodge stand out though is the country farm feel to it. You can see in the pics here all the fowl and goats and so on, great if you have small kids (get it...goat...kids?)

Well worth visiting. The Family were very welcoming and I'd def go again.

Room Tip: There is a B&B and hostel to make sure you look through the avail rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Gorgeous spot, great accommodation, They couldn't have been nicer, well organised and extremely welcoming... Highly recommended and will defiantly stop for longer next time....................................

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw looked secure spacious clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCorkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My sister and I took my mother here a couple of weeks ago. It was the first trip since her stroke 18 months ago and she, us and my 6 & 4 year old nieces absolutely loved it! Very modern and clean, extremely comfortable beds and a big well equipped kitchen & bathroom for mums wheelchair and best of all for the little ones was the open farm. I didnt see them take a toy out for the 3 days we were there. They busied themselves for hours with the animals. Very quiet and relaxing place. A car is essential and and with one it is the perfectplace to stay near Knock which is only 15 min drive but it far cheaper than anywhere in the immediate shrine area.I paid 80 Euros per night for 6 of us - in knock the cheaperst I coudl find would have been THREE times this price! It has rooms which sleep 4, 5, 6 or 7 people and becuase it is small everyone talkes to each other though 2 of the 3 nights were stayed there were only 3 young girls. It is not the easiest place to find but once you do the warm welcome you get from Mary and her husband is perfect. She is ready for any eventuality and and her husband even rang her to tell her to put on the heating as he was worried about mummy being cold....and it was still summer temperatures! Will definately stay here again when i take mummy down in in the spring.

Room Tip: Do not say "facefields" as no one knew where or what i was refering too. Just say Clairemo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khadiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our Kearns Family reunion is held every four years in Balla Mayo at the sight of the old cottage on the hill. We are a large group and many of us had the great fortune to stay at Valleylodge for the weekend. Our hosts were Mary and Ed, two of the most friendly and welcoming people you will meet. The rooms were beautiful and the dining area was warm and cosy. Mary greeted us with hot tea and some freshly baked scones that she had baked special for our party. As the tea was served a fire was lit in the drawing room and we settled in for a nice chat with our host. Their farm is beautiful and the accommodation superb. Anyone in a small party or large will enjoy this lovely family and farm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Valley Lodge also has a hostel section. It is really very modern and well done up, better than many hostels within its range. On the day we arrived, there were only us so we got the place to ourselves which is an unexpected luxury.

The en-suite family room we got was comfortable enough but what is nice is the largish sitting room and dining area. It is especially lovely on the night we stayed because the owner got a fire going. The kitchen is very modern and well equipped.

This place would be complete if it has its own washing and drying facilities. Presently we get charged to share the owner's. We feel that was quite an imposition to go to the main-house to do the drying and we did not want to continue drying our wet stuff because it was late. The price charged at 5 euro was steep for us who are used to getting this service free in service apartments which charge the same rate. The dryer did not do a good job anyway. That apart, we were happy to be there.

The hostel is recommended for those travelling by car and who wanted to sample what living on a working farm is like. Mind you, despite the directions provided, it's easy to miss a turning and lose your sense of direction. Every village sort of takes your further away from where you want to go and there aren't that many people around to ask. So allow time for getting in and out of the place unless you have a GPS that works.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ICDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.0 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cloon River Bed & Breakfast
Cloon River Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Claremorris
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marnic House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
0.0 mi away
Ashlawn
Ashlawn
#3 of 7 in Claremorris
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valleylodge Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valleylodge Farm Hostel

Address: Valley Lodge Valley Lodge Valley Lodge Facefield, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Claremorris
Price Range: £12 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal accommodation for flying into or out of Knock Airport. This is the only hostel in the Claremorris or Knock area. We provide luxury hostel accommodation in a newly converted farm building with all en-suite bedrooms catering for single, double, triple, family and dorm. Large common and dining and Self-Catering kitchen (Irish Tourist Board Approved). Facilities: Linen Included, Towels for hire, self-catering kitchen, Free parking, Washing, En-Suite Bedrooms, Hairdryer, Tax Included, Wheelchair accessible, Common Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Valleylodge Farm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing