We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Venue for Drunks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I am writing this at 4:45am as we still cannot sleep. The hotel is a venue for local drunk adults who wish to run amuck "unsupervised". The hotel profits from selling alcohol all night at the residents bar - however there is no apparent night staff to control the drunks who for some reason scream and bellow through the hotel afterwards, kicking doors and walls.

One group ran amuck screaming out for their lost friend - George.
Doors and walls were again kicked as they kicked at doors shouting for George.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AlanDublin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

Decided to avail of the good rates that this Hotel provided during the week leading up to Christmas. My Wife and I decided to stay over after a nights dancing and we booked in for the night midweek and got a great rate for b&b of fifty euro which was on offer for that night. The Staff at reception were very nice to deal with. On entering our room which had a double and single bed which i might add were very comfortable to sleep on that night. It was a large clean room and had Tea and Coffee making facilities etc. The breakfast the following morning was full Irish and there was plenty of cereals, juice and fruit at the buffet. We asked for a second pot of tea and was duly served up by a very friendly waitress. The waitresses were very efficient and friendly.

On this our second stay we were very impressed by the standards of all the staff concerned and the management of this Hotel has everything running like clockwork. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Hotel. There is always plenty of Ireland,s leading Country and Western Bands playing there for entertainment value.It has one of the best dance floors i have ever seen for dancing on. We will be back as we really enjoyed this short break. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My brother got married here on Saturday the 17th of December 2011. The staff couldn't do enough for the bride, everything was perfect, the food was excellent and the hotel itself is spotless and beautifully designed/decorated. The only gripe I have, and a number of family members had this too, was with the reception staff who were too slow in carrying out basic tasks and were partial to the word 'no', i.e. expecting you to sort whatever problem you had yourself. Better training of reception staff and the McWilliam Park will be the perfect hotel. Couldn't recommend it highly enough for a wedding either, the ballroom looked like a winter wonderland.

Room Tip: keep an eye out on roomex and groupon for cheap rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doireannmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Spent two nights here recently and was most enoyable. The staff were most helpful, the room was lovely, the restaurant food was superb-try the chowder, plenty of music & dancing in the bar, soccer match followed by Connacht Rugby on tv followed by great entertainment, lively and busy spot,great shopping in Castlebar on your doorstep, gym, pool, beauty parlour, will be back, keep up the good work.Customer Service 100%

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonKinvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for a family holiday in July and found it to be an excellent hotel. Rooms were spotless and food and service were both excellent. There is loads to do in the area- we had day trips to Westport and Galway. Westport House, although expensive, is a great day out. We will definitely return to this lovely part of Ireland and this great hotel. The hotel seems to market mainly to families and older people so may not suit those looking for a lively holiday..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel last Tuesday for a conference and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I cannot wait to go back in a personal capacity and bring my children as the Halloween break kids club looked brilliant. There were so many families who were enjoying the stay.
Our conference facilities were excellent and the meals provided to the large group were lovely and served up hot and in a timely fashion. The staff are so friendly and the attention to detail is fantastic, every request was met with a smile and a 'No problem'.
I would recommend hosting any event here and I cannot wait to go back next time to bring my young family for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefurs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

MarieR
We stayed here from the 28th 31st Oct for 3 nights with our 9 year old grandson - i must say everything was very clean (as you would expect) and the service was 1st class. The kids club was an added bonus and my grandson thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast was great - dinner lovely but not enough choice on the inclusive dinner menu. Drinks were reasonably price and the hotel child friendly. Although there was a wedding on Sat it didn't disturb us at all in fact it was lovely to see all the style!!! i would definitely recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
90 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
897 reviews
23.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,089 reviews
5.5 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing