We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went to monseigneur horan night statue unveiling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Went to monseigneur horan night statue unveiling”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

I found the drinks over priced the function room appears to be the only one in the entire hotel the manager Don't get me started on him 4 stars most definitely not two pushing it the hotel staff recommend a loony taxi driver who over charges and is known for it my advice ask for tick he is nice back to the hotel it is nothing special and the manager is rude arrogant and has few if any people skills avoid him avoid dilapidated hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank aoifem1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    185
    103
    35
    28
See reviews for
210
214
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I had mixed reviews about this hotel. The hotel itself is very nice, pretty modern with good service on arrival. It is a nice hotel but nowhere near a 4 star, 3 star at most.

The room we stayed in was in business class and it was decent. The main problem was the heat. We had it as cold as possible yet it was constantly like a sauna. The only way to get cold air in was to open the window which meant we had to listen to constant traffic outside from the main road. Sleeping was next to impossible as a result and I came away more tired than when I went and I only went for the rest!

My wife's intentions were to use the sauna facilities. Unfortunately we were told on arrival that there were no vacancies whatsoever over the next 3 days. When I originally rang to confirm the booking, I was told there would be no problem using the facilities and could book on arrival.

Similarly, I had the intention of watching a particular sporting event. I specifically asked staff would it be shown in the hotel bar, as I would have went elsewhere. I came down to watch it and they would not put it on. There was a television available also (with nobody watching) playing a music channel and still it wasn't changed. It was very annoying as I had changed my plans and was unable to see any of it as a result. I should and could have been told originally when I asked and I could have made alternative plans.

The food was fine. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was ok. It was service and not buffet. It was fine. There was a cold buffet with a small selection available also.

We also had a dinner in the hotel restaurant on one of the nights which again was only ok. The only veg available was red cabbage and cauliflower (the only two veg that I cannot stand) and when I asked for an alternative, I was told that was all there was. From what I saw that evening, there were numerous people who questioned the same thing. On another night, we had dinner in the pub which was basic, pretty cheap and nice.

The gym facilities which I used were excellent.

Other than the problem I had with the bar staff, the rest of the staff were very friendly and courteous. We did ask for a bulb to be replaced in the room on numerous occasions and it was not done.

To be perfectly honest, overall I did not enjoy the stay. The heat in the rooms was the main problem. It is not somewhere where I would go back. I can understand how it seems to be pretty popular, but it was not for me.

Room Tip: Try and get one with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneijder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel is ok,just ok.stayed there recently and found it a bit grubby.room had a big web string from ceiling light hanging over the tv.the rooms were a bit grubby too.also for a 4* hotel i would expect more than just 5 or 6 tv channels in the room and were only poxy rte and tg4 and the likes.

the staff were really nice and friendly il give them that.one bar man took well over 5 minutes to make a cocktail though.another thing was i was watching the football on the big screen and "check air filter" kept coming up and staying on the screen so i couldnt actually watch the match and i said it to different staff members as it was very frustrating and nobody knew what to do or how to fix it they basically said yeah that happens your going to have to just wait til it goes itself.on food now,

the food was ok,the breakfast was really nice but again the tables and cutlery were grubby and sticky.the sunday roast was nice too but the bar food wasnt great,the panini was the first panini ive ever had that was cold!

the bar was full of older clientele and a country music vibe but the local pubs were good.

the swimming pool had a big scaffolding tower around the edge doing maintainence so didnt even bother going in as it just looked like a kip.overall its ok,not 4* ive seen better kept premier inns but the staff were very nice,overstaffed too i might add!

p.s it seems you can get 2 nights b and b for 99euro all year if you just walk in and get the card over at the info desk with all the leaflets

Room Tip: away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mister i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

i attended a function here in mc william park hotel on 25th jan 2013, and i thoroughly enjoyed the experience, lovely clean hotel, the night was very well organised and i look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

stayed at this hotel on a special meal and overnight stay. great for the price, bar staff and reception staff were very friendly and efficient. One problem we had was, after ordering breakfast we were left 20 minutes for it to arrive, had to remind the staff as people who ordered after us were already served, when it did arrive the scrambled egg was soggy in the middle and dry on the outside, the bacon was also dry as if left under a heat lamp. suggest they return to buffet style self service....room was clean and linen was fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whwhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our family (couple and 3 children - young teenagers) just spent last weekend in the Mc William Park hotel. We really enjoyed every bit of the stay.
The children loved the pool, and they couldnt believe the breakfast - said they never ate as much and so enjoyed the range of food. We ate dinner in the bar and found it extremely good and great value too.
But one thing in particular really impressed me.........we had coffee in the lounge on Sunday morning and the fine young man behind the bar heated up the cups before making the coffee!!!!
What service!
We chose the hotel because of the country music dances and we had a ball dancing the night away.
Well done to all the staff and management. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamlynGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here for one night with hubbie, 2 kids and my Mum. Having to pay for towels in the leisure centre is something that I have not encountered in any hotel before. The changing rooms needed a clean. Also some shower gel/shampoo in the leisure centre showers would not go amiss!
Thought bar food was over priced, and we even got charged for a bowl of krispies for my three year old! The breakfast was quite good and was probably the highlight of our stay. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Would not be in a rush back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayoBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.5 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Property: McWilliam Park Hotel
Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing