We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 adults 3 kids. Hotel was full huge crowds -there was bingo and live band. Food was grand we ate in bar nothing special but nice. Staff very good. Read fast was fine buffet breakfast was better than hot breakfast. We were happy here N staff good. I would not stay here for a romantic break more so family and group events.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for McWilliam Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Looks fairly nice from the outside and on first impressions. There are some very nice features of this hotel. The staff are very friendly, courteous and semi good service. The pool area is good with a nice sauna, steam room and jacuzzi area. The bar area is really lovely with a good atmosphere, nice homely furnishings and a brilliant ambience about the place. The restaurant food is OK but certainly nothing special. Very very busy hotel which can be very noisy at times. There was a wedding on the Friday and the Saturday. Social dancing and an Irish entertainer Bank Holiday Monday. This is all very well and good but if you want a good night's sleep it is virtually impossible. It is extremely noisy and people were racing up and down the corridors of the bedrooms having normal conversations at 4.30 in the morning. Another major problem we found is that smoking is allowed immediately outside the front doors, which most of the time are left wide open for smoke to waft in the large reception area. The bedrooms are off a gallery landing from the reception area. We found the fire doors were left open and the smoke then just permeates the building. I actually found it quite unacceptable and would actually make me consider hard whether I would return. Lots of children running around doing whatever they liked whilst their parents carried out doing whatever and ignoring their kids. I maybe running this hotel down but it is certainly the best there is in Claremorris and as I said there were some really nice parts about the hotel. It felt a little more like a holiday camp than an hotel. I'm not against kids going on holiday or being in hotels but please parents, make them behave with a little decorum. I can't say enough how friendly the staff are and how eager they are to please and it is not put on to make a good tip - it really is genuine and the Irish are such naturals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the farthest end of the hotel to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a lovely hotel, the restaurant also great in the Hotel. The bathtub was a bit high for me, but it was a great hotel. It had a homey atmosphere. The entire staff was helpful, professional and cheerful.

Room Tip: I was on a tour and chose a private room. It was perfect for me. Our Lady of Knock shrine was nearb...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank epson674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend this restaurant. This was our second time here service excellent and good variety on menu.
We felt that it would have been nice if the lounge area of the bar was opened fully afterwards as there was some really good music by bar was full and we ended up seated in the hotel foyer!
We didn't stay but met a few guests who spoke highly of the accommodation and would recommend it - maybe will stay another time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SheilaD215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to find, just off the N17.

Though I had booked a single room, my room had a double, a single and a fold up bed!

Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was fine too. Found all staff to be very attentive. Well done to Paddy Byrne who kept the bar going with music on the night.

I had a few issues and did mention them on the way out: shower didn't give hot water which may have just been peak time. the hotel room doors locks were slightly contrary and finally there was a wedding on so there was muffled sound of music that night, but wasn't enough to disrupt my sleep.

Overall, a rock solid venue. Claremorris isn't the most happening of locations so I wouldn't advise more than two nights there! But that's not the hotels fault.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have family in the area and passed many times when visiting, so at last booked. I would definitely recommend for family break, great kids club, good food, music in the bar to suit all & nice pool and very friendly & helpful staff. Didn't get to eat in restaurant as fully booked. Will definitely be going back.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a meal here this week and it was beautiful, there were four of us and we all loved what we ordered. The staff were brilliant in every way. The hotel has loads of free parking and is in a lively setting on well kept grounds.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standered and there is no traffic noise. Most of the guests seem to be atten...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
112 reviews
23.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
972 reviews
23.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: £58 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing