We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Cozy”
Review of Dalton Inn Hotel

Dalton Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalton Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed for a 4 night long weekend end of November. Close to everything in town, friendly all Irish staff and good food. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was a bit cold and the pillows were like rocks. Apart from that we would stay again.

Room Tip: No lifts to the rooms, so don't bring heavy luggage you can't carry upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolbrookeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights mid November - great lunchtime Carvery and an excellent evening meal in the dining room. Accomodation, in a room which had been recently upgraded, was very comfortable. The stay was memorable because of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed in the Dalton on a few occasions in the past so knew what to expect. A dated and frayed around the edges hotel but with good food and lovely warm friendly staff.
Unfortunately, the standard seems to have dropped since i was last there which was approx four years ago. The sandwich in the bar was very tasty though the service from a man I heard called Mick was very poor indeed. As was his service earlier in reception which was downright rude. I'm not sure what his position in the establishment is but we found every other member of staff very friendly and helpful. A refresher course in hospitality may be required ?
Breakfast was served until midday which was wonderful but the quality was terrible. This could be rectified with less microwave use and freshly cooking to order. The source of the orange juice was highly questionable and the porridge which was supposed to be made from milk or cream was definitely water based.
On the plus side it's very well located, the staff in general lovely, and the rooms not badly priced.
Return to the quality of food and service of a few years back and we'll return !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a local wedding. Was a little nervous about what I read on trip advisor. When I arrived I was greeted in true Irish style. Super friendly. Walking to room was surprised by cleanliness and decor. Room was a good standard but must agree with other reviews and say the en-suite was very small. The staff were very friendly and when I was struggling to iron my shirt just before the wedding they ran out and bought a brand new one with a second thought. Lovely bar food and breakfast. I paid €70 for to nights. That's under £30 a night. What great value.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanefreeman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Rooms big , ensuite small so small you have to step across toilet to get to shower , wash basin in bedroom , but comfortable a bit noisy at weekend , disco close by , staff friendly

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Johnrobertleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

stayed here for one night on our wat down for awedding . good enough hotel for money room ok although facing sterrt can be noisey if theres something on but we didnt mind as we had a few drinks to help us sleep anyway, good fry next morning while you wait . better than help your self as its well cooked,. all in all its cheap and cheerful and done job

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westbury21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

we have just returned from the dalton inn hotel in claremorris . there were three of us. booked 1double and1 singel room the people are very friendly and helpful the only thing i did not like was the ensuite in the rooms was very small as i am a little large .the space was only 3 foot wide by 10 foot long. with only a toilet and small shower area. the handbasin was in the bed room.since my last visit there one year ago . i did notice that a drop in general cleaness upstairs was visiable . mirrors ceilings and meeting room was messy. i think a little tlc would help a lot other than that every thing else was very good . the food was top class. staff very helpful and cheerful. we will return again .

Room Tip: rooms at the back are a little better less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.5 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
73 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
275 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in Claremorris
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalton Inn Hotel

Address: | Town Center, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: £64 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dalton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing