We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in the village”
Review of Dalton Inn Hotel

Dalton Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalton Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Centrally located in the village”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very friendly staff. Reasonably priced meals and a lively bar. Restaurant is a carvery style but good quality food. No lift to bedrooms accessed via quite steep stairs so not ideal for limited mobility. Rooms quite small and can be noisy at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Basing325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
24
25
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As locals to this region, we eat here often. Why do we keep coming back? The answer is simple: tasty food and reasonable prices. This past time, we ordered fried mushrooms and chicken wings for appetizers--and they both came with a generous side salad that had lots of veggies in it--not just your standard lettuce and a piece of tomato type salad that you normally get elsewhere! Secondly, the portions of the food are always generous, and there are just some nice little touches, like the bread board with various types of bread and yummy butter that come with dinner. The prices couldn't be more reasonable, and the wines that I've tried there are good. I have been really happy with all of my experiences eating here thus far--and that is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

this little gem, is a must for travellers to this part of ireland, very friendly staff ,clean and welcoming,but, i have to say this the food was out of this world, absolutly fabulous, it was worth the drive to the dalton for food alone, ment to ask who chef was but whoever he/them are they belong in best hotels/restaurants in the world, take note dalton ,this/ guys are the biz as far as there trade go's, an asset to any hotel[take note headhunters for chefs] anyway cant say enough good things about food, well done, staff behind bar friendly and experienced means a lot, if you are in claremorris dont pass this gem all you need in one spot, this is how a hotel should be run, excellent food, great staff, great everything, cant wait to return, congratulations

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shepster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, the room was good value for money.
I paid 85 euros for the two nights this included breakfast, which was great. Looking at the breakfast menu if you did not included breakfast in your booking it would have cost at least another 5 euros each day.

Parking is a problem between 8.30am - 6.30pm as it is metered. I was out before 8.30am so not a problem. They did offer me parking around the back at no charge, but I was told it only held 4 cars. I did like the fact that everyone in the hotel was Irish. This may sound strange but the last time I was in Ireland in a hotel in Kerry, everyone working there was from eastern Europe. That trip I took my partner, and after a long journey I wanted to hear the Irish accent.

The view from my room (24) was of a roof top, but I was not there very often. Other hotels in the area wanted at least another £20 per night. This trip was very last minute as I had to go to a funeral, that's why I was traveling alone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank will2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Used to eat here regularly 8 or 9 years ago and was always very good. It then became mediocre and we stopped going. Ate again there today. The food was very good and was great value for money. Son wanted a half portion of the curry but was told that half portions were not available off the a la carte menu. This doesn't really make sense as it would not involve cutting a dish in half - just a smaller portion. Anyway, he had to resort to the kids menu. Picked spaghetti bolognaise and was then told it wasn't available. He ended up with chicken goujons which were lovely. The waitress was very attentive without being in your face and even offered him complimentary ice cream due to his disappointment with the curry and the spag bol so full marks to her.Hubby had roast beef - great value at under a tenner and I had home made goujons, salad and wedges with fab chilli dip. Really enjoyed it. Sting in the tail was 2 glasses of coke cost a fiver.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely, comfy hotel but the restroom was a bit on the dirty side!!!! The sign of a good hotel is the cleanliness and presentation of the restrooms.. Cannot fault the staff, friendly would be a understatement

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KittyWitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We are just back from a two nights stay in the Dalton Inn, Claremorris. The staff were very friendly, the double room was spacious with good tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was average with the sausages unfortunately being sour on the first morning but the staff were quick to offer us an alternative. With no lift, carrying our luggage was a problem. The bathroom was small but adequate. There was no running hot water in the taps and the water in the shower was too hot, being difficult to regulate.

The Dalton Inn is ideally situated in the centre of town where all amenities are easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
9.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
15.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalton Inn Hotel

Property: Dalton Inn Hotel
Address: | Town Center, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dalton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing