We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Dalton Inn Hotel

Dalton Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalton Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed her for one night after visiting Knock. Half the price of the flashy hotel just outside town, twice the cosiness. We had lunch, it was my husband's birthday and as soon as they heard that they brought over another pint of Smithwicks for him and a vat-sized glass of red wine for me. We obviously needed an afternoon nap after that! Our evening meal was equally tasty. We sat playing cards in the corner and it rounded off our holiday in Ireland a treat. I would definitely recommend staying here if you go to Knock. 20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrejusFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

As always I judge hotels by what they purport to be and how well they meet it. Well this is an Irish country town hotel and a very good one at that. No it isn't the Marriot and so yes (reading other reviews) the steps to the bedrooms are steep and the bathrooms are almost comically small. The public areas and the bar were neat and tidy and the bedroom small, clean and plain. The bed was extremely comfortable. I had my supper in the bar, and for 5 euros had the chowder which was by a country mile the best I have ever had. Stuffed with fish (and flavour) and very fresh. Breakfast was cooked individually and agreeably old fashioned. The staff were all very friendly. The overall price for dinner, bed breakfast and beers came to 61euros. Can't believe there is anywhere would give better value than that anywhere in Europe

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I understand the hotel wasn't build yesterday... However a dirty room is just not exceptable and when I spoke to the man at reception he just shrugged his shoulders and said ill chat to house keeping...... We didn't stay.....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abcdefghijklmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for the weekend recently as it was much cheaper than the McWilliam Park. Our corner room had charm and two windows with good views over the streets of Claremorris. Day to day cleanliness was generally good but the place could do with a deep clean, a refurb and a visit from a professional window cleaner. Comfortable bed, hairdryer in room along with kettle and a decent range of teas and coffees. The information folder for guests has been put together with a lot of thought.

Now, Claremorris has a lively nightlife. Sleeping with the windows open (as you have to in the heat of the Irish summer... the hotel do provide a fan) even the deepest of sleepers may find themselves woken frequently... music, merriment, shouting, fighting, Gardaí attendance...

Breakfast gets going on time and early and was very good. It's €7.50 for the full Irish which isn't huge but is good quality with fresh coffee or a pot of tea. Service at breakfast was excellent.

If you've not been to Claremorris before it's great - I hope you love it - be sure to check out PJ Byrne's the grocer and stop for a pint in the bar out the back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClairkeithTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very friendly staff. Reasonably priced meals and a lively bar. Restaurant is a carvery style but good quality food. No lift to bedrooms accessed via quite steep stairs so not ideal for limited mobility. Rooms quite small and can be noisy at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the back might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Basing325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As locals to this region, we eat here often. Why do we keep coming back? The answer is simple: tasty food and reasonable prices. This past time, we ordered fried mushrooms and chicken wings for appetizers--and they both came with a generous side salad that had lots of veggies in it--not just your standard lettuce and a piece of tomato type salad that you normally get elsewhere! Secondly, the portions of the food are always generous, and there are just some nice little touches, like the bread board with various types of bread and yummy butter that come with dinner. The prices couldn't be more reasonable, and the wines that I've tried there are good. I have been really happy with all of my experiences eating here thus far--and that is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

this little gem, is a must for travellers to this part of ireland, very friendly staff ,clean and welcoming,but, i have to say this the food was out of this world, absolutly fabulous, it was worth the drive to the dalton for food alone, ment to ask who chef was but whoever he/them are they belong in best hotels/restaurants in the world, take note dalton ,this/ guys are the biz as far as there trade go's, an asset to any hotel[take note headhunters for chefs] anyway cant say enough good things about food, well done, staff behind bar friendly and experienced means a lot, if you are in claremorris dont pass this gem all you need in one spot, this is how a hotel should be run, excellent food, great staff, great everything, cant wait to return, congratulations

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank shepster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.5 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
71 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
167 reviews
9.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 7 in Claremorris
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalton Inn Hotel

Address: | Town Center, Claremorris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: £65 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dalton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing