We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #1 of 1 Combe Hay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have been considering going to The Wheatsheaf for quite some time, and when we did we were not disappointed.

There are only 3 rooms in an old cow shed and the one we stayed in was really lovely. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home and the quality of the finish was very good. The amenities in the room were high quality with real coffee (and instant if preferred) and White Stuff cosmetics - all the small details had been considered.

We also ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious,with an impressive wine list to accompany it.

The owners were very friendly (as are their dogs) and we are already planning our next trip back with friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayley162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    31
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
70
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Wheatsheaf is a truly wonderful pub, set in a beautiful location, with great hosts who do all they can to look after their guests. We had Sunday lunch, and it is possibly the best Sunday lunch we have had in a long time. Beautifully served and really good quality beef.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had dinner in the restaurant. The room was cosy and well equipped - decent teas, nice biscuits, fresh coffee etc.
Dinner was very good - gastro pub quality and the wine list is quite extensive. The place was packed - and given Combe Hay is a little off the beaten track, this says a lot about the place.
Breakfast was excellent - full English - but there's other choices too.
The family that run the pub are extremely welcoming. As are their dogs.
We stayed en route to Bath - it's a 15 mins drive - and I would strongly recommend the Wheatsheaf to anyone looking for something "out of town".

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GPP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I love the Wheatsheaf. Lovely food in a beautiful setting. Fabulous garden with amazing country views, so tranquil. The pub has a relaxed atmosphere which combines people stopping by after country walks with muddy wellies, to people having romantice dinners for two. Children and dogs are welcome (there is a resident dog or two), and even when they're busy the service and food has always been consistently good. It does good quality but not pretentious restaurant food, with gastro pub prices. Definitely worth booking though, as is always packed. They do have rooms but I've never stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited the Wheatsheaf for a family get together - 21 of us from London, Devon and Bath/Bristol ranging in age from 83 to 1. Everyone said how much they enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the delicious food and the situation, in the middle of the countryside. Special meals were produced for less discerning children, but the adults all enjoyed superb lemon sole, pork belly, steak and other delicacies. The treacle tart was exceptional. The team couldn't have been more helpful and calm. I would definitely jump at the change to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulton, Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have visited the Wheatsheaf to eat on several occasions, with family and friends. Our daughter has Celiac disease, so she needs to have trust in who prepares her food.
We have always had wonderful food and the staff are always willing to go the extra mile in helping our daughter choose dishes which are gluten free, or that they can adapt for her.
We also have eaten at the Pony and Trap at Chew Magna (which has a Michelin star), and I can honestly say both restaurants are equally excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath_vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been here several times and love it. This visit was exceptionally good. We thought it the best meal since we went to The Fat Duck, Bray, 6 months ago. The atmosphere is relaxed and I love the Pub dogs padding softly over to our table to say hello and look at us with appealing eyes, no scraps to give them I am afraid it was just too good to give away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Hay
2.8 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#27 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf

Property: The Wheatsheaf
Address: Combe Hay BA2 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Combe Hay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Hay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatsheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Combe Hay
Wheatsheaf Combe Hay
Wheatsheaf Hotel Combe Hay
The Wheatsheaf Combe Hay, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing