We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westwind Inn
Nearby Hotels
Burleigh Falls Inn(Burleigh Falls)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Peterborough(Peterborough)
US$76
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robyn's Motel(Peterborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Side Motel(Peterborough)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Carriage Inn Motel(Peterborough)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
120
62
24
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
62
24
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomhot tubget awaypaddle boatslong weekendsteakbuckhorn lakehydro bikescottage feelcross country skiingcottage countrywater bikesview of the lakefrench toastrelaxing getawaywonderful weekendwest wind
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in the Chalet at Westwind Inn. The room was gorgeous, and we felt at home and relaxed right away. The resort is situated right on the lake on a picturesque and very well kept property. The staff was phenomenal and were always quite eager to assist us and ensure that we were enjoying our stay. The "Tree Top Restaurant" had a lovely view and our meals were delicious. All in all, we were very pleased and will definitely book again next year!!

Room Tip: Chalet is a must. We loved Suite 36
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely & kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we had a great stay the staff was very professional and the food was great! if you want to get away for a couple of days this is the place but more geared towards adults it was quiet when we were there but a great area lots to see and do if you like driving.it was like having your own cottage without the work middle of the week is a good time to book .spend the extra money and book a chalet room its nice and private with a great balcony overlooking the lake. thanks for the great memory.greg crump

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I couldn't have said it better myself! LOL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For several years I looked somewhat longingly at this location, but always felt it was more than we could afford. However,a gift of money from our children made it possible last fall. We were impressed with the beauty of the area and the meals were spectacular. Unfortunately, a number of little things left us with a less than favourable,warm impression.

On arrival,we (seniors) struggled up the steep outside steps with our suitcases...we had not been told by reception of the easy access at the other end of the building (we learned of it on departure)..The rooms were not equipped with coffee makers (no coffee available in the lobby); we were given tea bags, instant coffee and a tea kettle,..in a resort changing over $300 a night! We were also provided with only two drinking glasses and thin towels.Motels we stay at travelling throughout the year are better equipped.The guest booklet mentioned some interesting things: don't get into difficulty while boating on the water as we will charge you an extra $50 to help you out (not too friendly,as I see it). Also, the resort fee in the neighbourhood of 7 to 10% percent is stated as allowing the management to keep their staff all year round (is this the responsibility of guests?) and provides for,among other things, "the double hammock and maintenance of trails." (these items sound fairly basic to me).

So,my bottom line would be that some improvements are needed in the tone of communications and in the amenities that guests surely "deserve" ....and have paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CRM340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review and suggestions. I am so sorry you felt you were inconvenienced.



We are wheelchair accessible and have a drive to side entrance up a slight grade where you may park and take in your luggage without stairs. Most guests use this entrance on arrival. We are also happy to carry your luggage as well.



We have a common guest living room lounge on the second floor with sofas, chairs and tables where you may relax and make fresh pots of coffee and tea with cream and milk provided in a guest fridge all times. A nice place to relax with view of lake. Note the nice reference to this feature in the review below.

I am pleased the staff brought a kettle and supplies especially for you. A bottomless cup of coffee or tea is included with meals.



Yes 2 room glasses provided for 2 guests. These and towels you don't wish to reuse are replaced by our housekeepers daily. More provided if required.



Keep in mind that your charges included a lovely spectacular dinner for two and a full hot country breakfast for 2, guest room, full use al all resort facilities, Resort Fee & taxes.



A Resort Fee or Service Charge is common practice at resorts, country inns, lodges. We provide and maintain canoes, kayaks, pedal boats, water bikes, sailboat, rowboats, golf putting green, driving net, swimming pool, hot tub, skating rink, snow shoes, skates, x- skis, trails. Bonfire pit.



Re $50 water craft retrieval charge: We suggest “always boat into the wind with difficulty and return with ease otherwise it will be difficult to row, paddle or pedal back. $50 is not to “help” you out but to retrieve an abandoned boat or rescue a boater who has not heeded our cautions and cannot return on his own. It is rarely charged. Last time was when we observed two water bikes pedaling down the lake and only one returning. She walked back and abandoned the bike... It took us hours to find it in the dark along with the help of her companion who tried to show us the way. Water bike replacement cost $2500.



Again we are sorry your experience was not a complete success and thank you for your suggestions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here for a small conference. We stayed in the main building on the second floor in a room with a balcony overlooking the beach area. Our king bed was comfy (actually 2 twins put together to make up a king), although I would have preferred down pillows and a duvet to the puffy patchwork quilt and matching pillow shams.

The resort is family owned and operated. The grounds are nice with many flower gardens throughout. There are plenty of quiet places to go off to read a book and a number of benches scattered along the boardwalk that overlooks the shoreline and the lake.

Our room was quite "rustic" in appearance, but comfortable, similar to visiting an old family cottage. The room and resort had a bit of a 70's feel to it with lots of wood, a thin carpet, an old tv (who cares, you're not there to watch tv), a small gas fireplace (which we never used) and a bathroom that although clean, lacked water pressure and while showering, the water would suddenly go from cold to scalding and back again.

Although there is apparently wireless internet available throughout the resort, however, we were unable to access it from our room so instead we brought our laptop out to the computer table in the hallway and accessed it from there.

Our room had a window air conditioner which we did not end up needing as we slept with the sliding patio door open & just the screen door. Someone near us though had their a/c on and it was so loud, we had to close the patio door.

The staff were friendly and the place over all was charming. There are a number of water "toys" available for guests' use, including big water "bikes" and canoes. As part of our convention, the owner brought us out on the lake for a boat ride which was enjoyed by all.

The shoreline of the beach was quite weedy but there are docks everywhere and it was so nice jumping from the dock into the lake for a swim.

There is a large outdoor patio for dining and a very large indoor dining room. I have to say I was very impressed with the food, especially the dinners each night. Excellent! I also appreciated the self serve coffee/tea station at the top of the landing on our floor just outside a large meeting room; it was so nice to be able to make a cup of tea no matter what time of day or night it was.

There was an outdoor pool at the back of the property and a hot tub on the deck of the main building, neither of which we used.

This is a nice size property that is perfectly suitable to groups such as ours for a small convention and for say families gathering for a wedding or family reunion. During the day, there are plenty of chairs and loungers for use at the small beach and at night, a great big bonfire to gather around.

Although there is no spa on site, staff can bring in service providers to the resort, although this service was unavailable during our stay.

This is by no means a fancy spot but it is certainly clean, comfortable and a great place to stay right on the lake with good food and friendly service, plus it's casual rustic cottage style means no dress up is required.

If I had the opportunity, I would definitely return. If you have found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking below.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate it and hope you come and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed as a couple and really enjoyed our visit here. The location is lovely and the staff are great.

The property is nice and goes for a classic rustic, olde world vibe, with plenty of wood, pictures and books. The site has a lot of space, fitting in a beach, pier, trail, putting green, pool.

The restaurant has scenic views over the lake and a talented, accommodating and charming chef.

This isn't the cheapest place on earth but, having said that, the 'headline price' would be lower if they charged for the all the included items separately. It was relaxing enjoying the wi-fi, the hydro-bikes, the hot-tub, breakfast and dinner without considering item charges.

We particularly enjoyed travelling off on the lake on the hydro-bikes which cover a surprising amount of water in no time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyebradstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and took the time to tell tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews