We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful location, but a few hitches....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanark
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at Clyde Hall as part of a large wedding party group. Our group booked (and filled) every room in the B&B. The location is absolutely stunning. The hall is beautiful, the rooms are very well appointed and the attention to detail in the rebuild/restoration of this house is extremely impressive.

The hosts/owners clearly love Clyde Hall, and this really does show through.

The breakfast on the first day we were there was just beautiful - the food was masterfully prepared and delicious and served in an exquisite setting. Breakfast on the second morning was more casual, a continental breakfast served buffet-style.

With all of the positives, however, would not stay here again.

1. The walls (on the upper floor at least) are absolutely paper-thin. And if you are staying on the upper floor, there are three bedrooms that share one single bathroom (i.e., if someone is showering, no one can pee or brush their teeth). We were all one big group, so it wasn't a big deal to keep the door open. But I would not feel comfortable otherwise sharing a bathroom with up to six people. The suites would be okay, but I have to say I found it a bit expensive to pay $110/night and have zero privacy (in terms of sound proofing) for the non-suite rooms.

2. This is the thing that made me SO irate. We were staying at Clyde Hall for my brother's wedding. The wedding party had booked EVERY room in the B&B for two nights. And yet, when the photographer arrived to take getting ready photos (of the wedding party, who were all staying at the B&B), we were informed that there was a $100 fee to take photos.

I found this shocking and appalling. It's not as though a large crowd of extra people came to the B&B for phtos; aside from the bride's mother and father, everyone in the photos was staying at Clyde Hall. There was no extra effort or outlay on the part of the owners to accommodate the photos. I just found it such bad business practice to charge to take photos, and THEN, the next morning as we were checking out, the owner had the nerve to ask the bride if the bride would send some digital photos to the B&B. Not freaking likely. Or maybe, for $100.

In the grand scheme of a wedding, it's not a crazy amount of money, but to pull that on the day of a wedding, when we had already rented out the entire property for 2 nights....it just struck me as tacky and disappointing.

Anyway, for that reason alone, no one who stayed there that weekend will ever go back. It IS a beautiful location, but that small action left such a bad taste in everyone's mouth that it really cast a pall over our entire stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ottawagal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

We visited Clyde Hall for a private party, and we were just overwhelmed by the gracious hospitality, the beautiful period decor and the delightful food.

The owners spared no effort to make sure all the details were perfect, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loriinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Wow, this place is freshly renovated. The owners are the nicest people in the world. Place is spotless, the food is awesome, the view is breathtaking, the service is excellent.

The only thing I would recommend is when you get your room, ask for a key if you are going to be coming back late.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast in late June for a wedding. The grounds and the building are both stunning. The owners take great care in their surroundings and make you feel welcome upon arrival.
We stayed in the "Yellow Room" on the top floor which was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the shared bathroom on that floor was HUGE! Every room in the house was booked with family members that weekend so we were able to peek at all the room. The rooms on the second floor were beautiful, and they had their own huge bathrooms. The "Red" and "Blue" rooms on the third floor were also very nicely decorated.

The rest of the house is also gorgeous - the dining area, living room, and kitchen were all very elegant and yet comfortable at the same time. An added bonus was the pool and hot tub located just outside the grounds.

If you're looking for a bed and breakfast get away then I recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
18.4 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
18.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#5 of 5 in Perth
71 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tay Inn
Tay Inn
#2 of 5 in Perth
80 reviews
9.4 mi away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 131 Mill St., Lanark, Ontario K0G 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lanark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range: £90 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic B&B c. 1840. Elegant, historic and quiet. Situated on the 3rd hole of Timber Run Golf Club and along the Clyde River. 10 min drive to Perth and 55 min west of Ottawa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing