We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calcione Castle and Country
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucignano
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Two friends and I stayed at the villa for a weekend retreat. We did the cooking for the 16 ladies who attended the retreat. The villa and grounds were PERFECT. We could not have asked for better. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrylynn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Calcione Castle and Country
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had to plan an event for 17 people and they had a great time of relaxing in a spectacular location. Warm hospitality in a the breathtaking Tuscan countryside would be the best way to describe the event.

Room Tip: We booked the whole villa and each room having a priavte bath was amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed a week with friends in Casa del Noce in late September, 2012 while on a 5 week European vacation. It was one of our favorite accommodations on our "wine along the Mediterranean trip". The apartment was near the castle and on the second floor with a balcony facing olive groves and spectacular sunsets. It had 2 spacious bedrooms and 2 baths with a kitchen, dining room and living room and despite it's rustic exterior, had all the conveniences including dishwasher, washing machine, stove, fridge and microwave. The apartment is also WiFi enabled. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Several historic towns nearby including Lucignano, Monte san Savino and Sinalunga with wonderful restaurants and shopping. We drove to most surrounding towns but the train is close and you can travel to Florence within a hour and a half. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The second floor in Casa del Noce has best views... it sleeps 4. Other apartments and houses are ava...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We first came to Il Calcione two years ago. The two of us came for a week which we decided then was just not enough. La Casetta, the property for two where we've always stayed, is the perfect antidote to stressful city living: amidst verdant rolling countryside with a view of a beautiful lake, with only the sounds of birds and cicadas - or sometimes the horses - this is nature at its most restorative and relaxing. The photos of an earlier guest show what La Casetta is like: believe them. There is everything here you need, set out with understated taste, perfectly in keeping with a rural idyll, as I wrote in my first review two years ago. If any more proof were needed of La Casetta's charms, we came again last year (in late July and early August) for a fortnight and again for the same this year. It's still not enough. La Casetta is part of the ground floor of what was once an outbuilding of the Calcione castle: there is more accommodation above and to the side, but every part is cleverly and discretely separated from the others to ensure privacy (you don't realise how clever until you start thinking about it, as it all looks so natural and organic, as if it's always been like this). The estate is run by a friendly, helpful but discrete family who have owned it for (literally) centuries, so even if you are in the middle of the countryside you needn't feel the panic that there is no-one around to help if you really need it.
Besides lounging about by the pool (or swimming in the magical and secluded lake of the estate, about 20 minutes walk down a wooded lane) or reading on the terrace (where you feel like an audience member in an ever-changing theatre of nature), there is plenty of walking to do in the vicinity: we like to start out very early for then we have the best chance of catching sight of the larger wildlife (hares, wild boar, deer); we also avoid the heat of the afternoon. La Casetta's terrace is perfect for evening meals, breakfasts and lunches, but when it gets too hot in the late afternoon, inside remains deliciously cool: perfect for a siesta.
At the same time as providing the delights of rural isolation - not least the pure and limpid air, the silence and low levels of light-pollution at night - drives to a whole series of fascinating and beautiful little cities are very easy and take an hour at most. The nearest, Lucignano, retains a special place in our hearts - almost no tourists, charming architecturally, friendly in general plus *superb* restaurants - and it's only a 15-minute drive away down traffic-free roads. This year we discovered Cortona and Montalcino and returned several times to Pienza and Montepulciano. In all four cases there's a shopping alert - or credit-card warning - required. The guidebooks tell you about the great art and architecture and the fabulous wine and cheese - all true - but they don't tell you about the bronzes (Cortona) or the leather (Montepulciano) or the gorgeous hand-woven fabrics and made-to-measure outfits created by artists with serious skill and real flair (Pienza, but esp. Montalcino). Talking with the artists and craftspeople has been one of the great new delights of this second return to Calcione.
In short, Calcione is an exceptional centre from which to enjoy a civil and civilised escape to the country that offers everything one could want. Will we be back? I suspect we shall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewking2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Il Calcione's "La Casetta " was the perfect place for us. Overlooking the Tuscan hills and the huge olive groves, we often sat on the peaceful patio, enjoying the breezes and the amazing local wines. Yes, we did day trips to Sienna, Cortona, Montepulciano, and a longer trip to Florence; but our quiet bit of country with access to the lovely pool and the castle gardens felt like home.
Our hosts were gracious and helpful and spoke perfect English. When they weren't available the caretaker and I enjoyed conversing in Italian or Spanish. The nearest towns of Lucignano and Monte San Salvino were charming and not at all touristy, a real Italian experience. Friendly people, delicious food, amazing history - a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We - three adults and two teenagers - spent a perfect week in Calcione in early July. The weather was hot but the house was cool, and there was a pool and beautiful lake for swimming. Olivella and her family were lovely hosts, offering both friendliness and privacy. The location is excellent, just 1.5 hours drive from Florence (one tip: get a GPS, as many of the roads are not marked on the maps!). We did day trips to Sienna and Montelpulciano, both gorgeous, and spent time in the local towns of Lucignano and Monte San Savino - Monte San Savino is particularly "authentic" and virtually tourist-free. We hope to go back again one day!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I had promised each other some time in Tuscany to celebrate our fifty years of marriage. Via the internet we found Calcione which was perfect for our two week stay in Casa dei Lecci. We loved the view from our huge terrace where we ate meals and relaxed. The peacefulness of the estate, the long walks exploring the grounds, the friendliness of Olivella's parents, the privacy afforded visitors yet the convenience of internet access at the castle....all helped make our stay most enjoyable. The helpful book of information put together by Olivella led us on many adventures to nearby villages, restaurants, enotecas, and museums. Early morning swims in one of our "private" pools were wonderfully refreshing as we watched the swifts darting about with the horses neighing in the distance. We hope to return one day with our whole family.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joyce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucignano
5.4 mi away
I Girasoli
I Girasoli
#1 of 2 in Lucignano
36 reviews
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Asciano
98 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
#3 of 11 in Lucignano
130 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Casalta
La Casalta
#9 of 10 in Lucignano
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcione Castle and Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcione Castle and Country

Address: Il Calcione | Localita Calcione 101, 52046 Lucignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Lucignano
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucignano
Price Range: £71 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcione is a family-owned estate set in the hills of the Val di Chiana, one of the most beautiful areas in Tuscany. We have several villas, country houses and apartments (self-catering rentals), available from March to November, that provide a starting point for a memorable vacation in Tuscany. The spacious and comfortable interiors combine the welcoming atmosphere of antique furniture with all modern conveniences. Unspoilt countryside, swimming pools, two large lakes and a tennis court provide an ideal setting for a memorable holiday. Whether you come in search of art (within a radius of just 100 miles of Calcione, lies 20 percent of the world's greatest art treasures), to celebrate a special anniversary, or simply to enjoy a relaxing and special vacation, you'll find what you're looking for. From the day of your arrival, one of our English-speaking collaborators will be available to answer any questions and make you feel at home. Tuscany's charm is has been widely publicized. We believe Calcione is a special place, where the many pleasant and enjoyable aspects of Tuscany can be appreciated at their best. Il Calcione produces, organically, an outstanding olive oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Calcione Castle and Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcione Country And Castle Lucignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing