We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Torricella
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Poppi
Certificate of Excellence
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Level Contributor
276 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you can, book the rooms that offer a nice view on the castle. Waking up won't be a problem anymore ! The rooms are clean, without excessive decoration. The shower in my room had a defective window, but still, taking a shower was easy and pleasant.
The breakfast could be a bit better, in terms of quality and assortment. But still, a good place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    68
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
67
2
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed near Poppi 5 years ago on our honeymoon and ate several meals at Hotel La Torricella. We were passing through the area on our way to Venice and this time decided to stay one night in the hotel. The deluxe room was clean, spacious and had a beautiful view of the castle. Although it was too cold to eat on the patio, we enjoyed a delicious, leisurely dinner, with wine, after-dinner drinks...the whole deal. The entire price, including our room and breakfast, was only 120 euro! What a deal! Highly recommended. Casentino is a very underrated part of Tuscany. We love it!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bbperegrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a pleasant stay. The room was a standard room, nothing special, but ok. Dinner was the way Italians have their dinner: great taste, good wine and take your time. The hotel is popular with the local sales rep's: many diners were alone. Poppi is a very nice little town with an interesting castle. We had planned to also have a round of golf, but the rain did not make that possible. The course looked nice. All in all "good" , but not "excellent" as other reviewers wrote.

Room Tip: try to get a comfort room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

About 5 years ago we had lunch one day here based on a suggestion from a local friend. The food was good, the view across the small valley to Poppi on the hill was excellent and I made a mental note that when in the area again we might stay in one of their rooms.

When I began my planning I was pleased to note that they had added a new building with 8 additional rooms. While more expensive, they are really quite fabulous for a country inn. We had a king/queen bed, a table and chairs, two futon chair/beds, a huge bathroom with shower only and two french doors opening to a full view of Poppi---Room 107. Our price was 90E. I had to telephone them for the reservation as the on line sites claimed no rooms available--not true.

Te included breakfast is very good, including croissants, cakes, jams, cereals, but no proteins. Yogurts were provided along with freshly made coffees, teas etc.

Dinners were excellent and the dining room was almost always full of regulars from the community and residents.

we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: actually located in the suburb of ponte di poppi--- foot of the hill from poppi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The hotel is just outside Poppi with views over to the old town and castle. Although it's not easily walkable into the town, we had a good meal at the restaurant (ask for the E15 set menu that is possibly only available to hotel guests).

Although we had paid for a standard (comfort) room we were given a superior room as the hotel was quiet; this was across the front courtyard and was a comfortable modern room with views of the old town (at least in April when there were no leaves on the trees).

Breakfast was a good selection of bread, cakes, fresh fruit salad and yogurt.

The only negatives were that there is some noise from trains (the line runs between the hotel and the town) although I don't think that would be a problem in the main building; and there is air con so you wouldn't need the windows open in summer. Also the wall between the rooms was a bit thin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We picked Poppi as just a stopover on the way through Tuscany. La Torricella looked good on the websites, but when we arrived, the place was fabulous. Although modern, it has maintained the Tuscan feel and the staff there were so friendky and welcoming,
Our room was spacious and immuculately clean. We also dined at the restaurant that night and it was one of the best meals of our 3 month trip and represented great value for money.
Our single regret...we only booked for one night instead of a week. We will go back there,

Room Tip: It is a little way out of town, up in the hills. Therefore, a car is necessary, Make the effort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I'd not read any reviews of La Torricella before as my husband uses this hotel when on business and I simply travelled with him on this occasion. However I'm pleased to see the wealth of good reviews for this lovely hotel in the Tuscan countryside. La Torricella has a very good restaurant which is enjoyed by the locals, which is always a good sign. The hotel is on the far side of Ponte Poppi (Bridge to Poppi) which is an area that is not well travelled by tourists. The hotel is charming and comfortable and the superior rooms especially are attractively appointed and in the main a very good size. The majority have a fabulous directly over to the medieval town of Poppi which is really worth a visit in order to explore the small streets, complete with tiny porticos, and especially to visit the Castle where you can enjoy a guided tour.
A great place - very much recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smh1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poppi
3.9 mi away
I Tre Baroni
I Tre Baroni
#1 of 1 in Moggiona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#3 of 4 in Poppi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.9 mi away
Albergo Falterona
Albergo Falterona
#1 of 1 in Stia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Balneum Boutique Hotel & B&B
Balneum Boutique Hotel & B&B
#2 of 12 in Bagno di Romagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Contado Country House & Spa
0.5 mi away
Albergo San Lorenzo
Albergo San Lorenzo
#2 of 6 in Poppi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Torricella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torricella

Property: Hotel La Torricella
Address: Loc. Torricella 14, 52014, Poppi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Poppi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Poppi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Torricella 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel - Restaurant la Torricella is surrounded by an area of green landscape just a stone's throw of the national park of Casentino forest, close to Poppi. The hotel, have a fantastic view of the Poppi Castle. It's a renovated old farmhouse and preserves the countryside features of the typical Tuscany farmhouse. The restaurant offers a traditional cooking with a wide range of Tuscan dishes. During the hot season is possible to enjoy breackfast, lunch or dinner in the external terrace or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Torricella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing