We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tuscany Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Poppi, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Richard B
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Tuscany Setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We traveled with a group of ten to visit Tuscany and stay at Podere La Casina. Nicolo, Gigi, Stella and Anna were a wonderful and warm welcoming family who catered to all of our needs. We asked if they could prepare a meal on our first night because we arrived late and would not have time to cook. The meal of lasagna, pork roast with roasted potatoes and torte for desert was as good as any five star restaurant, they also greeted us later in the week with a welcome basket of cured meats, cheese, bread, wine and a desert tray.
The villa was set in the hills with a view of Poppi and the surrounding Tuscan country side, visions I will never forget. The road back and fourth from the villa to Ponte a Poppi for shopping and all of our day trips was a little challenging, but after you negotiated it once or twice it was easy. The villa was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for all ten of us.
I cannot say enough about the beauty of Tuscany and Podere la Casina and would certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gigi and his family who own the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words Richard! We are very happy that all of you have had a wonderful time at La Casina! We hope that we are going to see you again one day!
Best regards from all family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Govind M
1 review
“Breathtaking views - lovely house and gardens”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Four weeks ago our party of 6 adults and a toddler stayed in La casina to spend a lovely holiday together. For a week we enjoyed the breathtaking views, the immaculate gardens with almond and peach trees, the large pool and of course the villa. There was more than enough space for everyone and it is really safe for children to run around the premises.
Gigi came round every morning to clean the pool, provide us with fresh bread and answer all our questions. He only speaks Italian, but his son speaks excellent English. This was my fifth villa holiday, and La Casina was by far the best house. It is fully equipped for 12+ people (plates, wine glasses,chairs etc, ) and there are plenty of seating areas to spend the day. A special mention to the drive to the villa: It is long and at one point a bit tricky, but you get rewarded by the view. The villa really is high on a hill and quite secluded, but if that is what you're after, this is the right place for you.
We can totally recommend La Casina and want to thank Gigi and his son for their warm welcome. Gigi - sei un angelo!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your review Govind! Hope to see you again, Ciao e grazie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg, Denmark
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thanks a lot Jesper! Hope to meet you and your family again. Arrivederci, Stella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Grazie mille! It was really nice to spend some time with you and your family, ciao!! Stella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
65Emma
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven in Tuscany”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I can assure you that I don't take it lightly when I book a vacation for my family. I was on the internet every night for two weeks and looked through probably almost every villa in Tuscany before I booked Podere la Casina.

Before we arrived I was in contact with the owners son, Nicoló, he speaks very good english. He met up with us in Piazza Garibaldi (it's the main square in Poppi - enter: "Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi, 52014 Poppi" in your GPS) and he led the way to the house. The house is even more beautiful than in the pictures and the view!! - it's unreal!

The house was spotless - coming from a neat freak, you can count on that part. There are five bedrooms. One on the main floor where the living room is, with queen size bed. There are three bedrooms on the second floor. Two with queen size bed each and one with king size bed (I guess) and a single bed. In the tower there is a room (no door) with two single beds. Further more there is one single bed in the bedroom hall and there is two travel crips for infants. On the second floor there are two bathrooms, each with showers. In the basement there is a huge kitchen (with a gas stove and dishwasher) one bathroom with a shower and a washroom with a washing machine. Everyone found a bed that they found comfortable. There is a lovely outdoor dining area outside of the kitchen were we had our breakfast and dinner everyday.
If you are staying more than one week you get clean sheets and towels on Saturdays. In the house there is a little information booklet about the house and the surroundings. There you can read that the water is drinkable and pure and we found it very good.

When we arrived Gigi, the owner, had left us a bread, proscuttio, salami, cheese and wine to welcome us with, which was a very welcoming gesture after a long night flight following a 3 hours drive from Rome.
The garden is a haven! So big and beautiful and there is a wonderful hammock in the corner of the garden with incredible view over Poppi. The pool is so great. Someone wrote in the reviews that the pool was 1.25 cm. But that is not right, its about 1.50 cm in depth. Its not heated but the water has the perfect temperature for sunny days. There are 10 very good sun chairs (you have to bring your own beach towels for the chairs or hire them from the owners but you get plenty of towels for indoor use). Further more there is table and chairs (and a fridge, but it seems to be broken) under a shelter by the pool, perfect for a snack in the middle of the day. The garden was spotless, Gigi comes early every morning, waters the flowers and cleans the pool. As he comes in so early we hardly ever noticed him except when he left us homemade jam one morning and other morning he brought us freshly baked buns from the bakery - a very welcoming gesture! He understands a little English but speaks only Italian. But he is so friendly, speaks Italian so clearly and with gesture so we almost always understood him (we know a little Spanish witch helps). He showed us where we could pick mushrooms and berries nearby and offered he's assistance with the pizza oven whenever we wanted. Stella, his daughter, speaks english and we where continuously connected via Facebook so I could ask her anything anytime. She was very helpful and for example ordered us a birthday cake from the bakery in Poppi, called Aloigi, for my husbands birthday. When we only had 2 days left on our stay, we got the idea to go wine tasting on a wine farm and Stella set up us with a wine farmer who offered sightseeing and wine tasting for 10 euros per person. Unfortunately they could not receive us with such a short notice but this is definitely something we want to do on our next visit and we recommend other guests to set up this visit in advance via the Tapinassi family.

The road to the house is a bit rough but fun to drive. It took us about 16-17 minutes to drive from the house to Poppi. Poppi is a small town but you can find almost anything there you need. By Piazza Garibaldi there is two great ice cream stores. On Tuesday's there is a market on the square (between 8-13) where you can buy vegetables and fruit. On the main road in Poppi (Strada Stratale Consuma) witch passes through Poppi, you can find small shops, bakery, wine shops and more. In Poppi there is at least one supermarket (Doro supermercato) but its a bit small and with limited selection and closes for siesta in the middle of the day. We found it was best to grocery shop in Coop in Bibbiena (5 km from Poppi). It's open from 9-20 and has a good selection (address:
Centro commerciale "Il Casentino" 52011 Province of Arezzo). Notice that almost every store is closed on sundays, including Coop.
There are restaurants in Poppi but we only tried one - Atlantic oil. They have great pizzas and for a good price to. We picked up 8 pizzas to go and it only costed 35 euros.

There is a wine "cellar" in the house with excellent Chianti wines you can buy for 10 euros a bottle. We found that the selection was great and the price was reasonable so we ended almost only buying those wines.
There is a internet in the house but it's rather slow and you can only connect 3-4 devices at the same time to the internet. If you try to connect more than 3-4 devices at the same time to the internet you get asked to enter password which dose not exist. We had with us a travel router from home. We went to Euronics in Bibbiena (next to Coop supermarket) and bought a 4G sim card for the router and had them install the card. We got 20GB for 29 Euros and it lasted very long (we then got a refill). It is very convenient to have such a device, you can take it with you anywhere and always be online - I very much recommend it.

The house dose not have a/c but houses in Tuscany rarely do. We had the windows open at night and as the house is on a hillside it catches the breezes in the night. In the mornings we closed the windows and kept the shutters partially closed during the day for this keeps the hot air out and the cool air in. The house has high ceilings, thick walls and stone floors and it helped to keep the house cool.
The check out time is at 9.30 am which is a bit early when you have a teens that love to sleep in on their vaccation but we made it on time.

You will not be disappointed if you book this wonderful house. As you can read in the guestbook at the villa, the same guests are returning to this house frequently and the only thing we are thinking about now is when we can return to Podere la Casina! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Dear Drofn,
Thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your photos! I can't tell you how much we enjoyed!
We hope to see you soon! You and your family will be always welcome here!

Our best wishes to all of you!!

Gigi, Anna, Nicolò and Stella


P.s. The fridge works! It's an old Smeg from 5o's! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thanks!
For us it was a pleasure to help you!

We hope to see you soon!

Our best wishes for all of you!!

Stella, Nicolò, Gigi a Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emitch201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the this villa for a week as a group of 8. Had a fantastic time. The owners were great and very welcoming. The highlight of our week was a traditional Tuscan meal they prepared for us!

The views across the valley and over Poppi are spectacular and the accomodation is very comfortable and spacious.

There's lot to do locally, and if you're looking for somewhere with the wow factor, a little off the beaten track then this is the place!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Many thanks, hope to meet you again! Ciao, Stella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing