We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ristorante L'Antica Cantina”

Ristorante L'Antica Cantina
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Poppi
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ristorante L'Antica Cantina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Tucked away this is easy to miss but definately worth finding. As you might expect the food is Tuscan but is very well prepared and all ingredients are fresh and tasty. Good selection of local and italian wines and even a small selection of 'Foreign' bottles.
Entertainment is unknowingly provided by the Faulty-esque owner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alesdair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Refuge from the heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had lunch in L'Antica Cantina with my husband and 10yr old twins after visiting Parco Zoo Poppi in the scorching heat (38 celsius in the SHADE).. As we came in exhausted and bright red in the faces, the owner rushed to turn on a fan and directed the cooling air towards our table. All through our visit the service was very attentive and friendly, although they barely spoke English. To us it wasn't a problem, since I can make myself understood with a few words of Italian. When the owner saw us explaining the menu to our kids, he came to tell us that they can also prepare any kind of pasta with simple sauces for the kids, if they can't find anything suitable straight from the menu. I had a pasta dish with tagliatelle pasta w sliced vegetables in wine sauce, which was very good. My son chose to have a simple penne pasta w tomato sauce, which was delicious even though so simple. The panna cottas were beautiful and delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orchideespontanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife, son and I had an excellent meal here during a recent stay nearby. The food was superb, with a good wine list and very attentive service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

On a solo day trip to Poppi, I was pleased to find Ristorante L'Antica Cantina tucked down a side street in the center of this scenic town. Excellent meal with very welcoming staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Footloose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante L'Antica Cantina also viewed

Poppi, Province of Arezzo
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
 
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante L'Antica Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing