We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vanessa K

Best Birthday Ever!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2023
We took this trip with friends from college and spouses to celebrate our 60th birthdays. It did not disappoint: the villa is beautiful with amazing views; our chef (full of energy and personality) makes every minute in the kitchen fun; the hikes and excursions are well planned; and the food is local, fresh and delicious. Another unexpected blessing from this experience is the friends we made with others who joined us - total strangers who now feel like family. Thank you Paola and thank you Claudia for making this trip amazing.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Have at least one car in your group; trekking to the castle at Poppi is worth it; chef works with...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review
Responded 18 Oct 2023
The Tuscookany team is proud to hear you had your best birthday ever! Sounds like you had a marvellous time and we would like to thank you kindly for sharing your experience. See you next birthday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.6 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
2.0 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
Posti incantevoli
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.2 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
OUTDOOR PAINTING/DINING/PLAY AREA
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.8 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
2.5 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • StayForLong
2.4 miles from Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Poppi
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
357
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
357
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef paola new friends the kitchen the entire staff hot tub bucket list cooking vacation at home cooking course olive oil great teacher dream come true pasta whole experience wonderful week cooking skills italian food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Had a really wonderful time staying at casa ombuto and learning about Italian cooking with Paola. The villa and accomodation was so beautiful and all the food was delicious. Classes were fun and interactive but were very rushed - I would prefer to learn fewer recipes in more detail and become more confident with specific skills rather than rushing though so many recipes. Out of the group of 12 of us, I believe a lot of us felt similarly. Really enjoyed this week and the experience overall and I would recommend it to others. Lots of mosquitoes around in September when we were there so go prepared for that.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scout2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023

Thank you kindly for your great review - We are pleased to read you found it a fun experience and even though you had mosquitoes and felt rushed you would recommend this to others. We will evaluate this and take necessary action. Happy cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023

There just aren’t enough superlatives to describe our experience at Tuscookany’s Casa Ombuto.
From the exquisite, timeless setting to the delightfully fierce Chef Paola who we now consider family; your only regret will be that you have to leave.

Room tip: You must wear closed toe shoes while cooking, so come prepared.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023

What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to write this. We were also sorry to see you leave - so you will just have to come back! Happy cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2023 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week in June at Casa Ombuto learning to cook and learning about Italian life and culture. I echo everything that has been said by others — the staff, food, wine, and accomodations were all top notch. We’ve been blessed with a lot of amazing travel experiences over the years, but our week at Casa Ombuto really stands out because we are able to apply what we learned back at home. (Our friends keep insisting that we cook for them!)

Paola is not just a talented chef, but also a talented teacher who tailored her approach to each of us individually. Perhaps the highest compliment that I can pay is that she made cooking fun and approachable. Claudia, thank you for being such a wonderful host and for ensuring that we were comfortable and having a great time. We are really looking forward to our next visit and class! THANK YOU to the whole Casa Ombuto team.

A few suggestions:
1) rent a car — Poppi is a very small village and you’ll want to be able to explore on your own
2) it is a 90 minute drive from Casa Ombuto to Florence, Montepulciano, and other areas in Tuscany — if you want to spend time in Florence, suggest going there before or after your time at Casa Ombuto
3) the hike in the national park was fantastic and I would have been happy to stay longer or go back - in hindsight I wish that we had spent our free day hiking in the mountains there
4) check out the castle in Poppi!
5) everything was very casual, pack fewer dressy clothes than you think!

Room tip: Rent a car!
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YankeeinSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

Thank you so much for this great review and so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time, I would like to also thank you for taking the time to add these very useful suggestions. Happy cooking and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tuscookany on one of our courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Friends who had been in the previous year had such a good time they recommended that we try it out. My friend & I booked the one week course.

Everything was well organized. Chef Paola was a delight; fun, creative, informative and a delight. She was surrounded by the most wonderful staff that ran the facility, served all the meals and were simply available for anything we needed.

We had such a good time. Met a wonderful group of people. We all worked well together, had lots of laughs and made new friends! I would go back in a heart beat.

My only comment would be the rooms need to be upgraded. As an example we were there in May and it was already getting hot. The rooms tended to be quit warm at night. we had small fans we could setup but what was really needed was air con or an overhead fan. The bathroom towel holder kept falling off and the door to my room had a tricky key that didn't always lock.

That said, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The staff were terrific. I learned a lot and laughed a lot.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank value_4_monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2023

So pleased to read you had such a good time and made new friends. I am sorry for the troubles with your accommodation and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have mobile air-conditioning units which you can have placed on request - I apologise if you were not made aware of this. For the rest thank you for the great review and Happy cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023

This is an experience of a lifetime! The villa has amazing views, great accommodations and nestled in the beautiful Tuscan hills!

From the moment you arrive, it just feels surreal! The entire staff is wonderful, making you feel welcome! You automatically feel like family! Many thanks to Claudia, the property manager, who took care of every detail and made our stay amazing! To the rest of the staff, you are truly wonderful ensuring all our needs were met!

Now for Chef Paola!!! ALLORA! you made the entire experience Magical! From your personality, your cooking tips, recipes and attention to many details is just what made this week amazing in itself! Your ability to rally a group of strangers and to make them feel like family is an art in itself! WOW!

The week does allow for some downtime from cooking, you can enjoy the pool, the grounds, schedule a massage, and even visit a nearby castle, not too far away! Recommend renting a car as you are in a remote location, especially if you want to explore on your free day. But once you arrive at Casa Ombuto, you don't want to leave. The excursions were fun, personable and informative!

Casa Ombuto is a gem nestled in the Tuscan hills and a must add to your bucket list!

Maria P.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tus Cookany, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2023

Dear Maria, Wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to write this and making us all proud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews