We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 2-star pension, could be a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Txiki Polit
Ranked #6 of 10 Zarautz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2011

During our Basque Country Coast trip we landed in Zarautz. Mainly because we couldn't extend our stay in San Sebastian. Because of an important soccer match (Real Sociedad - FC Barcelona) and a rowing regatta everything was "Completo".

In the tourist office we got a map with all hotels and pensions, their price class, location and those that were full. Txiki Polit was the first we visited. They only had a small room left, with common bathroom and toilets. The person at the reception suggested to take a look before deciding. The room was small but clean and there were 3 bathrooms (one with bath, 2 with shower) and one more separate toilet for 6 rooms. We took the room, with the promise that we could change to another room next day.

Only downpoint for the small room, was that it must have been close to the kitchen chimney. We could often enjoy the wonderfull smells of Basque cuisine, so we were hungry most of the time.

The rest of our stay, we stayed in a large twin-bed room on the first floor. Enough closet space, two chairs and a table. The bathroom was also big enough, with a walk-in shower. Everything was clean.

Lesser point: the room was street side and Musika square is a meeting point every night. Luckily it was not that hot, so when we closed the windows, it was quiet enough to sleep.

Most people at the reception speak English and/or French. There's free WiFi, password at the reception. We did not have connection in our first room. In the room on the first floor, no problems. on the groundfloor there is a tavern and a restaurant that are connected. You can have breakfast in the tavern, it's Basque/Spanish style. A Codfish tortilla breakfast was a little to heavy for me (normally I skip breakfast), so most of the time I had a café con leche and a tostado with marmelade.

Location: As said, on a rather vivid square in the centrum of the city. Also not to far from the beach and a few attractions like the photography museum. Also worth trying is the walk to Getaria along the coastal road. About 3 kilometres.

A last remark: We payed less than the advertised price per night, without asking for a discount. Probabely because the high season was as good as finished.

Would I stay here again? Yes. No doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank repetitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

Cons:
- Dirty. We've found ugly hairs in our bed, sheets weren't changed during out 3-day stay.
- No A/C means you cannot sleep properly during the summer months
- Noisy. The hotel has one of the busiest Taverns in the city and you hear people partying until very late.
- Expensive. We paid 75 Euros per night, for a very low-scale 2-star hotel (should be rated 1-star IMO)
- No parking. You will have to park your car a few blocks away and walk with the luggage to the hotel, there is not even access with cars to drop the luggage closer since all the streets around are closed for cars.

Pros:
- Very very central. Located in Placa de Musica which is the city's main square. 3 minutes walk from the ocean and basically across the street from any interesting thing in Zarautz.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank LAU8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zarautz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Antilla
0.2 mi away
Lagunak Pension
Lagunak Pension
#5 of 5 in Zarautz
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Olatu
Hotel Olatu
#4 of 10 in Zarautz
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
0.2 mi away
Zerupe Hotel
Zerupe Hotel
#1 of 10 in Zarautz
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Txiki Polit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Txiki Polit

Address: Orape 10, 20800 Zarautz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zarautz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Zarautz
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Txiki Polit 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Txiki Polit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing