We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base to see the Basque country.”
Review of Hotel Zarauz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zarauz
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We paid £1601 for two people for one week which included half board and trips out on 5 days. Also the srvices of a tourmanager from Paddington to the hotel and throughout the week. The hotel was well prepared and reception was quick and friendly. Rooms were absolutely spotless and the beds firm though for us were perfect. The rooms have a normal key in the door to open and lock. Bathroom had a few "goodies" such as soap and shower gel. The bath itself was just a bit bigger than a "hip bath", the shower being part of the bath wall. Hot water was always available. There was a hair dryer. Other facilities were a phone a decent TV but with no english speaking channels. Plenty of mains sockets for our kettle and chargers etc. Lighting was good and more than enough to read by. Towels were changed when placed in the bath. Beds were made everyday and we were changed twice in the week. Cleaning was of a very high standard.
Not so good was the lack of AC which could be a problem in the hotter months and opening the window raised the noise level to unacceptable levels. The walls were a little thin and some noise was heard from the rooms about us.
The sun lounge was also closed during our visit with no beds or other furniture.
The staff were first rate and seemed to be familiar enough with most languages to be able to understand you to an extent. ( I"m talking now about non reception people).
Our dinner which started at 8.30pm was of an indifferent standard but there was plenty of it and generally adequately cooked. Still cannot get used to the lack of vegetables in most Med countries for our meal. Table service in the evening.
Breakfast was an 8.00am buffet with decent tea,coffee and fruit juice. Typical continental meal but all quite nice.
Weather was cool and showery with some biting insects around.
The hotel is quite near shops, ATMs and the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Had a great trip to Zarautz and the hotel was lovely.... Great value for money, very clean, free wifi, great location and the staff were more than nice... Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is comfortable, but not what I would call cozy. There is limited parking and just a stroll down to the beach. Unfortunatley the sea side cafes only served snacks, so we ended up back at the hotel for what I would call an ordinary meal that was economical. It is only a short distance to San Sebastian, which is worthy of a "WoW" factor and very cosmipolitan and worth a visit for the wonderful views and asundry of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after touring around the Pyrenees and we was heading back to catch the ferry from Santander. The hotel was easy to find and has a car park at the back of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even went as far as to rewrite the menu for us in english. We was given a room on the 2nd floor and was very surprised when we walked in. We had 2 bedrooms and a very large bathroom. The first bedroom had 2 3/4 beds with a tv and mini bar. The 2nd room had twins beds together and also a tv. We only paid £48 for the 2 of us plus breakfast. We decided to eat at the hotel and for the grand price of 11 euros we had a 3 course meal which was very nice plus a bottle of red wine and a bottle of water. For the price we paid i was amazed by the food we got and the serivce. The hotel had a few coach parties staying but this wasnt a problem. Breakfast was very nice and again great service.
A few minutes walk away there is a fantastic beach and lots of bars along the sea front. Not a english bar in sight which was even better. This is a Spainish holiday resort and i hope it stays that way.

Room Tip: Corner bedrooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Charming hotel with a welcoming staff. Room was spacious and clean. Free wi-fi through out hotel. Breakfast buffet had numerous choices that were delicous and fresh.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrilled_2_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

2 thumbs up! This charming hotel was a great find at a great price when we needed a last-minute hotel. It looked fine online, and was even better when we arrived. It's a winding 15-minute drive west of San Sebastian. Our room was a bright during the day, dark and quiet at night, the bathroom was very clean and nice. The staff is friendly (the lobby staff spoke English), nice in-house bar, the room was sweet with beautiful view out the back, and we so appreciated the free parking and the decent (optional) breakfast with good coffee. Sorry we did not have time to check out the town too. It is also a much better price than anything we could find in nearby San Sebastian.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel offers a nice territorial view, and is probably darker and quieter than the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just stayed with my wife in the Hotel Zarauz, Zarautz as we couldn't find accommodation in San Sebastian due to a Dragon boat festival weekend ... the old town was packed with supporters enjoying the tapas, wine and cider... 15 mins drive down the motorway and you're in Zarautz easy to find hotel, 2 streets from the sea.Good size bedroom all rooms decorated the same,v pleasant staff, well stocked bar and a free car park!! and cheap in comparison with San Sebastian. Stayed for 2 days just chillin on the beach.. heaven!! the town is a surprise as it is a delight with some lovely Basque Tabernas excellent Tapas and sea food and wonderful Spanish wine all very reasonably priced in comparison to their French Basque neighbours. Would definitely like to do a more detailed trip along that northern Spanish coast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zarautz
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antilla
2.7 mi away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
0.5 mi away
Hotel Norte
Hotel Norte
#3 of 5 in Zarautz
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zarauz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarauz

Address: Nafarroa Kalea 26, 20800 Zarautz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zarautz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Price Range: £30 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zarauz 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarauz is a 3 stars hotel and it is situated in Nafarroa street number 26 in the village of Zarautz. The building was built in 1924 and the hotel Zarauz began his tourist activity form the 40s. Its situation is privileged at 13 Kilometres far from Donostia-San Sebastian and 40 Kilometres far from the airport of Hondarribia. The Hotel Zarauz has 75 rooms: 53 twins, 14 single and 8 familiar rooms. Each room has TV, Telephone, radiator, hair dresser, WI-FI free and complete bathroom. It also has Restaurant, and a Conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zarauz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarauz Hotel Zarautz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing