We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must "eat-here" restaurant”
Review of Aiten Etxe

Aiten Etxe
Ranked #17 of 76 Restaurants in Zarautz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must "eat-here" restaurant”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I spent a week in September in this part of Northern Spain with my girlfriend and family members - parents, sister+hubby - and we came to eat at this restaurant on our last day. My galpal Linda found us this restaurant which was recommended to us by our Spanish friend Ernesto (who lives here in San Francisco). My elderly father (he's over 21) and my brother-in-law Paul shared a fantastic, large dish of varied local seafood - shellfish mainly - and I was surprised to see them meet in the middle at the end - my Dad definitely ate his part - showing how fresh and tasty the food was. For me I choose a more conventional main course - a steak covered in Foie Gras - which is banned in California sadly. The steak was perfectly cooked "rare" - not easy to do as it can be stringy or chewy - and the Foie Gras was spread thickly on the steak - it looked like mash potato there was so much of it. The Foie Gras was as delightful as I was hoping for - and the dish was truly memorable - hence this review. The starters and wines were excellent, but for me over-shadowed by my main course. The restaurant was wonderfully situated on the headland overlooking the large beach of Zarautz - at a very picturesque spot. The staff was friendly, the interior classy and comfortable - but I would recommend you make the trip there for the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NickHayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    52
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice Lunch here”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

It was a hot Monday lunchtime approaching 40 degrees. We found ourselves at Zarautz, 20 min south of San Sebastian. Had a swim on the beach, then wandered up along the promenade to this quaint red and white restaurant on the hill above the harbour.
What a find! and 2 star michellin at that! Made to feel very welcome, though the restaurant was quiet,we sat out on one of the patios with great beach views. The food was lovely! White asparagus as an entree and langoustine salad for my main. Delish!!! Fresh and simple....perfect. Great service and a great lunch! A little pricey....but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sydney_0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with beach view and fantastic food”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Very good seafood and great service in this restaurant overlooking the beach in Zarautz. The Parillada de Marisco is extremely good and as a desert the souffle is a must try. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiGMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Serious Fish!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is more of a traditional Basque restaurant than many of the more high-profile restaurants in the region. But if you're in Zarautz, it's a must! Fabulous fresh seafood, simply prepared. You won't find molecular gastronomy here, but you will have an amazing meal. Order the seafood platter for 2. Lovely view. Nice town. Great beach. What more do you need?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank acmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Bonito!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Is not a long drive from San Sebastian, this restaurant is located in Zarautz, and has a really nice view of the beach. Place is simple but clean, best fish (Bonito) ever. Service #1!! Great place and not expensive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMedina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aiten Etxe also viewed

Zarautz, Province of Guipuzcoa
Zarautz, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Zarautz, Province of Guipuzcoa
Zarautz, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Aiten Etxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing