We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorably romantic! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Steinsfeld
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Adorably romantic! Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I wanted to visit Rothenburg and fortunately found this hotel. We had a car, so it was easily accessible to us. I selected an upgraded room and was placed in the top floor - room #8, I believe. The room is great.

Positives:
1.- Located within a 5 minutes drive to Rothenburg.
2.- Free parking
3.- Free wi-fi
4.- Very comfortable bed and warm comforter. Many windows allowed us to permit as much free-flowing air that we needed.
5.- A cute balcony for those cosy moments with your mate.
6.- Newly refurbished bathroom with all the modern amenities.
7.- Great breakfast included.

Negatives:
Can't think of any. I would stay there again, and again. Highly recommended.

OK, walking up the three flights of stairs may be difficult for some. There is no elevator.

Room Tip: Select the room on the top floor with the balcony. It is really romantic. I do believe it was room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAM487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    49
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
50
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Situated 10 mins outside Rothenburg's walls, in the heart of Steinsfeld. We were trying to decide which building it was when locals saw us and just pointed at the hotel. The owner is pleasant and told us about Landwehr-Brau Bauerei-Gasthof local restaurant and brewery. Eclectic German decor, great price, super cozy room, slept like a baby. You can see through the bathroom door (it's "cloudy"), so make sure you go with someone you know, or would like to get to know well ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It's a great hotel - family run - in a very quiet and small town close to Rothenburg. Excellent to visit the romantic road. The breakfast was good and fresh. The hotel is like a large old house - everything is wooden. The rooms are very clean and quite large. The bathroom was well sized as well. Obviously, if you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not the one for you but if you are looking for a romantic hotel which is clean, safe and peaceful then this is perfect. The only issue was the internet which is not reachable from the room. We will surely visit again.

Room Tip: We've had a room on the front side and it was great. The windows are double glasing and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Schwarzes Ross for 2 nights during our Bavarian vacation. We were not more than 10 minutes outside of Rothenberg and enjoyed a very nice, clean and affordable apartment. The owners were very nice, helpful and provided a tasty and varied breakfast each morning. The only drawback of our stay was the noisy biergarten across from our room that the locals enjoyed till about midnight. If you stay here and need a quiet room request one of the rooms in the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: in the summer months stay near the rear of the complex so the crowd noise at the outdoor biergarten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleBuffalo_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked at the Schwarzen Ross because we decided to go to Rothenburg on a very short notice, and it seemed that this hotel offered the best value for money.

Located some 15km outside Rothenburg in a quiet village, the Schwarzes Ross has a very beautiful romantic exterior. The architecture is lovely and old-fashioned, you can really tell that the building has been around for some 200 years. However, the public rooms and hallways could do with a very thorough clean. The very kind owner is perhaps a bit too elderly to take care of all of this himself.

Our room - according to the owner not one of the nicest - was nice enough, spacious, and clean. The walls are a bit thin, but we slept nevertheless undisturbed.

The breakfast was copious and delicious; we especially liked the eggs which were cooked to perfection.

All in all, the Schwarzes Ross is a good hotel for someone trying to travel on a budget and seems like a perfect place for families with children. Don't expect a boutique hotel, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Due to a glitch on the road, we ended up arriving late, but after calling ahead to inform the owner, we were still greeted with a warm smile and positive attitude. This hotel is more bed and breakfast style which was quite nice. A large and spacious room with comfortable bed and modernized bathroom. The timber-style German house was quirkily decorated. A free breakfast was included in the price, cooked by the owners. It was delicious! They were very gracious, serving us a large selection of teas, coffee, fruits, cereals, cold meats, cheeses and a variety of other local produce. The location of this hotel is also a bonus - just 5 minute drive to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and 45 minutes from another beautiful Romantic Road destination - Dinkelsbuhl. Overall, a delightful experience and would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babyfish657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very bare bones old country inn. Wifi was a joke. Considering how hokey it was we had a decent nights sleep. There was a bit of a mold smell in our room. For the price it was acceptable, considering the pricey alternatives in Rothenburg. We went in with the expectation of just a place to sleep and shower until continuing on our way early in the morning, this fit the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poodlepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steinsfeld
3.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
3.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzes Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzes Ross

Property: Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Address: Am Dorfplatz 1, 91628 Steinsfeld, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg > Steinsfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Steinsfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schwarzes Ross 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Schwarzes Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing