We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Day of Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Murten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Murten
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“2nd Day of Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night while touring this region of Switzerland. The hotel is basically across the road from the entrance to the old town. First impressions were excellent as the reception staff were extremely helpful. Our room was large, clean and had everything you required. The hotel provided free access to WiFi. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. This is an excellent hotel to explore the old town from. The hotel also provided free parking. Enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter being away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    52
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
36
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is very welcoming and modernised. There is an excellent bistro style restaurant and long bar area which becomes lively as the evening goes on. The service in the hotel from the reception to the food and beverages is very efficient and friendly. It's really a good feeling place. The rooms are simple but very clean. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I was surprised how basic the double room was. Plain cheap beds, tiny tiny bathroom which you step up to. Nothing in bathroom but a dispenser for soap. Tiny window so room was dark. No rugs, al ost jail like! Would not recommend. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murten hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

excellent service . nice ratio quality cost . interesting activity and nice restaurant . worth the cost and hospitality of all employees. definitivly a place to go. excellent location .!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here at the end of June 2012 in a family room. It is right in the centre of Murten close to all shopes, restaurants and bars.

The room was clean and newly rennovated and my only complaint would be that the fixtures all seemed a bit cheap and flimsy but for one night it was very good.

The staff were friendly and attentive.

There is a festival in June in Murten and it happened to be the weekend we had booked to stay. The live music tent was right at the back of the Hotel and our room was noisy but the hotel had even given us the courtesy of calling us to warn us that it would be a bit noisy. i thought this was excellent customer service.

The bar attached to the hotel is chic and happening with a wonderful sunny terrace. The breakfast was buffet style and served in the bar the next morning. It was a lovely sunny morning so we enjoyed our breakfast on the terrace. It was wonderful.

To sum up this hotel is lovely and welcoming although a bit bland and characterless almost business like. If you are looking for more of a swiss experience with a building of character then this is perhaps not for you!! Bear this in mind when booking and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Murten is one of the few Swiss towns not to demolish its medieval tower which not still "protects the old town". New buildings have been built outside, but the old centre is still absolutely beautiful beside the lake. With going to see and the Hotel Murten is beside main part of town with a gorgeous cocktail bar and restaurant.. you can have breakfast outside in summer - and it is not expensive, considering this is Switzerland!

Room Tip: Choose a room looking at the walls that lead to the Main Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_donald_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Rooms are very clean and tidy, but very bland and souless when compared to how modern the rest of the hotel is. Lovely breakfast buffet with everything you want and the bar/terrace and restaurant are really lovely. Easy walking distance to the main station, I really like Murten its a lovely place for a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tresadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#3 of 6 in Murten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murten

Property: Hotel Murten
Address: Bernstrasse 7, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murten 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing