We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The main disadvantage was that our room faced the street as opposed to the lake side. The hotel's staff were welcoming and helpful. We dined in the restaurant and had great views of the lake. We had a set course menu, which provided good choices on both nights. The buffet breakfast was very good and served in a separate room with a balcony that overlooked the lake. As the hotel was in the town's centre, it was easy to explore Murten on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    56
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
80
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this small town. The room was comfortable and the staff friendly. Our room had a lake view.

The breakfast was a little larger than other hotels and the staff very ready to help. The front desk staff were also accommodating for our request for An additional blanket and pillow.

Very conveniently located at the entrance to town after an (uphill) walk from the train station.

Wonderful stay and would consider it again. Great area to stay

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We just got here and have decided to only spend 1 night here instead of 3. The room has an odd smell to it and opening the windows is noisy. We have mo view. The bathroom is very tiny - shower even smaller. It easy to find the hotel - it is a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Krone. There was a huge fraternity/sorority convention in town so we were given a room in the back facing the lake to get us away from the expected noise of several thousand young people celebrating. We had the windows open so we did hear some noise but it was not bothersome as it quieted down around 11PM. We stayed in a corner room on the third floor with beautiful views of the lake and the vineyards across the lake in Vully. The room very clean, a decent size and decorated with white duvets and typical Swiss clean lines. The twin beds were very comfortable. There was a desk and chair and a large comfy window seat with a great view of the lake. There were plenty of shelves and places to hang clothes The size of the bathroom was more than adequate although I wasn't fond of the peachy pink color of the sink/toilet and bathtub. The staff at the reception desk were upbeat, helpful and courteous. The WiFi in the room worked well. Close by was their convenient covered and secure garage. We had dinner in the Terrace Room. Most of the menu was tad pricey but there were a couple of tasty selections that were reasonable and with the view of sunset over the lake, the impreccable service and the quality of the food the dinner was enjoyable and romantic. The charming quaint town with it's cobbled streets, wooden ramparts, cafes, flower bedecked hotels and restaurants, castle, shops, and historic sights is small so nothing is more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Town was packed and we were lucky to get the last table on the Terasse with stunnong views over the lake.
We opted for the menu Terasse @ 88chf and found it to be stunnigly good and good value as wine(red and white) unlimited bottled water and coffee were included.Service outstanding. Will return next time I get to Murten D V.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

At the end of our Switzerland journey when we were tired and ready for a rest, we booked a nights stay in Murtenhof at the Hotel Murtenhof and Krone. Lovely hotel. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast included.
Beds were OK. Rooms were very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayneremington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Murten is quaint and charming and from here we easily took the rail to Bern and Avenches. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It isn't far from the rail station or from a COOP grocery. The room was quite small but clean, and the sunset from our window was breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murten
Hotel Murten
#2 of 4 in Murten
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Property: Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Address: Rathausgasse 1-5, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone! The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone is a picturesque ensemble of striking, historic patricians’ houses in the middle of the old town of Murten. Enjoying a central but absolutely tranquil location, our stylish three-star hotel offers guests a fantastic view of Lake Murten. The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone features individually designed rooms and suites and friendly, personal service. Our restaurant offers fine cuisine perfectly complemented by an extensive wine list. More information on the services we offer can be found under «Seminars» and «Banquets». We also have a range of brochures on organizing and holding meetings, workshops, group events, seminars and conferences which we’ll be happy to send you on request. The team at the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone and the Joachim family look forward to welcoming you and would like to take this opportunity to wish you an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Murten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing