We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A cosy refuge”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Driven by a day of rain to seek better shelter than our tent, we were lucky enough to find a warm welcome here. We also (like Zuly) paid SF160 for room and breakfast for the two of us, which the girl in the TI said was good value. We were very happy to be invited to help ourselves to coffee in the lounge,(Krups machine), and to have free wi-fi.The staff were charming and very helpful, as well as being multilingual.The hotel itself is old, in keeping with its surroundings, but our room was comfortable, and we enjoyed breakfast on the glassed-in terrace very much.
As we had to pay an extra SF12 for parking in the City Parking (a special hotel rate) we made sure we explored the lovely buildings and walked the walls of this interesting old town the next (dry!) day.

Room Tip: The simple rooms are fine, and the bathrooms modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    57
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
81
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Murtenhof and Krone during our honeymoon. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and we were upgraded to a suite with a view of the lake. The room was clean, well-maintained, and quiet.

The breakfast was great, and consisted of a variety of breads, cheese, fruits, meats, and spreads. It was delicious.

The hotel is also conveniently located 5 min from the train station, and is the first thing you see when you walk through the town gates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

When I went into the room I thought "oh, no, it's one of those old hotels that's living off if its long heritage (yikes)." The decor not tasteful (sorry but true), bed mattress not those nice firm ones we see these days in chain hotels, the chests seem old, etc.
However, the staff are super friendly, the view of the lake is magnificent(!!!), the bathroom and the toilets were completely renovated and shiny, they give you wifi access for as many devices as you want, the breakfast overlooking the lake is gorgeous... And at the end of the day I said to myself I'd be more than happy to come here again. The warm welcome is everywhere and that transcends.
As I checked out the lady asked how my stay was and I told her that the shower floor was a bit slippery and she told me that we could ask for those rubber mattress, for the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_B_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, next to Murten Castle. Rooms are nice and very clean. Great service. On the expensive side (160 CHF one night X 2 adults). Pet friendly (we came with our 2 dogs at no extra charge). Their restaurant is very good with a view of the lake

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TainoTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. We had a view of the castle and street which looks like a postcard. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. However, we had a comfortable bed, 2 chairs and a table that was fine for the limited time we spent in the room. The breakfast was fabulous. Breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, while sitting on their sun porch overlooking a lake. We had a 5 minute walk to the train station. The walled town had some very nice stores and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalisfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have stayed in the Murtenhof & Krone a number of times and have had similar experiences both times. The rooms I have had are small, the bathrooms are tiny but everything is clean and it is reasonably welcoming. Take note that it is actually comprised of two hotels - the Murtenhof and the Krone. I don't know if there was a consolidation of the two at one point or whether it has always been like this. The Murtenhof side is definitely better than the Krone side. The one thing I cannot deal with is the noise - people passing underneath your window being very loud into the wee hours of the morning and then the church bell that is about 200 yards away and goes nuts at 06:00 and then chimes every 15 minutes. Living in the countryside in England and being used to quiet dark nights, this level of noise makes a good night sleep impossible. The pillows leave alot to be desired as well. I am going to have to try another hotel in the town to see if an improvement is possible with the limited selection on offer. Unusually as well, this hotel has no bar to meet up with colleagues after work.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room at the back of the hotel. The front of the hotel is very noisy although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray_D47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
775 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. The main disadvantage was that our room faced the street as opposed to the lake side. The hotel's staff were welcoming and helpful. We dined in the restaurant and had great views of the lake. We had a set course menu, which provided good choices on both nights. The buffet breakfast was very good and served in a separate room with a balcony that overlooked the lake. As the hotel was in the town's centre, it was easy to explore Murten on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murten
Hotel Murten
#2 of 4 in Murten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Property: Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Address: Rathausgasse 1-5, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone! The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone is a picturesque ensemble of striking, historic patricians’ houses in the middle of the old town of Murten. Enjoying a central but absolutely tranquil location, our stylish three-star hotel offers guests a fantastic view of Lake Murten. The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone features individually designed rooms and suites and friendly, personal service. Our restaurant offers fine cuisine perfectly complemented by an extensive wine list. More information on the services we offer can be found under «Seminars» and «Banquets». We also have a range of brochures on organizing and holding meetings, workshops, group events, seminars and conferences which we’ll be happy to send you on request. The team at the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone and the Joachim family look forward to welcoming you and would like to take this opportunity to wish you an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Murten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing