We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Absolutely Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Absolutely Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent two nights in Murten, in a small but charming room in a great location just inside the walls of the old town. The room ('standard' not premium) was clean, well furnished and comfortable. Unlike many places we've stayed, the internet service was strong, fast and reliable. Breakfast was very nice - with everything we could ask for.

That said, the most enjoyable aspect of our stay was the staff. We were very warmly greeted upon our arrival, and asked if she could provide us with any information about the town. When we said 'yes', she provided us with a ton of maps, information and helpful tips. We had the same pleasant, helpful experience at breakfast, where our hostess was abundantly cheerful and helpful. As someone who travels a lot, I really value the personal attention and kindness and wish that all my hotel stays were as pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisahMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    57
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
82
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Murten is nice a small, quiet town on Lake Murten. This hotel is on the hill overlooking the lake. Walking distance from Murten Station. You can walk down to the lake shore and have a nice stroll along the lake in the morning. A minute walk to "downtown" Murten for food, drinks and shops. Staff are nice, friendly, though rooms can be quite small but very functional.

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the lake side. You'd have a quiet room with nice lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This town was one of the most delightful places we visited in Switzerland. It was so charming. The hotel was great....just had very small rooms. The family that runs the hotel was very kind and helpful. We had dinner the night that we were there in the restaurant...it was a good meal but not outstanding. The staff was very kind and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Driven by a day of rain to seek better shelter than our tent, we were lucky enough to find a warm welcome here. We also (like Zuly) paid SF160 for room and breakfast for the two of us, which the girl in the TI said was good value. We were very happy to be invited to help ourselves to coffee in the lounge,(Krups machine), and to have free wi-fi.The staff were charming and very helpful, as well as being multilingual.The hotel itself is old, in keeping with its surroundings, but our room was comfortable, and we enjoyed breakfast on the glassed-in terrace very much.
As we had to pay an extra SF12 for parking in the City Parking (a special hotel rate) we made sure we explored the lovely buildings and walked the walls of this interesting old town the next (dry!) day.

Room Tip: The simple rooms are fine, and the bathrooms modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Murtenhof and Krone during our honeymoon. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and we were upgraded to a suite with a view of the lake. The room was clean, well-maintained, and quiet.

The breakfast was great, and consisted of a variety of breads, cheese, fruits, meats, and spreads. It was delicious.

The hotel is also conveniently located 5 min from the train station, and is the first thing you see when you walk through the town gates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

When I went into the room I thought "oh, no, it's one of those old hotels that's living off if its long heritage (yikes)." The decor not tasteful (sorry but true), bed mattress not those nice firm ones we see these days in chain hotels, the chests seem old, etc.
However, the staff are super friendly, the view of the lake is magnificent(!!!), the bathroom and the toilets were completely renovated and shiny, they give you wifi access for as many devices as you want, the breakfast overlooking the lake is gorgeous... And at the end of the day I said to myself I'd be more than happy to come here again. The warm welcome is everywhere and that transcends.
As I checked out the lady asked how my stay was and I told her that the shower floor was a bit slippery and she told me that we could ask for those rubber mattress, for the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_B_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, next to Murten Castle. Rooms are nice and very clean. Great service. On the expensive side (160 CHF one night X 2 adults). Pet friendly (we came with our 2 dogs at no extra charge). Their restaurant is very good with a view of the lake

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TainoTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murten
Hotel Murten
#2 of 4 in Murten
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
40 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Property: Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Address: Rathausgasse 1-5, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone! The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone is a picturesque ensemble of striking, historic patricians’ houses in the middle of the old town of Murten. Enjoying a central but absolutely tranquil location, our stylish three-star hotel offers guests a fantastic view of Lake Murten. The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone features individually designed rooms and suites and friendly, personal service. Our restaurant offers fine cuisine perfectly complemented by an extensive wine list. More information on the services we offer can be found under «Seminars» and «Banquets». We also have a range of brochures on organizing and holding meetings, workshops, group events, seminars and conferences which we’ll be happy to send you on request. The team at the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone and the Joachim family look forward to welcoming you and would like to take this opportunity to wish you an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Murten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing