We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a winner”
Review of Cafeteria

Cafeteria
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I know, the name is incredibly basic, but the food is good. It is listed on Urban Spoon website and in the Australia Good Food Guide (AGFG) which is a very popular foody magazine. Black Rock is a southern suburb of Melbourne.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a winner”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Best coffee and breakfast in black rock! Staff are always friendly, courteous and professional. The fruit toast is the best I've ever had, it has whole figs, apricots and other delightful fruit in it. Not the bog standard fruit toast you get elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank India J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Brunch, Lunch or Friday Night Dinner”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Cafeteria is an outstanding cafe/restaurant about 15km south of Melbourne city centre and two minutes' stroll to the cliffs and beaches of delightful Black Rock on Port Philip Bay. It's run by a master chef who moved out this way for a more peaceful life - but Cafeteria is so popular, we wonder if he found it! This is a top place to have breakfast or a slow lunch. The base menu is very good but there are always delicious specials and a great cake and dessert choice. We can strongly recommend dinner on Friday night only, two sittings, but you really do need to reserve a table. Good wine list. Excellent coffee. The decor is bright, clean and basic, the service is excellent and the prices reasonable. We've been there many, many times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Breakfast Haunt”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I treat myself to breakfast every few weeks and would always choose the Salmon and Rosti at The Cafetaria first. I am a eggs benedict fanatic but this really changed me. Its a great little place with excellent service and the food is always of high quality. Great atmosphere for a very basic restaurant with no bells and whistles.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fourafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Cafeteria is a wonderful restaurant in beachside Black Rock. It has a great and varied breakfast menu - the usual offerings with some specials as well. I can highly recommend the Potato Roesti with smoked salmon, spinach and a poached egg. Light and delicious but perfectly filling. Friday evenings are the only time the restaurant opens for dinner. This is a treat as the specials are the highlight. They change every week whilst a few regular dishes remain on the menu. Some memorable highlights have included snails, duck, eye fillet and seafood - you simply can't go wrong with any of the specials. There are two sittings on Friday night and both are generally packed. The staff are good and service is very good. Coffee is excellent. An all round winner of a restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirlalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good food and great service near the Bay”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This restaurant is a friendly local with an excellent range of light meals; good selection of wine by the glass (including some Croatian choices). We visited recently on a very hot day following a paddle and soak at nearby Ricketts Point (this is a trip by car from the city). The place was busy but the service was still excellent - friendly, informed.

I had the antipasto which was a great selection of entrees (starter course here) and more; there was too much and even the basics like the olives and salami were excellent. My friend had a perfectly cooked roesti with smoked salmon and perfectly cooked egg atop.

The atmosphere was friendly with customers of all ages - friends, families.

I would go back - this will be a regular when going for a swim in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_B_12255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria also viewed

 
Black Rock, Bayside
Black Rock, Bayside
 
Black Rock, Bayside
Highett, Bayside
 

Been to Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing