We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Black Rock!”
Review of Cafeteria

Cafeteria
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I know, the name is incredibly basic, but the food is good. It is listed on Urban Spoon website and in the Australia Good Food Guide (AGFG) which is a very popular foody magazine. Black Rock is a southern suburb of Melbourne.
Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Food in Black Rock!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Cafeteria has the best food out of all the cafés in Black Rock. Friday night dinner is a favourite of ours, where the menu is ever changing. The staff are always friendly and welcoming and we all ways leave saying we must go back soon! Try the Calamari, Chicken Meatballs and the Paella ( for two).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vgreencan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food & coffee, decent service, but still a bit hungry”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Maybe it was the particular dish I went for, the breakfast salad, but a couple of mouthfuls of what was a tasty combo of poached egg, mini black pudding, potatoes, salad and other garnishes, I was seeing the bottom of my plate and thinking I needed to get something else.

The atmosphere on a spring Sunday morning in and around the cafe was busy, lots of families, a few couples. Service was fine, though any slower and we would have felt ignored. My partner's meal was good; so I think we'll be back, but I'll need to get a side with the salad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“expensive chicken burger”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Described as a great choice by the very pleasant waitress.

What arrived on the table was a toasted bun arugula a white sauce and a chicken sausage for, wait for it! $18.50 cents what a rip off I mean Australia is a rip off now anywhere but this took the cake

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amoskeato45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“quick and easy”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great place to drop in for a coffee, brunch, or lunch. Great service, attentive staff- only problem is it is packed on weekends but you can reserve tables!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
218 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“quick night out”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a two couple evening out for dinner. A late start had us famished and waiting to review the specials and the menu. Our wait staff were great, fun ordered and onto all our needs.
The meals came out, entrees, great. Good solid meals for a cooler night. The braised beef x 2 went down a treat. The calamari done to a T.
Mains although not large were sufficient, tasty, well presented. The dessert a little disappointing, looked great tasted fantastic but tiny on a large plate.
A good Friday night just the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria also viewed

 
Black Rock, Bayside
Black Rock, Bayside
 
Black Rock, Bayside
Highett, Bayside
 

Been to Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing