We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place we've ever stayed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked the Yiannis Apartments for what should have been a special birthday break for my 40th, and on the basis of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived in the early hours of the morning very tired, and were taken to our apartment which was on the ground floor. After a few hours sleep, we were woken by shouting and a child screaming from what sounded like right outside our door. After this went on for a good 10 minutes or so, my husband opened the door to find that the noise was actually coming from within the apartment opposite. The close proximity of the apartment doors mean that you will hear every key turn, door slamming and conversation in the corridor outside and from beyond doors that are closed! The noise continued for most of the morning and eventually we asked if we could be moved to a different apartment. Although sympathetic, we were told this would not be possible as Yiannis was fully booked. A few days into the holiday we were asked if things had improved regarding the noise and were told that this family were going home the following day. We had since become aware by talking to other people who had also commented on the noise which had extended to around the pool. Although we were well into the middle of our holiday, we were looking forward to a few days of ‘peace’ and couldn’t wait for their departure. Unfortunately our hopes were shattered when we heard the arrival of another young family (equally as noisy) in the middle of the night. Nice one Yiannis! We decided at this point that we wouldn’t spend any more money on food or the bar and spent our last 2 days at the beach and eating lunch in the nearby tavernas. Kefalos is a lovely resort and this is the best thing we could have done.
We have to agree with a few of the issues raised by Purplegeri, although we did find 1 toilet roll on arrival. I think the sheets were changed only once during our week stay, which in 35 degree heat is not ideal. However, whether these had been changed before our arrival was a different matter, as they could only be described as smelling like they had been washed with dirty socks and the dog’s blanket! We could not fathom any kind of pattern to the way in which the apartments were cleaned (?) and the towels were stained and threadbare. We love Greece and have been taking holidays there for many years, sometimes twice a year, often staying in budget/2* accommodation. We are certainly accustomed to what 'basic' means with regard to Greek property, being simply furnished, and having no shower curtain! Yiannis Apartments I’m afraid, although basic were certainly not clean! Even my husband who has stayed in 18-30 accommodation as a lad said they were cleaner and not as noisy! Although we found Yiannis and his family to be quite friendly, we have never stayed anywhere that has such little regard for their guests unless they are spending money.
On a positive note, the free pot of honey left in the apartment is a nice gesture, there’s a good atmosphere in the bar at night when it’s busy, and we enjoyed the BBQ. It became clear that a lot of regulars in the bar have returned year after year but seem to stay up the road at Billy’s. Now work that one out......

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chelle771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I am sorry for your experience of Yannies place I know for a fact that the family clean the rooms as people vaccate them first toilet roll is always there when we have been but if you are self cattering you must be ready for the unexpected. Sevvie is very hard working and prides herself on a clean enviroment we have had a few rooms in the complex and always clean room lots of storage draws and hanging space and the kitchen is adequate for the purpose. you have obviously not enjoyed the place but if that puts folks of its easier for us to get a room next year as i am sure most folks will be repeat tourist who know our hosts and love them and the family because they make you feel like family

Room Tip: asks for upstairs room overlooking tha pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lefteris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had read all these good reviews so thought we were in for a treat! Unfortunately not!
We arrived late at night, tired from delays due to strikes and travelling etc, to find there was no toilet roll, not a good start. Presumably you only get your first roll if the last occupants have left you one. We had no idea which way was the town to get something to eat and some supplies so had to stumble around in the dark taking pot luck! There was no BBQ - which we had been really looking forward to. Yiannis and his wife are only friendly if you frequent their bar, so if like us you do not have the cash to spare on buying drinks in the bar, they wont even smile at you when you pass, and if you speak they will just blank you as if they do not understand. The rooms were hardly clean, the bathroom being particularly dirty and stained (dont even look behind the toilet!!) and the light in the bathroom 'cabinet' was encrusted with years of dead crispy insects. YUK! There were no food storage cupboards at all, so food had to be left on the table. Unfortunately in our first week we discovered this had been nibbled by mice and there were mice droppings around, so hardly ideal for self catering. There was a large wardrobe on the wall but this had a 2ft high space underneath which was wasted as it was underneath the wardrobe. Would have been useful to have some drawers there to store underwear and t-shirts etc rather than just having to put these on the floor of the wardrobe. We had a nice holiday in Kefalos (not been here before but been to Greece twice a year for the last 18 years) but we were disappointed in Yiannis apartments due to the high praise given in previous reviews. Overall it was probably of a lower standard than most Greek holiday accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Purplegeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

lovely family run business, clean rooms, nice size clean pool, brilliant food and very helpful & friendly staff, bbq nights with traditional greek dancing, nice place for the whole family and in walking distance of the beach and local shops.

after staying 2 weeks we did not want to come home, we got married out there in kos and they definataley made it a day to remember by organising greek dancing, balloons put up and our room decorated with rose petals and flowers, it was lovely., we would like to thank the whole of the family for making our holiday such a good one and will definately be back in the future.x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kez-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This complex provides everything you would hope for when seeking a laid back holiday with Greek hospitality.It is very quiet and peaceful, with welcoming and attentive hosts.Sevvy even made my partner a surprise birthday cake.Nice touch.The complex is in a fantastic position.The rooms are clean and functional.Yiannis loves his Greek dancing and his BBQ nights are amazing value and great fun.The complex is very laid back and facilitates an easy friendliness amongst the guests.As some of the Irish travellers often remarked in their witty banter,everything was 'only a wee joke'.
I would recommend a short walk up the back roads between Yiannis and the old village of Kefalos (15-20 mins) . You will be rewarded with great views.One of the guests ran a circuit each morning from the complex into the surrounding mountains,(an amazing feat of endurance)but for the average guest a leisurely stroll would be suffice.
The only reservation I have about recommending this complex so highly is that it might become so popular that we will not mange to book again next year.So keep this wee gem of a place to yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dighty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

As per previous reviews - if you are looking for 5* not for you. If you are looking for very clean, good apartments, good pool (again very clean) no having to get up early to book sunbeds, great food breakfast, lunch, dinner including Greek night for 5 euro. Very friendly, sincere owners etc. Apartments in a good location etc. Mainly couples just wanting to chill out. This is for you

Room Tip: Apartment 1 was shaded for the 1st time didn't need aircon saved 70 euro for 2 weeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1STTIMEBERLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just returned from a lovely stay at these apartments,run by a lovely couple and their family,we were greeted by Yianni even though we had a late flight.
The rooms are a good size and very clean,a jar of Yiannis honey was left for us ,so nice we bought some more.
The bar area is a lovely shady spot ideal for sampling Sevvies delicious food,you must try her special pasta,my husband said it was one of the best dishes he had tried this holiday.
The only downside of these apartments was the bedding only changed once in the 2 weeks we were there,and our studio had no shutters only a curtain with no backing to block out the sun,so you woke up very early and the room got so hot,very uncomfortable at this time of year.
All in all a great little place,run by a lovely family ,I am sure we will be paying a return visit quite soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TessyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.9 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
478 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Apatments Hotel Kefalos
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing