We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have been staying at Yiannis regularily for the last 7 or so years. I've read many of the reports on here and other sites both good and some not so good, but can only give our personal opinion.
The studio rooms are of good size but have always been clean and comfortable, as mentioned you always receive a little jar of honey from Yiannis to welcome you. The pool area is great with ample sun loungers and a very good poolside bar and snack area.
The family that run these apartments are some of the nicest people we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are always warm and friendly. The weekly bar-b-q night, when run, is great value and the entertainment very enjoyable. Made more so when many of the guests join in.
The only down side I know of is that they only have twelve rooms and these get booked up very quickly so it can be difficult to get the weeks that you want.
So those people that enjoy these apartments book early, and those that don't enjoy themselves here then leave more room for the rest of us!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed in mid September 2012, self catering. Very comfortable, good sized rooms, kept spotlessly clean. There is a good sized pool with plenty of sunbeds to accomodate all the guests. There is a poolside bar & snackbar, which provides a very good English breakfast for just 5 euros!. The greek light meals are good too. Try the local honey which is on sale form the owner's beehives. If you have breakfast you can try some on your toast. Lovely. Would like to return for more of the same.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the rear balcony has more shade until about early afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just got back from a week staying at the "Yiannis Apartments" in Kefalos Kos Greece. Obviously we were expecting basic as this was our 4th package holiday that offers clean basic cheap accommodation, but personally it was too basic for my family. This was offered to us by the travel agents as 2/3 star but I would describe it as 1/2 stars. I cannot fault the cleanliness as it was clean. we arrived late at night and the room was clean and welcoming with fresh reasonably fluffy towels, but when our room was cleaned 2 days later the towels that were changed even though clean were old, very rough like sandpaper and had holes and rips in them. We requested that our room be cleaned again once more before our week ended as the sheets and towels needed replacing and the bins were full. The self catering equipment was terrible, we had only 1 cereal bowl, 2 small cups and 1 large cup and 1 mug. The kettle took ages to boil and was very loud and only had the 2 ring hob for cooking, I was very surprised to discover that there was no toaster as it is usually included as part of the basic self catering stuff. However extra pillows are provided on request and Yianni and Sevvy and their family are very nice people. The Greek night they provide on the tuesday is a great night and at only 5 euros pp its extremely good value with plenty of food and dancing led by the family. If you want a good clean basic place to stay in Kefalos then this is for you. But remember to pack those little extras to make your stay more comfortable. including a travel hair dryer, a packet of tissues and a bar of soap for the hand basin. I highly recommend you hire a car if you want to get out and see the rest of the island, its much better to hire there than in the UK. We hired from "Manolis" car hire on the main road 50 yards past players bar. very cheap with full insurance discount was given to us for a 3 day hire.If you get out on the island a few places to visit are, Tigaki you must eat at Saggitarius if you visit. Christos Go Karts in Marmari are a must for the men and they also have electric powered cars for 3-6 year olds, smaller karts for children, a lovely snack bar and the internet is 2 euros for an hour, with 4 computers available.Mount Zia is a beautiful place to visit and watch the sunset whilst enjoying your tea in the taverna's roof garden, also there are plenty of shops and stalls to look around, if driving up there definately get there early as parking is limited. Take the road out of Kefalos in the opposite direction and head past the harbour and up the hill follow the signs for the fish taverna turning right its about a 10 minute drive. You will find yourselves with a beautiful view of the sea and the sunset from here is parallel to that of mount Zia, but be wary of the burgers at the taverna as it certainly was not beef as described in the menu. we recommend you eat at "Captain John" we ate here 4 times very friendly quick service and a great view of the beach and harbour. Also "Maria's Restaurant" further up the harbour is very filling and generous helpings. Went to "Gosia's" ordered 3 banana splits but only 1 arrived only charged for the 1 though. The main at Gosias was huge 2 of us ordered meatballs and pasta and we could have shared 1 portion between us. We went on the 3 island boat excursion and it was a great day, lovely food served by the captain, you get an hour at 2 islands that have lovely stalls to shop and haggle at and on the way dolphin spotting and lastly stopping for a dip in the sea. If you have older children you have to visit "Baywatch" water sports on the beach front in kefalos, the crazy sofa was great fun even had a go with my teenage son myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleSlurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just returned after a wonderful 2 weeks in Kefelos.
Arrived at 2am to be met by Yianni himself which was a nice touch and a pot of honey made by Yiannis own bees!¬
Apartment complex (12 rooms) is run by him, Sevvy his wife and family who couldnt do enough for us to make our 2 weeks there a real pleasure. The food served in the snack bar is very good and at a very reasonable price...5 euros for a full 'Sevvy' English breakfast which set us for the day always served with a smile and good humoured banter.
Make sure you go the the barbque on Tuesday... all you can eat for 5 euros...well worth it and some greek dancing afterwards led by Yianni and Sevvy... great fun!!!!
The room itself was basic but very clean...what you usually expect in Greece. Beds/towels changed twice in our 2 week stay.
However cooking facilities were very basic for self catering... 2 rings, fridge and kettle...would have been nice to have toaster... would be difficult to cook for a family. As there was only 2 of us it was cheaper to eat at Yiannis or one fo the restaurants in Kefalos so wasnt an issue for us.
All restaurants serve pretty much the same food. However we found by far the best was Sebastians at the top by the harbour...we ate there 5 times and each time had a wonderful food.
Other good places to eat....Argos...Captain Johns ( we had 3 good meals there however had 2 bad reports from other guests). Gosias was recommened to us but we had to wait over an hour for our food which was only average when we got it.
Recommend that you hire a car to get out and see the island... much cheaper and more convenient than going on the organised excursions. Dont go with Avis>> 40 a day. George the tour rep recommended Dimitris run by Maria by the harbour...35 euros a day with full insurance...both cars we had were only 3 months old and immaculate!
Highly recommend Nyssaros a volcanic island.... from Kefalos harbour 15 euros Tues and Sat as opposed to 38 each on excursion. You can go to Kalymnos from Malaris for 10 euros...Bodrum in Turkey from Kos town for 10 euros -20 euros.
Places of interest...Kos Town is well worth a visit. Zia is lovely and famed for its lovely sunsets. If you go to the end of the strip there on the right you will find a natural park 3 euros each... its an animal park which winds up through alpine groves to the top where you will find woodland, hammocks... it was a lovely idyll place to watch the sun go down... it stays open until 30 mins after sunset. Pylli is well worth a visit in the daytime... be sure to go visit the lovely art gallery and jewellry shop.. all hand made and very reasonably priced run by Ria and Remko a lovely Dutch couple. Therma (hot springs) is well worth a visit....drive through Kos Town and follow the road up and to the end... then accessed by walking down a cliff path.
Oh and make sure that you visit Die Grosse Muhle... a lovely blue and white mill which serves snacks... their homemade apple cake is to die for... You can access it by car taking the road from Kefalos town to Lambioni or you can walk there from Yiannis (approx 30 mins)...walk up past Playland....take a right at the top.
Our favourite beach was Agios Stephanos.... the second turning signposted Agios Stephanos with hand painted sign on the road from Kos Town which leads down to lovely sandy beach with beautiful ruins and the island which you can swim out to. If you havent got a car... you can walk to it from Kefalos by walking along the beach or the sand path that runs along the top of the beach ( approx 30 mins).
If you do have a car and go up to Agios Theologias and Agios Ioannis ( the other side of Kefalos town and well worth visits) and you you are a little wary of heights...do NOT go to Paradisio Beach ( but do go to PARADISE beach next to Agios Stephanos!!!)... access is by a treachorous sand road which winds down the side of hills with sheer drops.. you can't turn around if you find the adventure is not for you!!!....20/30 mins there...and the beach is pebbly and rocky.... not worth risking life and limb for.
Well I could go on and on... but cant praise Yiannis and the island enough... loved it so much that we are going to book for next year this week!!! Oh and if you do go to Yiannis be sure to take care of and give a stroke to the tabby cat there whom we named George!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PollyBStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We arrived in the middle of the night and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was basic but clean, the family are very kind and friendly. Our children (10,11) were the youngest there and were fussed over from the first day. The food around the bar was lovely, a simple menu done well. The drinks were not expensive either, 2.50 euro for a mythos. Aircon was 5 euro per unit per night. Keeping room for all of last day 25 euro.

Kefalos is a one road town, sleepy and quiet, perfect for a family holiday with older children. Not very much for younger children in resort. The Tavernas and bars are typically Greek, just right.

When our coach came to take us to the airport the whole family turned out to say goodbye, a nice touch!

A lovely holiday, learned some new moves at the bbq and slowed our pace of life down for our holiday.

Thankyou to all the family at Yiannis.

Room Tip: Our room was just right. Gound floor room no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

fantastic and very friendly place to stay.Yiannis and his family couldn't do enough for you.my wife and i were on our 2nd trip to Kefalos,having visited the previous year with our children.our room was spotlessly clean with the usual ammenities assosiated with a self catering holiday.(You're not going to manage a sunday roast).elctric hob,kettle,frying pan, saucepan and knives forks ect.why on earth anyone would want to cook on holiday is beyond me as there were countless tavernas in the area serving great food.Acropol,Rainbows and Captain Johns to name a few.the pool was quite small but very clean with plenty of sunbeds to choose from and a sheltered bar area adjacent serving breakfast and light snacks.don't miss the bbq on tuesdays.plenty to eat, greek dancing.a great laugh and all for 5 euros per person.
if you look hard enough anyone can find fault where ever they stay and reading some of the previous reviews all i can say is there are some misserable buggers out ther with half empty glasses.
Kefalos is a lovely,unspoilt,quiet area of Kos and if you are into clubbing and lively evening entertainment then this area of Kos is probably not for you.
it's worth hiring a car (forget the quad bikes slow and dangerous) to explore the surrounding area and one place to mention is Agios Theologos , breathtaking beach with a first class taverna and beautiful sunset.directions - go up the hill to kefalos town and take the left fork in the road.there are loads of other places to visit but that's all part of the fun of exploring so have fun!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bubblebuttdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday where we stayed at Yiannis apartments. The accommodation is basic but very clean. The family run the business and it is very friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. We arrived in the early hours of the morning but were welcomed and it was no trouble to get extra pillows and make sure the air conditioning was working (there is a small charge for this but worth every penny). As I said the rooms were basic but there was a small kitchen area with a hob and fridge.

The pool area is lovely. There was no rush for the sunbeds and we always had one whatever time we went to the pool. Lovely quiet pool area but lots of bees, so don't book to stay here if you do not like bees! Saying that they don't bother people. The food at the bar area was good and everything we tried was lovely. On the Tuesday night we had a barbecue with the family leading everyone in Greek dancing, great fun. Short walking distance to harbour where there are lots of bars, tavernas, beach and shops. As our flight was not until 2 in the morning we were able to keep our room for the whole day for 25 euros.

I If you want luxury this is not the place for you but if you want a clean basic place to stay with a lovely frinedly atmosphere this is a great place to stay. I would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Only about twelve rooms, best rooms for the balcony are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.9 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments

Property: Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kefalos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Apatments Hotel Kefalos
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing